Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Angry POMP C6S 5.5" NFC/Octa-Core 1.7GHz MTK6592 2GB RAM/32GB ROM DualSIM / 1920x1080 FHD

OP s7yler

18th May 2014, 09:03 PM   |  #1  
s7yler's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 301
 
706 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
Donate to Me
Topic is about the new POMP C6S 5.5" NFC/Octa-Core 1.7GHz MTK6592 2GB RAM/32GB ROM DualSIM / 1920x1080 FHD.
Let us collect all hacking & development info here about this device, and help each other.





First impressions
This is a really HIGH QUALITY phone from China.
What I like about it? I like the simple square design, and the screen is big and clear, when off the screen is 100% black (not grey). Also the phone is pretty thin. Another great plus is the high build quality and that it has REAL features like NFC, OTG, MHL/HDMI, WIFI DIRECT/Miracast and 2GB RAM/32GB ROM!

Pros: The phone is very fast! 28800 in AnTuTu says it all. High build quality and very good materials. The screen is also of a very high quality, and the fact that the whole screen is totally black when off is something I really like. The batterylife is very good, it seems to be a true 3000 mah battery in this device. The phone has a dedicated hardware button for the camera. The SIMtray is a dualsimtray for 2 micro SIM cards. The reception/signal is strong in this device, so far I had no problems when talking with people. The sound/backspeaker and headphone quality is also very good and loud. The phone support real OTA, OTG, MHL, Miracast, Airgestures in both ways and NFC which is real nice features.

Cons: The UI is not everyones taste - but you can just install another launcher! No notification LED as far I can see.
The lockscreen is pretty standard. The backcover can not be removed, also the builtin memory can't be extended, but it comes with total 32GB ROM. The price for this phone is a bit high, but on the other hand, you get a phone with high quality! For some people this phone may be too big, it has a 5.5 inch screen.

Benchmarks
AnTuTu score is: 28822
http://peecee.dk/uploads/052014/Scre..._big_thumb.png
http://peecee.dk/uploads/052014/Scre..._big_thumb.png


Highlights
- 5.5 inch IPS Screen, 1920*1080 pixel display
- MTK6592 1.7GHz Octa core
- 2 GB RAM + 32 GB ROM
- Dual Sim, Dual Standby
- Support 3G & H Plus network
- GSM 850/900/1800/1900 & WCDMA 850/2100 MHz
- 13MP SONY back camera + 8MP front camera
- Airgestures, GPS, Bluetooth 4.0
- Dimensions (WDH): 151 x 77.5 x 7.7mm
- 3000 mAh battery
- OTG, MHL/HDMI, WIFI DIRECT/Miracast
- NFC built-in that works exactly like on original brands!

Issues:
No notification LED
You can use app NoLED instead from the PlayStore and get small notifications on the screen.

ROOT:
Use http://www.shuame.com/en/root/
or you can also try with vROOT

Camera Test Samples:
http://peecee.dk/uploads/052014/IMG_20140517_140444.jpg
http://peecee.dk/uploads/052014/IMG_20140517_135629.jpg
http://peecee.dk/uploads/052014/IMG_20140517_140202.jpg
http://peecee.dk/uploads/052014/IMG_20140516_010532.jpg

Original picture: http://peecee.dk/uploads/052014/S1280018.JPG


Original picture: http://peecee.dk/uploads/052014/S1280008.JPG


Original picture: http://peecee.dk/uploads/052014/S1280007.JPG
Last edited by s7yler; 29th May 2014 at 12:04 AM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to s7yler For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th May 2014, 10:35 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Hi my friend, i have a question for you, whats the way for watching WIFI DIRECT/Miracast in tv? any program or procedure, please explain, thank you in advance
18th May 2014, 11:00 PM   |  #3  
s7yler's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 301
 
706 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by petertrol

Hi my friend, i have a question for you, whats the way for watching WIFI DIRECT/Miracast in tv? any program or procedure, please explain, thank you in advance

Hey, you can see how it work here in my video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ws8_aZ2Gsg4
it is basically the same for the Pomp C6S (and all other MTK6592) as for the phone I use in that video.

You just need a TV with miracast builtin, or an external miracast dongle connected to it. Then on the phone you go in the settings and connect it. You don't need any extra software etc.

The POMP also support cable, MHL to HDMI, so you can connect via cable also to a TV.
Last edited by s7yler; 18th May 2014 at 11:03 PM.
18th May 2014, 11:03 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Thank you i will try
19th May 2014, 02:30 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Wink
By the way, here you have updated version v2.03 multilanguage for this phone ive already uploaded in case you dont have installed (i dont think so normally it comes with v2.00) http://www.needrom.com/mobile/pomp-c6s-2/ and tell me how it works with your phone, it seems to be bit better
Last edited by petertrol; 19th May 2014 at 02:32 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to petertrol For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th May 2014, 03:56 PM   |  #6  
s7yler's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 301
 
706 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by petertrol

By the way, here you have updated version v2.03 multilanguage for this phone ive already uploaded in case you dont have installed (i dont think so normally it comes with v2.00) http://www.needrom.com/mobile/pomp-c6s-2/ and tell me how it works with your phone, it seems to be bit better

Hi thanks, I have 2.02 it seems. So 2.03 have how many languages? Do I just put C6Spomp_92_cn_fhd_en_fomat_v2.03_kashua.zip on the sdcard in the root? and then choose update from locale file in the settings? or just with Spflashtool?

How did you root your C6S?

Any other changes in 2.03? And do I have to clear any caches or factory reset afterwards? Where did you get 2.03 from? (sorry for all the questions )
Last edited by s7yler; 19th May 2014 at 04:14 PM.
19th May 2014, 04:41 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by s7yler

Hi thanks, I have 2.02 it seems. So 2.03 have how many languages? Do I just put C6Spomp_92_cn_fhd_en_fomat_v2.03_kashua.zip on the sdcard in the root? and then choose update from locale file in the settings? or just with Spflashtool?

How did you root your C6S?

Any other changes in 2.03? And do I have to clear any caches or factory reset afterwards? Where did you get 2.03 from? (sorry for all the questions )

its always recommended when install rom wipe date, cache and dalvik cache, but do as you like, i did all that...i installed it from recovery no spflashtool needed (install update from zipcard) i didnt use local update and dont know changelog but if its an upgrade i think something will improve, i hope

For rooting use: vroot http://www.mgyun.com/en/getvroot easiest way
i got if from manufacturer
Cheers
Last edited by petertrol; 19th May 2014 at 04:44 PM.
19th May 2014, 06:21 PM   |  #8  
s7yler's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 301
 
706 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by petertrol

its always recommended when install rom wipe date, cache and dalvik cache, but do as you like, i did all that...i installed it from recovery no spflashtool needed (install update from zipcard) i didnt use local update and dont know changelog but if its an upgrade i think something will improve, i hope

For rooting use: vroot http://www.mgyun.com/en/getvroot easiest way
i got if from manufacturer
Cheers

Great thank you. Did you also try to install CWM via MTKdroidtools on it?
The Following User Says Thank You to s7yler For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th May 2014, 06:36 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by s7yler

Great thank you. Did you also try to install CWM via MTKdroidtools on it?

Yes, i have my automade CWM via mtkdroidtools as you said, i expect to have kitkat in this phone very soon
20th May 2014, 12:14 AM   |  #10  
s7yler's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 301
 
706 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by petertrol

Yes, i have my automade CWM via mtkdroidtools as you said, i expect to have kitkat in this phone very soon

mm, when I try to root with vroot, the tools reboots the phone, but then the phone stops at some screen saying that it want to restore the phone. But when I accept or deny it, it seems nothing more happens with vRoot, and it times out and fail? any suggestions?
Or how was the process when you did it with vRoot?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
c6s, mtk6592, octacore, pomp, pomp c6s
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes