Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Having issues with i747, need assistance.

OP johnnyrichter

27th February 2014, 02:05 AM   |  #1  
johnnyrichter's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Missouri
Thanks Meter: 28
 
241 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Just picked up a new-ish i747 from my brother because he grabbed the latest note. He did a factory reset on it and it kept getting stuck at the white ATT screen. I figured no big deal I'll just take it home and root/rom it.

Well following this guide...

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1739426

...I get the following error when trying to use odin.

Code:
<OSM> Enter CS for MD5..
<OSM> Check MD5.. Do not unplug the cable..
<OSM> Please wait..
<OSM> root66_ATT_I747UCDLK3.tar.md5 is valid.
<OSM> Checking MD5 finished Sucessfully..
<OSM> Leave CS..
<ID:0/005> Odin v.3 engine (ID:5)..
<ID:0/005> File analysis..
<ID:0/005> SetupConnection..
<ID:0/005> Initialzation..
<ID:0/005> Get PIT for mapping..
<ID:0/005> Firmware update start..
<ID:0/005> aboot.mbn
<ID:0/005> NAND Write Start!! 
<ID:0/005> FAIL! (Auth)
<OSM> All threads completed. (succeed 0 / failed 1)
Why is this thing not flashing, and why did a factory reset cause this thing to get stuck at the white ATT screen?

FWIW I plan to root/unlock this thing so I can use my tmobile straight talk sim in it. Just can't get it to cooperate for some reason.
27th February 2014, 02:12 AM   |  #2  
InfiniteCaffeine's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 124
 
349 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Donate to Me
More
Hi.

Make sure you're using an official Samsung cable.

Go back into recovery and be sure to format /cache and /data too.

Sent from my SGH-I747 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to InfiniteCaffeine For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th February 2014, 02:23 AM   |  #3  
johnnyrichter's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Missouri
Thanks Meter: 28
 
241 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by RJantu

Hi.

Make sure you're using an official Samsung cable.

Go back into recovery and be sure to format /cache and /data too.

Sent from my SGH-I747 using Tapatalk

I was using the OEM cable and that didn't help.

Eventually I was able to get the phone to boot normally. I then rebooted in to download mode and tried the CF auto root method here...

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1963790

...which appears to have worked.

Now since I want to use my straighttalk tmobile sim in this device I'm guessing I have to unlock it. How do I go about doing that on 4.3?
27th February 2014, 02:31 AM   |  #4  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Toronto
Thanks Meter: 873
 
3,032 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
You will have to get an unlock code for your phone. With the 4.3 bootloader, you cannot downgrade to the stock 4.1.1 ROM that's required to use the free unlock method.
27th February 2014, 02:32 AM   |  #5  
InfiniteCaffeine's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 124
 
349 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Donate to Me
More
You can't do it the same way you would in 4.1.1 with the dialpad. If you can downgrade to that you can unlock it for free.

Sent from my SGH-I747 using Tapatalk
27th February 2014, 02:37 AM   |  #6  
johnnyrichter's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Missouri
Thanks Meter: 28
 
241 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by RJantu

You can't do it the same way you would in 4.1.1 with the dialpad. If you can downgrade to that you can unlock it for free.

Sent from my SGH-I747 using Tapatalk

Is there an easy/safe way to downgrade? I'm going to be throwing a rom on here when I'm done anyway.
27th February 2014, 02:58 AM   |  #7  
aybarrap1's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Jacksonville, FL
Thanks Meter: 158
 
578 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyrichter

Is there an easy/safe way to downgrade? I'm going to be throwing a rom on here when I'm done anyway.

DO NOT attempt to downgrade to an earlier version of stock ROM with ODIN or you will brick. See if your brother can work with you to get the unlock code from AT&T. This will be the safest way to SIM unlock. Do not install any custom ROM until this is done

Sent from my awesome phone.
27th February 2014, 03:01 AM   |  #8  
johnnyrichter's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Missouri
Thanks Meter: 28
 
241 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by aybarrap1

DO NOT attempt to downgrade to an earlier version of stock ROM with ODIN or you will brick. See if your brother can work with you to get the unlock code from AT&T. This will be the safest way to SIM unlock. Do not install any custom ROM until this is done

Sent from my awesome phone.

He is on his way over with a microSIM so I can cut my straighttalk tmobile sim down. I'll have him call ATT while he's here.

Will report back once done.
27th February 2014, 04:01 AM   |  #9  
johnnyrichter's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Missouri
Thanks Meter: 28
 
241 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyrichter

He is on his way over with a microSIM so I can cut my straighttalk tmobile sim down. I'll have him call ATT while he's here.

Will report back once done.

ATT is refusing to give him the unlock code. They're telling him to submit an online request which takes an unknown amount of time to complete IF it's approved. They said giving him the code over the phone is against some new policy.
27th February 2014, 04:42 AM   |  #10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
90 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyrichter

ATT is refusing to give him the unlock code. They're telling him to submit an online request which takes an unknown amount of time to complete IF it's approved. They said giving him the code over the phone is against some new policy.

If the phone out of contract already, your brother can submit request for unlock, I did twice for (2)iphone and withing week or two get unlock.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes