5,597,261 Members 38,347 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Cannot see ZIP in recovery - WTF?

Tip us?
 
markinsf
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 47
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default Cannot see ZIP in recovery - WTF?

Can someone please help me? I just got an HTC ONE.

I've installed TWRP.

I now want to root the phone and flash superuser.zip.

When I connect the phone via USB to the PC I see 26GB of storage and move my zips to the root.

When I am in recovery I CAN ONLY SEE INTERNAL STORAGE. No SDCARD!

FAWK!!! My Samsung was sooooooooooo much easier to root.

Please help - what am I missing here? I've F-ed around in the TWRP menu for hours.. cannot see the sdcard or my zips.

Thanks for any help!!!!!
 
raghav kapur
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 75
Posts: 358
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by markinsf View Post
Can someone please help me? I just got an HTC ONE.

I've installed TWRP.

I now want to root the phone and flash superuser.zip.

When I connect the phone via USB to the PC I see 26GB of storage and move my zips to the root.

When I am in recovery I CAN ONLY SEE INTERNAL STORAGE. No SDCARD!

FAWK!!! My Samsung was sooooooooooo much easier to root.

Please help - what am I missing here? I've F-ed around in the TWRP menu for hours.. cannot see the sdcard or my zips.

Thanks for any help!!!!!
Your internal storage is your SD card directory on HTC One. Or are you talking about the Dual-SIM HTC One?
I think you're searching the wrong directory. Upload a few screenshots. It may be easier for us to help you
 
markinsf
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 47
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by raghav kapur View Post
Your internal storage is your SD card directory on HTC One. Or are you talking about the Dual-SIM HTC One?
I think you're searching the wrong directory. Upload a few screenshots. It may be easier for us to help you
Thanks - no, this is not dual-SIM. So, again, I connect the phone to my Win7 PC. I see only one drive with directories like DCIM, Music, Downloads, etc. This is where I move my zips

Then when I boot into TWRP and select a zip to install I cannot see where the sdcard (the above dirs, etc.) are. If I browse to something that says sdcard there are completely diff dirs in there like audio, GPU, mms, TWRP, etc. No Downloads, no Music, etc. And, of course, no zip files.

Is it possible to take screenshots with TWRP?

Well. anyways, somethings not making sense here. I've seen some other posts that say TWRP doesn't see the sdcard and you have to format in FAT32 - tried that but Windows doesn't give me that options.

Thanks so much for any further assistance on this!
 
clsA
Old
#4  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 647
Posts: 2,462
Join Date: Aug 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by markinsf View Post
Thanks - no, this is not dual-SIM. So, again, I connect the phone to my Win7 PC. I see only one drive with directories like DCIM, Music, Downloads, etc. This is where I move my zips

Then when I boot into TWRP and select a zip to install I cannot see where the sdcard (the above dirs, etc.) are. If I browse to something that says sdcard there are completely diff dirs in there like audio, GPU, mms, TWRP, etc. No Downloads, no Music, etc. And, of course, no zip files.

Is it possible to take screenshots with TWRP?

Well. anyways, somethings not making sense here. I've seen some other posts that say TWRP doesn't see the sdcard and you have to format in FAT32 - tried that but Windows doesn't give me that options.

Thanks so much for any further assistance on this!
Sounds like you flashed a very old version of TWRP
Use TWRP 2.6.3.3
http://techerrata.com/browse/twrp2/m7
or here
http://techerrata.com/browse/twrp2/m7ul
HTC One 32 GB AT&T (S-off, Unlocked, Rooted)
Please help keep www.htc1guru.com Alive and Donate
 
markinsf
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 47
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsA View Post
Sounds like you flashed a very old version of TWRP
Use TWRP 2.6.3.3
http://techerrata.com/browse/twrp2/m7
or here
http://techerrata.com/browse/twrp2/m7ul
Hello, thank you. The version I flashed is: openrecovery-twrp-2.6.3.4-m7vzw - oh, I just realized, it says vzw at the end - does this make a difference? My phone is sprint.

thanks.
 
clsA
Old
#6  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 647
Posts: 2,462
Join Date: Aug 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by markinsf View Post
Hello, thank you. The version I flashed is: openrecovery-twrp-2.6.3.4-m7vzw - oh, I just realized, it says vzw at the end - does this make a difference? My phone is sprint.

thanks.
Yes it makes A HUGE Difference
use this
http://techerrata.com/browse/twrp2/m7wls

And why are you posting in the International forums ???
the Sprint forums are here http://forum.xda-developers.com/sprint-htc-one
HTC One 32 GB AT&T (S-off, Unlocked, Rooted)
Please help keep www.htc1guru.com Alive and Donate
 
markinsf
Old
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 47
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsA View Post
Yes it makes A HUGE Difference
use this
http://techerrata.com/browse/twrp2/m7wls

And why are you posting in the International forums ???
the Sprint forums are here http://forum.xda-developers.com/sprint-htc-one
Dude.... sorry... drinking too much sierra nevada? Uh, international forum?

In any event, you saved my life, thanks!! Installing Android Revolution HD at the moment.

Can I buy you a beer?

BTW, my bootloader still says S-ON - is this a problem?

Thanks thanks thanks again!
 
clsA
Old
#8  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 647
Posts: 2,462
Join Date: Aug 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by markinsf View Post
Dude.... sorry... drinking too much sierra nevada? Uh, international forum?

In any event, you saved my life, thanks!! Installing Android Revolution HD at the moment.

Can I buy you a beer?

BTW, my bootloader still says S-ON - is this a problem?

Thanks thanks thanks again!
lol yeah ... I assumed you had an international variant not Sprint
Glad you got it going
HTC One 32 GB AT&T (S-off, Unlocked, Rooted)
Please help keep www.htc1guru.com Alive and Donate
 
nkk71
Old
#9  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2085
Posts: 4,298
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Beirut
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsA View Post
lol yeah ... I assumed you had an international variant not Sprint
Glad you got it going
This is NOT addressed to you @clsA !!! Good job mate!!

but for those with a sense of humour, take your pick; a little humour never hurt anybody
 











hence the "fastboot getvar all" (excluding IMEI and s/n)

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes