FXP Team Delivers Lollipop to Various Xperia Devices!

From all of us here at XDA-Developers, we’d like to wish you Happy Holidays! If … more

Turn Your Camera Into a Live Puzzle Game

The classic sliding puzzle game hasnt changed much, if at all, over the years. Dating all the way … more

Samsung Begins Production of 8 Gb RAM Chips

With the release of Android 5.0, our favorite mobile operating system has become 64-bit ready. … more

CM, Micromax and OnePlus – Sales Ban Lifted

It’s less than a week since our recent in-depth analysis of the legal battle over the … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Duplicate apps

OP camsurf

10th May 2014, 05:10 PM   |  #1  
camsurf's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
103 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Hey guys. Is this normal for me to have multiple apps?

Sent from my SGH-I337M using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1399734610948.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	100.4 KB
ID:	2736177  
10th May 2014, 05:57 PM   |  #2  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 3,984
 
11,365 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
I haven't seen that before. But they are different versions so it's possible. I'd freeze the older version and see if you run into problems

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
10th May 2014, 06:46 PM   |  #3  
TRusselo's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Flag Edmonton
Thanks Meter: 2,797
 
4,703 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
that is *kind-of* normal.

All pre-installed apps are installed in "system/apps" folder and cannot be removed unless rooted. Then all updates are stored in the "data/apps" folder along with all user installed apps. This is done so normal users "not-rooted" can delete all their installed apps and updates to get back "stock".

Most apps that list your installed apps, like titanium backup, or the "system settings > applications" normally take this into account and only show you one version. What-ever crap program you took a screenshot of, obviously does not take that into account and is confusing you. I see "safe2remove" beside many of the items in that screenshot, I do not recogize that application you are using. Just some garbage app as far as I am concerned now.
Last edited by TRusselo; 10th May 2014 at 06:48 PM.
10th May 2014, 06:47 PM   |  #4  
TRusselo's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Flag Edmonton
Thanks Meter: 2,797
 
4,703 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
do not freeze either version
10th May 2014, 06:49 PM   |  #5  
camsurf's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
103 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
I'm looking at system cleanup

Sent from my SGH-I337M using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
10th May 2014, 07:04 PM   |  #6  
numbere's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
You can delete the older version, but you have to remove the app manually or you'll need to reinstall. Look at the YouTube app in the attached pics. Also, system cleanup is a great app.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1399741470493.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	68.9 KB
ID:	2736336   Click image for larger version

Name:	1399741487634.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	70.1 KB
ID:	2736338  
Last edited by numbere; 10th May 2014 at 07:15 PM.
10th May 2014, 07:33 PM   |  #7  
camsurf's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
103 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
I have two play stores, also two Google play services

Sent from my SGH-I337M using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
10th May 2014, 07:39 PM   |  #8  
numbere's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Remember to backup before you do any modding
11th May 2014, 05:06 PM   |  #9  
numbere's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by camsurf

I have two play stores, also two Google play services

Sent from my SGH-I337M using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

The 4.82 update for SystemCleanup fixes the issue of apps showing twice

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes