Post Reply

Freezing and other issues. Please help.

OP Reynbow

2nd March 2014, 01:31 PM   |  #1  
Reynbow's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
81 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Running an Australian N9005.

I was running Temaseks unofficial CM11 build just fine. Got bored and wanted to go back to a more Samsung styled phone.

Decided to flash X-Note. As I'd used it before CM11. It worked fine then.

Attempted to flash X-Note but it wouldn't boot, stuck at initial screen with the Kernel warnings at the top of the screen. Was told it was because I hadn't got the new 4.4 bootloader.
I was told to follow the instructions here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...45&postcount=2
Which I did.
Using these download links and instructions: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=49931269

That fixed the boot issue. I suppose I'm not on the 4.4 bootloader.

However when I booted up the stock Polish ROM, the initial Samsung Setup Wizard would crash at the end of the setup and force me back to the start of the setup. Tried ignoring it and just flashing the custom recovery and then XNote. Same issue, the setup wizard in XNote crashes as well.

Someone then told me I should try repartitioning the device using a PIT. I don't know what that is, but it was suggested.

Using this ROM: https://mega.co.nz/#!QVwlVDgJ!QyAxmD...TVvdM07LOs0V10
And this PIT: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...9&postcount=77

Completes successfully.

Same issue............... That being a third separate ROM (official? at that)....

Samsung Setup Wizard crashes...

I even tried flashing XNote and removing the setup wizard just to get past it. That fixes it for about 10 minutes or so. After about 10 minutes of use the phone freezes and I have to hold the power button to force it to restart. If I leave the phone off, it still freezes, as soon as I try to unlock it it freezes and need to force restart.

I really don't know what to do now... Any help guys? I'm trying my best here...
Please, if you need any more information, please ask.
2nd March 2014, 04:34 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 329
 
1,098 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Might not help, but have you wiped your phone clean using custom recovery ( data,cache, dalvik, internal sd ) before flashing xnote or factory reset on recovery when on stock?
2nd March 2014, 04:39 PM   |  #3  
nicholaschum's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto, ON (Hong Kong S.A.R.)
Thanks Meter: 1,507
 
2,072 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
Do you have reactivation lock enabled?

Sent from my fingers to your face using my Samsung Galaxy Note 3!
2nd March 2014, 10:05 PM   |  #4  
Reynbow's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
81 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by hey_joe

Might not help, but have you wiped your phone clean using custom recovery ( data,cache, dalvik, internal sd ) before flashing xnote or factory reset on recovery when on stock?

Yes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nicholaschum

Do you have reactivation lock enabled?

No.
2nd March 2014, 11:44 PM   |  #5  
radicalisto's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag York
Thanks Meter: 1,464
 
3,606 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Donate to Me
More
This has puzzled me, not sure why it's still acting up especially after re-partitioning and flatlining everything.
3rd March 2014, 01:42 AM   |  #6  
Reynbow's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
81 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by radicalisto

This has puzzled me, not sure why it's still acting up especially after re-partitioning and flatlining everything.

Yes indeed. I'm very confused...
3rd March 2014, 04:09 AM   |  #7  
Reynbow's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
81 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
So... I don't want to get ahead of myself, but my phone seems to have sorted itself out...

I decided to just send it back to the carrier to get it replaced. So I decided to just flash the official Firmware again. (I accidentally left repartition ticked)
Once it started I thought... Oh ****... But I was sending it back anyway so who cares. (the carrier said they will just swap it for me if they can see it not working)
So I let it finish and turn it on to see what happens, run through the setup to make sure it still crashes at the same spot so I can show them... and it doesn't crash... wtf?

So I flash the custom recovery and XNote... And it seems to be working now. Now freezing, no nothing... I... I don't know...
3rd March 2014, 04:34 AM   |  #8  
radicalisto's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag York
Thanks Meter: 1,464
 
3,606 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Donate to Me
More
Crazy, least it appears somewhat sorted lol
3rd March 2014, 04:59 AM   |  #9  
Reynbow's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
81 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by radicalisto

Crazy, least it appears somewhat sorted lol

So far, yeah... I think I got the runt of the litter or something... Haha
3rd March 2014, 05:03 AM   |  #10  
radicalisto's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag York
Thanks Meter: 1,464
 
3,606 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reynbow

So far, yeah... I think I got the runt of the litter or something... Haha

Just out of curiosity, as I see you have an AU model, did you buy it from Kogan? -- Reason I ask is that they used HK firmware on some models and HK models have issues flashing normal firmware (similar to the issue you had)

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Galaxy Note 3 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank