Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Audio through tablet or phone?

OP Jersey846

28th February 2014, 09:08 PM   |  #1  
Jersey846's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Washington DC
Thanks Meter: 208
 
717 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
I have not seen any specific threads addressing this, and thus far I am guessing I know the answer to my own question.. but is it possible to use my device for audio instead of my television? My specific issue is the fact that I am using an old computer monitor for my chromecast in my bedroom. It does not have HDMI, so I am using an HDMI to DVI converter (no audio). I'm fairly certain that there's no way (doubt my Nexus 7 being rooted would help) to stream the audio through my device but I thought I'd ask anyway. Thanks people.
Last edited by Jersey846; 28th February 2014 at 09:19 PM.
28th February 2014, 09:58 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 319
 
1,847 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jersey846

I have not seen any specific threads addressing this, and thus far I am guessing I know the answer to my own question.. but is it possible to use my device for audio instead of my television? My specific issue is the fact that I am using an old computer monitor for my chromecast in my bedroom. It does not have HDMI, so I am using an HDMI to DVI converter (no audio). I'm fairly certain that there's no way (doubt my Nexus 7 being rooted would help) to stream the audio through my device but I thought I'd ask anyway. Thanks people.

Not really since the CCast for all intents and purposes is pulling the file from the source and while you could probably get the mbile device to pull the same file it would be next to impossible to sync the two in any meaningful way.

Your best bet is to get a HDMI to VGA Breakout cable/box that will pull the Audio out of the HDMI so you can plug into an amp or Powered Speakers.

http://www.amazon.com/HDMI-VGA-conve.../dp/B003O55U8K

But if you use one of those your likely to lose the ability to play some content that requires HDCP to play (I'm thinking Netflix might require this)
The Following User Says Thank You to Asphyx For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th February 2014, 10:37 PM   |  #3  
Jersey846's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Washington DC
Thanks Meter: 208
 
717 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asphyx

Not really since the CCast for all intents and purposes is pulling the file from the source and while you could probably get the mbile device to pull the same file it would be next to impossible to sync the two in any meaningful way.

Your best bet is to get a HDMI to VGA Breakout cable/box that will pull the Audio out of the HDMI so you can plug into an amp or Powered Speakers.

http://www.amazon.com/HDMI-VGA-conve.../dp/B003O55U8K

But if you use one of those your likely to lose the ability to play some content that requires HDCP to play (I'm thinking Netflix might require this)

That was an idea I had. But that looks like a VGA when the computer monitor has DVI. To get what I'd need to get sound running with the converter price wise, it'd almost make more sense just to get something that has an HDMI input. This was only a temporary method until I get married. After that we'll have plenty of devices collectively to get anything we need working on any of our televisions. I'd use my television with my Chromecast but around 4 years ago the HDMI ports were fried by the cable guy somehow. So all I have connected now is a 360 connected through component cables. If it wasn't for my Android phone and tablet I'd be in the technological stone age.
28th February 2014, 11:12 PM   |  #4  
bhiga's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 873
 
2,237 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jersey846

That was an idea I had. But that looks like a VGA when the computer monitor has DVI.

You can get an HDMI audio extractor box but make sure it has the type of audio you need (analog, digital coax, or digital optical)

Some computer monitors allow audio over DVI, but it's still hit and miss.
The Following User Says Thank You to bhiga For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th February 2014, 11:16 PM   |  #5  
Jersey846's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Washington DC
Thanks Meter: 208
 
717 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhiga

You can get an HDMI audio extractor box but make sure it has the type of audio you need (analog, digital coax, or digital optical)

Some computer monitors allow audio over DVI, but it's still hit and miss.

That'd be where I went on amazon and bought the wrong thing. I'll look them up though thanks!

Sent from my Droid Razr M using xda app-developers app
28th February 2014, 11:29 PM   |  #6  
bhiga's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 873
 
2,237 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jersey846

That'd be where I went on amazon and bought the wrong thing. I'll look them up though thanks!

You want something like this
http://www.amazon.com/ViewHD-Premium...082H41SMFNMZYT
The Following User Says Thank You to bhiga For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th February 2014, 11:32 PM   |  #7  
Jersey846's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Washington DC
Thanks Meter: 208
 
717 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhiga

You want something like this
http://www.amazon.com/ViewHD-Premium...082H41SMFNMZYT

Yeah I considered that. But with all things considered, a $40 price tag is a pretty steep alternative for what I was hoping. Maybe when Chromecast mirroring is released it will accomplish what I was hoping for.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using xda app-developers app
28th February 2014, 11:37 PM   |  #8  
bhiga's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 873
 
2,237 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jersey846

Yeah I considered that. But with all things considered, a $40 price tag is a pretty steep alternative for what I was hoping. Maybe when Chromecast mirroring is released it will accomplish what I was hoping for.

True. That's why I didn't post the $99 one.
If your TV is under warranty I'd get it fixed.

Even if you got audio out of your device it would be very difficult to sync it with what's playing on Chromecast, as they'd essentially be pulling two entirely separate streams.

The same would hold for Android screen mirroring when it arrives, but that would be a delay due to having to get the screen data to Chromecast.
The Following User Says Thank You to bhiga For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th February 2014, 11:42 PM   |  #9  
Jersey846's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Washington DC
Thanks Meter: 208
 
717 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhiga

True. That's why I didn't post the $99 one.
If your TV is under warranty I'd get it fixed.

Even if you got audio out of your device it would be very difficult to sync it with what's playing on Chromecast, as they'd essentially be pulling two entirely separate streams.

The same would hold for Android screen mirroring when it arrives, but that would be a delay due to having to get the screen data to Chromecast.

TV is fairly old and hasn't been under warranty for a while. It's a 47". Once we get married we'll be purchasing a 60" or so one. The 360 works fine with component cable on it for now. I'll be using the Chromecast with the newer TV. If I didn't have that engagement ring expense I'd already have that 60" along with my '69 Charger. She offered to help pay for it, but what's the fun in that?!

Sent from my Droid Razr M using xda app-developers app
28th February 2014, 11:43 PM   |  #10  
bhiga's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 873
 
2,237 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jersey846

If I didn't have that engagement ring expense I'd already have that 60" along with my '69 Charger. She offered to help pay for it, but what's the fun in that?!


If we're lucky maybe Google will enable the Bluetooth so we can have some Bluetooth audio, but I wouldn't hold my breath.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes