Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,809,630 Members 39,696 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[GLtools]Play Games At MUCH better framerates(eg- GTA3 with steps)

Tip us?
 
T3snake
Old
(Last edited by T3snake; 27th May 2014 at 09:01 AM.) Reason: Better Description
#1  
T3snake's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 403
Posts: 866
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Vadodara
Default [GLtools]Play Games At MUCH better framerates(eg- GTA3 with steps)

Gltools (which is similar to chainfire 3d but works on jellybean)
made by @n0n3m4

Latest Edit:19/03/2014
it helps in lowering graphics and emulating other gpus so that a game which is tegra exclusive works on all phones
is a must have app on our phone for gaming
i tried lowering graphics using gtools3 on gta and the game is working too good
touch is completely responsive ingame (ie no lags when changing the view) and so on

Go to this thread for gameplay videos on our phone:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=51197303

first download free version(limited features) from google play
or the xda version(all features unlocked) provided by the dev frm this thread
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2615514

(Im using gta 3 as an eg to show how this works)

install gltools
(Note: Enable backup option in the app in case something goes wrong. a cwm flashable zip which can uninstall gltools will be formed)

open app. then give root access and install tex plugin(and not none otherwise this app wont work)

reboot the phone

open app. a list of apps installed will come up

select ur app(gta 3 for me)

check on enable custom setting

tick forcce 16 bit rendering

tick optimize glsl shaders

set enable texture decomp. to all

set enable texture recomp. to none

set downscale textures to 0.5 and check if it still lags make 0.25x(anything below that will make text unreadable)

i also faked gpu info though it may not be needed (i did adreno 320)

in gta 3 display setting i minimised the resolution and draw distance disabled frame limiter

now the game is very smooth (textures are blurred and graphics are low)
thats all
please share ur own config for any game u manage to make smooth

-T3snake
The Following 11 Users Say Thank You to T3snake For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
swhackeristahsan
Old
#2  
swhackeristahsan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 89
Posts: 310
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: karachi
Thumbs up yay

Quote:
Originally Posted by T3snake View Post
Gltools (which is similar to chainfire 3d but works on jellybean)
made by @n0n3m4
it helps in lowering graphics and emulating other gpus so that a game which is tegra exclusive works on all phones
is a must have app on our phone for gaming
i tried lowering graphics using gtools3 on gta and the game is working too good
touch is completely responsive ingame (ie no lags when changing the view) and so on

first download free version(limited features) from google play
or the xda version(all features unlocked) provided by the dev frm this thread
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2615514

(Im using gta 3 as an eg to show how this works)

install gltools
(Note: Enable backup option in the app in case something goes wrong. a cwm flashable zip which can uninstall gltools will be formed)

open app. then give root access and install tex plugin(and not none otherwise this app wont work

reboot the phone

open app. a list of apps installed will come up

select ur app(gta 3 for me)

check on enable custom setting

set downscale textures to 0.5 and check if it still lags make 0.25x(anything below that will make text unreadable)

i also faked gpu info though it may not be needed (i did adreno 320)

in gta 3 display setting i minimised the resolution and draw distance disabled frame limiter

now the game is very smooth (textures are blurred and graphics are low)
thats all
please share ur own config for any game u manage to make smooth

-T3snake
now this is what i call, useful


WORKS:
akshaystarmod v1.1(most of the credit goes to akshay sharma)
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2569191

akshayjelly 4.2.2(most of the credit goes to akshay sharma)
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=49603442

akshaygalaxystarmod(most of the credit goes to akshay sharma)
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2569898

ported apps thread for galaxy star:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2642319
 
T3snake
Old
#3  
T3snake's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 403
Posts: 866
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Vadodara
Games working good:
I, Gladiator (gpu-adreno)
Gta 3
.
.
More coming soon

Sent from my GT-S5282 using Tapatalk
Real Men(Contributors) Dont Need To Ask For Thanks. They will get it For a Job well Done
-T3Snake

GLtools 1.29 [Graphic Optimizer]
Own:
 
Samsung Galaxy Star - GT-S5282
Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 - SM-T211

My Work:
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to T3snake For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
cdean13
Old
#4  
cdean13's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 61
Join Date: Oct 2013
Can u plz suggest settings for temple run?

Sent from my GT-S5282 using xda premium
 
T3snake
Old
#5  
T3snake's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 403
Posts: 866
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Vadodara
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdean13 View Post
Can u plz suggest settings for temple run?

Sent from my GT-S5282 using xda premium
Enable custom settings
Force 16 bit rendering
Drop visual quality to 0.5x
Thats all.....

Rest for ram and overall performance of the phone:
-Dont use task killers...
-Use Greenify for hibernating apps that are always open. Eg- FB , whatsapp , BBM
-(Optional)Use tweaks and mods. I recommend Pure graphics HD from here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2627406
Thats all
 
cdean13
Old
#6  
cdean13's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 61
Join Date: Oct 2013
Ok , sir
Is it safe to install pureperformance if I have cwm 5xxxx installed?
The thread is for cwm 6.xxx. ?

Sent from my GT-S5282 using xda premium
 
midoooz
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 16
Join Date: Feb 2014
Nice Work Bro I will Try
 
T3snake
Old
#8  
T3snake's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 403
Posts: 866
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Vadodara
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdean13 View Post
Ok , sir
Is it safe to install pureperformance if I have cwm 5xxxx installed?
The thread is for cwm 6.xxx. ?

Sent from my GT-S5282 using xda premium
I wud recommend pure hd over pure performance
but it shud work
if it doesnt there is a uninstaller package with it just flash that
Real Men(Contributors) Dont Need To Ask For Thanks. They will get it For a Job well Done
-T3Snake

GLtools 1.29 [Graphic Optimizer]
Own:
 
Samsung Galaxy Star - GT-S5282
Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 - SM-T211

My Work:
 
T3snake
Old
#9  
T3snake's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 403
Posts: 866
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Vadodara
Edited the first post. 19/03/2014
Found a better config. that has increased a lot of fps ingame
gladiator has minimal lag now and the graphics have become less pixelated
Real Men(Contributors) Dont Need To Ask For Thanks. They will get it For a Job well Done
-T3Snake

GLtools 1.29 [Graphic Optimizer]
Own:
 
Samsung Galaxy Star - GT-S5282
Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 - SM-T211

My Work:
 
vaishakh1998
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 7
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Trivandrum
Thumbs up It works with asphalt 7 also!!

I tried it and it works with asphalt 7 too

The Following User Says Thank You to vaishakh1998 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Tags
cf3d, chainfire, gltool, gltools, tutorial
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes