Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,742,650 Members 39,104 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Audio through tablet or phone?

Tip us?
 
Jersey846
Old
(Last edited by Jersey846; 28th February 2014 at 08:19 PM.)
#1  
Jersey846's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 190
Posts: 670
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Washington DC
Default [Q] Audio through tablet or phone?

I have not seen any specific threads addressing this, and thus far I am guessing I know the answer to my own question.. but is it possible to use my device for audio instead of my television? My specific issue is the fact that I am using an old computer monitor for my chromecast in my bedroom. It does not have HDMI, so I am using an HDMI to DVI converter (no audio). I'm fairly certain that there's no way (doubt my Nexus 7 being rooted would help) to stream the audio through my device but I thought I'd ask anyway. Thanks people.
 
Asphyx
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 253
Posts: 1,643
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jersey846 View Post
I have not seen any specific threads addressing this, and thus far I am guessing I know the answer to my own question.. but is it possible to use my device for audio instead of my television? My specific issue is the fact that I am using an old computer monitor for my chromecast in my bedroom. It does not have HDMI, so I am using an HDMI to DVI converter (no audio). I'm fairly certain that there's no way (doubt my Nexus 7 being rooted would help) to stream the audio through my device but I thought I'd ask anyway. Thanks people.
Not really since the CCast for all intents and purposes is pulling the file from the source and while you could probably get the mbile device to pull the same file it would be next to impossible to sync the two in any meaningful way.

Your best bet is to get a HDMI to VGA Breakout cable/box that will pull the Audio out of the HDMI so you can plug into an amp or Powered Speakers.

http://www.amazon.com/HDMI-VGA-conve.../dp/B003O55U8K

But if you use one of those your likely to lose the ability to play some content that requires HDCP to play (I'm thinking Netflix might require this)
The Following User Says Thank You to Asphyx For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Jersey846
Old
#3  
Jersey846's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 190
Posts: 670
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Washington DC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asphyx View Post
Not really since the CCast for all intents and purposes is pulling the file from the source and while you could probably get the mbile device to pull the same file it would be next to impossible to sync the two in any meaningful way.

Your best bet is to get a HDMI to VGA Breakout cable/box that will pull the Audio out of the HDMI so you can plug into an amp or Powered Speakers.

http://www.amazon.com/HDMI-VGA-conve.../dp/B003O55U8K

But if you use one of those your likely to lose the ability to play some content that requires HDCP to play (I'm thinking Netflix might require this)
That was an idea I had. But that looks like a VGA when the computer monitor has DVI. To get what I'd need to get sound running with the converter price wise, it'd almost make more sense just to get something that has an HDMI input. This was only a temporary method until I get married. After that we'll have plenty of devices collectively to get anything we need working on any of our televisions. I'd use my television with my Chromecast but around 4 years ago the HDMI ports were fried by the cable guy somehow. So all I have connected now is a 360 connected through component cables. If it wasn't for my Android phone and tablet I'd be in the technological stone age.
 
bhiga
Old
#4  
bhiga's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 763
Posts: 2,060
Join Date: Oct 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jersey846 View Post
That was an idea I had. But that looks like a VGA when the computer monitor has DVI.
You can get an HDMI audio extractor box but make sure it has the type of audio you need (analog, digital coax, or digital optical)

Some computer monitors allow audio over DVI, but it's still hit and miss.
Chromecast threads: FAQ - READ THIS FIRST! / Rootable Serial Numbers | Root Mini-FAQ | FlashCast flashing Mini-FAQ
BYO powered OTG cable | WiFi Bandwidth and Router considerations | Not all 1080p/720p is same
Search Tip: Google search terms site:forum.xda-developers.com for only XDA forum results. Example
Follow the rules / Use 'Search' before posting / Post in the correct sections / Do not spam the board / Press thanks, don't post 'Thanks'
The Following User Says Thank You to bhiga For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Jersey846
Old
#5  
Jersey846's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 190
Posts: 670
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Washington DC
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhiga View Post
You can get an HDMI audio extractor box but make sure it has the type of audio you need (analog, digital coax, or digital optical)

Some computer monitors allow audio over DVI, but it's still hit and miss.
That'd be where I went on amazon and bought the wrong thing. I'll look them up though thanks!

Sent from my Droid Razr M using xda app-developers app
 
bhiga
Old
#6  
bhiga's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 763
Posts: 2,060
Join Date: Oct 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jersey846 View Post
That'd be where I went on amazon and bought the wrong thing. I'll look them up though thanks!
You want something like this
http://www.amazon.com/ViewHD-Premium...082H41SMFNMZYT
Chromecast threads: FAQ - READ THIS FIRST! / Rootable Serial Numbers | Root Mini-FAQ | FlashCast flashing Mini-FAQ
BYO powered OTG cable | WiFi Bandwidth and Router considerations | Not all 1080p/720p is same
Search Tip: Google search terms site:forum.xda-developers.com for only XDA forum results. Example
Follow the rules / Use 'Search' before posting / Post in the correct sections / Do not spam the board / Press thanks, don't post 'Thanks'
The Following User Says Thank You to bhiga For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Jersey846
Old
#7  
Jersey846's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 190
Posts: 670
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Washington DC
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhiga View Post
Yeah I considered that. But with all things considered, a $40 price tag is a pretty steep alternative for what I was hoping. Maybe when Chromecast mirroring is released it will accomplish what I was hoping for.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using xda app-developers app
 
bhiga
Old
#8  
bhiga's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 763
Posts: 2,060
Join Date: Oct 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jersey846 View Post
Yeah I considered that. But with all things considered, a $40 price tag is a pretty steep alternative for what I was hoping. Maybe when Chromecast mirroring is released it will accomplish what I was hoping for.
True. That's why I didn't post the $99 one.
If your TV is under warranty I'd get it fixed.

Even if you got audio out of your device it would be very difficult to sync it with what's playing on Chromecast, as they'd essentially be pulling two entirely separate streams.

The same would hold for Android screen mirroring when it arrives, but that would be a delay due to having to get the screen data to Chromecast.
Chromecast threads: FAQ - READ THIS FIRST! / Rootable Serial Numbers | Root Mini-FAQ | FlashCast flashing Mini-FAQ
BYO powered OTG cable | WiFi Bandwidth and Router considerations | Not all 1080p/720p is same
Search Tip: Google search terms site:forum.xda-developers.com for only XDA forum results. Example
Follow the rules / Use 'Search' before posting / Post in the correct sections / Do not spam the board / Press thanks, don't post 'Thanks'
The Following User Says Thank You to bhiga For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Jersey846
Old
#9  
Jersey846's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 190
Posts: 670
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Washington DC
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhiga View Post
True. That's why I didn't post the $99 one.
If your TV is under warranty I'd get it fixed.

Even if you got audio out of your device it would be very difficult to sync it with what's playing on Chromecast, as they'd essentially be pulling two entirely separate streams.

The same would hold for Android screen mirroring when it arrives, but that would be a delay due to having to get the screen data to Chromecast.
TV is fairly old and hasn't been under warranty for a while. It's a 47". Once we get married we'll be purchasing a 60" or so one. The 360 works fine with component cable on it for now. I'll be using the Chromecast with the newer TV. If I didn't have that engagement ring expense I'd already have that 60" along with my '69 Charger. She offered to help pay for it, but what's the fun in that?!

Sent from my Droid Razr M using xda app-developers app
 
bhiga
Old
#10  
bhiga's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 763
Posts: 2,060
Join Date: Oct 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jersey846 View Post
If I didn't have that engagement ring expense I'd already have that 60" along with my '69 Charger. She offered to help pay for it, but what's the fun in that?!

If we're lucky maybe Google will enable the Bluetooth so we can have some Bluetooth audio, but I wouldn't hold my breath.
Chromecast threads: FAQ - READ THIS FIRST! / Rootable Serial Numbers | Root Mini-FAQ | FlashCast flashing Mini-FAQ
BYO powered OTG cable | WiFi Bandwidth and Router considerations | Not all 1080p/720p is same
Search Tip: Google search terms site:forum.xda-developers.com for only XDA forum results. Example
Follow the rules / Use 'Search' before posting / Post in the correct sections / Do not spam the board / Press thanks, don't post 'Thanks'

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes