FORUMS

New GB fw 4.0.2.A.0.84

148 posts
Thanks Meter: 25
 
By nikola1970, Senior Member on 5th February 2013, 10:53 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
This morning i got notification about this firmware, will i loose root if I update to this firmware via my phone updater not PC comp.?
Is there anything new in this firmware?

Best regards
Last edited by nikola1970; 5th February 2013 at 10:56 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to nikola1970 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
5th February 2013, 11:33 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag Qom
Thanks Meter: 160
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikola1970

This morning i got notification about this firmware, will i loose root if I update to this firmware via my phone updater not PC comp.?
Is there anything new in this firmware?

Best regards

yes..you loose it.nothing changed..just baseband and wifi libs. what is your phone?
5th February 2013, 12:04 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
Thanks mate, i have st15i. I will stay on 062 firmware.
5th February 2013, 12:05 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Flag Taguig
Thanks Meter: 229
 
More
but I notice that battery consumption is more efficient on the new firmware
5th February 2013, 12:07 PM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by amnher

but I notice that battery consumption is more efficient on the new firmware

Really? Sounds good. How i can root this firmware?
5th February 2013, 12:19 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag Taguig
Thanks Meter: 229
 
More
same as rooting .62
downgrade to .42 first then do OTA upgrade
5th February 2013, 12:32 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by amnher

same as rooting .62
downgrade to .42 first then do OTA upgrade

Someone already tried to directly root this new .84 fw with no success?
5th February 2013, 12:36 PM |#8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by amnher

same as rooting .62
downgrade to .42 first then do OTA upgrade

if i do OTA upgrade from my current 62 i will loose root permisions, yes?
5th February 2013, 12:57 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Flag Taguig
Thanks Meter: 229
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikola1970

if i do OTA upgrade from my current 62 i will loose root permisions, yes?

In my case, doing that gives me a failure OTA update thats why I'm forced to reflash .42
5th February 2013, 03:06 PM |#10  
Arun Av's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kolkata
Thanks Meter: 204
 
More
Re: New GB fw 4.0.2.A.0.84
Doing OTA directly over .62 gave me a failure too. Here's what I did- flashed stock .42, root (and updated the SU app and binary and ticked 'OTA Survival', updated to .84 via OTA.. Success. Feels li'l bit snappier and ya battery stays up good. But maybe it's jst a placebo cuz GB has always hav been snappy n fast on my mini.

Sent from my ST15i using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to Arun Av For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th February 2013, 03:19 PM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
More
Didi you lost the root rights?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arun Av

and updated the SU app and binary and ticked 'OTA Survival', updated to .84 via OTA.. Success.

I am currently on .58 with root. Could you explain me what did you mean by this? I am a little newbie

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes