Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,733,293 Members 38,801 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Boot animation is a black screen?!

Tip us?
 
spiral6
Old
#1  
spiral6's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 37
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Houston
Video [Q] Boot animation is a black screen?!

Running an LS-970. I have a custom boot animation that I made, but when I put it in the /system/media folder, it didn't work! Just showed me a black screen. Not even the boot sound worked (it's stock). When I previewed it with Boot Animations in Rom Toolbox, it worked, but was slow. Any ideas on why it's not working? (I've already checked perms, it's read for all, write for owner, and execute for all.) Here's the link to my bootanimation: www[dot] dropbox[dot] com/s/3h7itrkzs5d6ytl/bootanimation[dot]zip (doesn't let me post links, because I'm new. D: )
 
HPTesla
Old
(Last edited by HPTesla; 26th February 2014 at 09:17 AM.)
#2  
HPTesla's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 210
Posts: 381
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Pittsburgh
Quote:
Originally Posted by spiral6 View Post
Running an LS-970. I have a custom boot animation that I made, but when I put it in the /system/media folder, it didn't work! Just showed me a black screen. Not even the boot sound worked (it's stock). When I previewed it with Boot Animations in Rom Toolbox, it worked, but was slow. Any ideas on why it's not working? (I've already checked perms, it's read for all, write for owner, and execute for all.) Here's the link to my bootanimation: www[dot] dropbox[dot] com/s/3h7itrkzs5d6ytl/bootanimation[dot]zip (doesn't let me post links, because I'm new. D: )
Are you running stock? If you are on stock and not a custom rom, it has to be named bootanimation_sprint.zip. And the sounds have to be named PowerOn_Sprint.ogg - spelled exactly like that. The file you linked to is just bootanimation.zip which is fine for most phones but not ours. If you are on an AOSP based rom, I'm not sure why it wouldn't work. I'm getting ready to leave for work so don't have the time to test myself unfortunately. But I downloaded it and will test when I get home and let you know what happens.

EDIT: I do see that it's HUGE for a bootani. Whether it has anything to do with it or not, you may want to run a png optimization program to bring the size down on your images. My bootanimation is the video opening to Doctor Who and is half the mb size of yours but still at 1280x768 full resolution.


Like the banner? Original Dr Who image found here.

Sprint LS970 LG optimus G
with Viper1.1 Kernel

Nexus 7 2nd Gen 2013
with Multirom TWRP 2.6.3

My android bootanimations can all be found here.


"Pleasure to me is wonder—the unexplored, the unexpected, the thing that is hidden and the changeless thing that lurks behind superficial mutability.” - H.P. Lovecraft
“The present is theirs; the future, for which I really worked, is mine.” - Nikola Tesla

 
spiral6
Old
#3  
spiral6's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 37
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Houston
I am running stock, but I disabled the Sprint animation and sound by adding .bak to their files, and when I previewed that, showed the default LG logo animation and sound. I then replaced that with mine... but like I said, black screen. D:
As for a .png optimization app, where can I get that?

Sent from my LG-LS970 using Tapatalk
 
HPTesla
Old
#4  
HPTesla's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 210
Posts: 381
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Pittsburgh
Quote:
Originally Posted by spiral6 View Post
I am running stock, but I disabled the Sprint animation and sound by adding .bak to their files, and when I previewed that, showed the default LG logo animation and sound. I then replaced that with mine... but like I said, black screen. D:
As for a .png optimization app, where can I get that?

Sent from my LG-LS970 using Tapatalk
Hmmm, the png optimization, if you are on windows, I am not gonna be of much help. You could just google it and see what ya get. Im on linux, so its pretty much one command from the terminal.

Im currenty trying to figure it out myself, everything seems right, as soon as I get something I will let you know but Im distracted, not enough hours in the day - lol.


Like the banner? Original Dr Who image found here.

Sprint LS970 LG optimus G
with Viper1.1 Kernel

Nexus 7 2nd Gen 2013
with Multirom TWRP 2.6.3

My android bootanimations can all be found here.


"Pleasure to me is wonder—the unexplored, the unexpected, the thing that is hidden and the changeless thing that lurks behind superficial mutability.” - H.P. Lovecraft
“The present is theirs; the future, for which I really worked, is mine.” - Nikola Tesla

 
spiral6
Old
#5  
spiral6's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 37
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Houston
I run Linux on a VM.

Sent from my LG-LS970 using Tapatalk
 
HPTesla
Old
#6  
HPTesla's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 210
Posts: 381
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Pittsburgh
Quote:
Originally Posted by spiral6 View Post
I run Linux on a VM.

Sent from my LG-LS970 using Tapatalk
Well you can use optipng but I just tried that and got errors on the last 20 or so pictures. Same thing happens when I tried converting them to jpgs with imagemagick and when I ran jpegoptim, it didn't optimize them at all......

They all load just fine in gimp though. I don't claim to be an expert but have made a bunch of bootanimations and honestly can't see what the problem is. Everything looks as it should, but Ive never gotten errors with those programs before. I will have more time but not until this weekend - if you don't figure anything out, let me know and I will take your images and do a bootani from scratch with them for ya. PM me or post here on Friday to remind/update me.

Sorry I wish I had an answer but it's really weird!


Like the banner? Original Dr Who image found here.

Sprint LS970 LG optimus G
with Viper1.1 Kernel

Nexus 7 2nd Gen 2013
with Multirom TWRP 2.6.3

My android bootanimations can all be found here.


"Pleasure to me is wonder—the unexplored, the unexpected, the thing that is hidden and the changeless thing that lurks behind superficial mutability.” - H.P. Lovecraft
“The present is theirs; the future, for which I really worked, is mine.” - Nikola Tesla

 
spiral6
Old
#7  
spiral6's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 37
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Houston
I originally thought that the problem was with compression... (it said to use "store" compression instead of "normal" compression on the thread), and also noticed the last few images are just black bigger resolution images (as well as the first two frames), so I'm just as confused as you are about this. Well, thanks for trying to help. And that would really help me out if you made it by scratch... I can send you the source .avi if needed. And you already have the .png sequence... thanks in advance!

Sent from my LG-LS970 using Tapatalk
 
HPTesla
Old
#8  
HPTesla's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 210
Posts: 381
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Pittsburgh
Quote:
Originally Posted by spiral6 View Post
I originally thought that the problem was with compression... (it said to use "store" compression instead of "normal" compression on the thread), and also noticed the last few images are just black bigger resolution images (as well as the first two frames), so I'm just as confused as you are about this. Well, thanks for trying to help. And that would really help me out if you made it by scratch... I can send you the source .avi if needed. And you already have the .png sequence... thanks in advance!

Sent from my LG-LS970 using Tapatalk
No problem, I figure if I resave everything you have in gimp we will see what happens. For me, the last images, aren't black, the first ones are - the last ones are completely transparent. And yeah it has to be stored with zero compression(or stored in 7zip) but I already did that to them. Im thinking the compression or values saved into the pngs themselves are the culprit. Ill have time friday night, maybe tonight but no promises, work is kickin my a$$. lol.


Like the banner? Original Dr Who image found here.

Sprint LS970 LG optimus G
with Viper1.1 Kernel

Nexus 7 2nd Gen 2013
with Multirom TWRP 2.6.3

My android bootanimations can all be found here.


"Pleasure to me is wonder—the unexplored, the unexpected, the thing that is hidden and the changeless thing that lurks behind superficial mutability.” - H.P. Lovecraft
“The present is theirs; the future, for which I really worked, is mine.” - Nikola Tesla

 
spiral6
Old
#9  
spiral6's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 37
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Houston
Wall thanks again.

Sent from my LG-LS970 using Tapatalk
 
spiral6
Old
#10  
spiral6's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 37
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Houston
Quote:
Originally Posted by HPTesla View Post
No problem, I figure if I resave everything you have in gimp we will see what happens. For me, the last images, aren't black, the first ones are - the last ones are completely transparent. And yeah it has to be stored with zero compression(or stored in 7zip) but I already did that to them. Im thinking the compression or values saved into the pngs themselves are the culprit. Ill have time friday night, maybe tonight but no promises, work is kickin my a$$. lol.
So are you going to do it today?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

LG G Watch Tool is a Toolkit all Owners Need

The LG G Watch is one of the first two devices hitting the market rocking the highly anticipated … more

Benchmark Your CPU Performance with Mini CPU Integer Script

When it comes to device testing, there are two types of people on XDA. The first … more

Rid Yourself of Charging Annoyances with No Wake on Charge Xposed Module

Almost every OEM has skinned and otherwise modifiedAndroid to suit … more