Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,772,523 Members 51,289 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Duplicate apps

Tip us?
 
camsurf
Old
#1  
camsurf's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 103
Join Date: Jun 2012
Default Duplicate apps

Hey guys. Is this normal for me to have multiple apps?

Sent from my SGH-I337M using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1399734610948.jpg
Views:	50
Size:	100.4 KB
ID:	2736177  
 
jd1639
Old
#2  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3175
Posts: 9,386
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
I haven't seen that before. But they are different versions so it's possible. I'd freeze the older version and see if you run into problems

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
 
TRusselo
Old
(Last edited by TRusselo; 10th May 2014 at 05:48 PM.)
#3  
TRusselo's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 2762
Posts: 4,682
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Edmonton

 
DONATE TO ME
that is *kind-of* normal.

All pre-installed apps are installed in "system/apps" folder and cannot be removed unless rooted. Then all updates are stored in the "data/apps" folder along with all user installed apps. This is done so normal users "not-rooted" can delete all their installed apps and updates to get back "stock".

Most apps that list your installed apps, like titanium backup, or the "system settings > applications" normally take this into account and only show you one version. What-ever crap program you took a screenshot of, obviously does not take that into account and is confusing you. I see "safe2remove" beside many of the items in that screenshot, I do not recogize that application you are using. Just some garbage app as far as I am concerned now.
 
TRusselo
Old
#4  
TRusselo's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 2762
Posts: 4,682
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Edmonton

 
DONATE TO ME
do not freeze either version
 
camsurf
Old
#5  
camsurf's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 103
Join Date: Jun 2012
I'm looking at system cleanup

Sent from my SGH-I337M using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
numbere
Old
(Last edited by numbere; 10th May 2014 at 06:15 PM.)
#6  
numbere's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 55
Join Date: Aug 2013
You can delete the older version, but you have to remove the app manually or you'll need to reinstall. Look at the YouTube app in the attached pics. Also, system cleanup is a great app.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1399741470493.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	68.9 KB
ID:	2736336   Click image for larger version

Name:	1399741487634.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	70.1 KB
ID:	2736338  
 
camsurf
Old
#7  
camsurf's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 103
Join Date: Jun 2012
I have two play stores, also two Google play services

Sent from my SGH-I337M using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
numbere
Old
#8  
numbere's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 55
Join Date: Aug 2013
Remember to backup before you do any modding
 
numbere
Old
#9  
numbere's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 55
Join Date: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by camsurf View Post
I have two play stores, also two Google play services

Sent from my SGH-I337M using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The 4.82 update for SystemCleanup fixes the issue of apps showing twice

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Get Your Special xda:devcon ’14 Hotel And Conference Rate While It Lasts

By now you’ve definitely heard about XDA’s … more

Google Chromecast Rootable Once Again!

Over the six months, theGoogle Chromecasthas gained a considerable amount of official functionality. … more

YAATA isn’t Just Another Android Texting App

Although our mobile devices today are capable of executingnearly every task we normally … more

MacroDroid Update Brings Android Wear Automation

A few months ago, we talked about MacroDroid. For those who don’t remember, MacroDroid … more