Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,814,319 Members 51,230 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Is this normal RAM usage?

Tip us?
 
jcnbama
Old
#1  
jcnbama's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 155
Posts: 860
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Huntsville
Default Is this normal RAM usage?

Hello,

I just got my T-Mobile G2 a couple of days ago. I don't have a lot of experience yet but I'm curious if this is the normal RAM usage vs availability. If so do you have any problems running high end games, apps, etc? I am presently on 4.4.2. I have used Titanium Backup to freeze a lot of system apps. This just seems like it could be an issue. I also use Greenify to hibernate some apps as well. Any thoughts on this?

Sent from my LG-D801 using xda app-developers app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1393722428220.jpg
Views:	185
Size:	94.8 KB
ID:	2608512  
If I share something helpful with you along the way, then hit the THANKS button. I am not a developer so that's all I got.

For I can do everything through Christ, who gives me strength. Philippians 4:13
 
jcnbama
Old
#2  
jcnbama's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 155
Posts: 860
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Huntsville
I would love to get an expert answer on this. I recently changed it PAC Man Rom and now it appears I have even less available memory. I'm not noticing any lag or anything but it just bugs me. I added up everything cached and running and it totalled like 364mb not even half a gig of ram. This phone has 2GB of ram. So I dunno just seems weird to me. I guess as long as it's not all laggy then that's what matters.


Sent from my LG-D801 using xda app-developers app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1394154244533.jpg
Views:	92
Size:	84.0 KB
ID:	2617507  
If I share something helpful with you along the way, then hit the THANKS button. I am not a developer so that's all I got.

For I can do everything through Christ, who gives me strength. Philippians 4:13
 
XxZombiePikachu
Old
#3  
XxZombiePikachu's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,440
Posts: 2,522
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Aguada
Yes that's normal use I usually have around 300-400 mb ram and another note that everyone makes unused ram is useless ram

Sent from my LG-D800 using xda app-developers app
 
staticx57
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 278
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: TR, NJ

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by XxZombiePikachu View Post
Yes that's normal use I usually have around 300-400 mb ram and another note that everyone makes unused ram is useless ram

Sent from my LG-D800 using xda app-developers app
What good is the RAM if you don't use it?
LG G2 VS980
TWRP
XDABBEB G2
 
jcnbama
Old
#5  
jcnbama's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 155
Posts: 860
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Huntsville
Quote:
Originally Posted by XxZombiePikachu View Post
Yes that's normal use I usually have around 300-400 mb ram and another note that everyone makes unused ram is useless ram

Sent from my LG-D800 using xda app-developers app
I guess my confusion is what happens if I've got 400 mb of ram and I go to play GTA San Andreas... Lol. Will it pull it off? Guess I'll just have to wait and see.

Sent from my LG-D801 using xda app-developers app
If I share something helpful with you along the way, then hit the THANKS button. I am not a developer so that's all I got.

For I can do everything through Christ, who gives me strength. Philippians 4:13
 
Hung0702
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 170
Posts: 466
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by XxZombiePikachu View Post
Yes that's normal use I usually have around 300-400 mb ram and another note that everyone makes unused ram is useless ram

Sent from my LG-D800 using xda app-developers app
Yeah, the more RAM used the better. I'm using PA3.99RC2 with a kernel (I forget where I got it; just says d800 custom 5 cm) that doesn't use enough RAM. I always have 700-800MB free. I don't know what sysctl changes I can make to increase RAM use. I hope my phone isn't using a swap on its slow mobile phone NAND .
 
coowkeee
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 116
Join Date: Oct 2013
You can use Greenify which now doesn't require root. You can disable apps/system apps running on background that you don't use.
 
jcnbama
Old
#8  
jcnbama's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 155
Posts: 860
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Huntsville
Quote:
Originally Posted by coowkeee View Post
You can use Greenify which now doesn't require root. You can disable apps/system apps running on background that you don't use.
I have Greenify. But nevertheless I played Riptide GP2 earlier with full graphics. Smooth as butter. Good enough for me. :thumbup:

Sent from my LG-D801 using xda app-developers app
If I share something helpful with you along the way, then hit the THANKS button. I am not a developer so that's all I got.

For I can do everything through Christ, who gives me strength. Philippians 4:13

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA Xposed Tuesday: How to Shut Up Your Phone – XDA Developer TV

So many different applications want to send us notifications that … more

Add Some Power to First Generation Snapdragon CPUs

Some older devices still remain very popular. Phones like theHTC Desire, Sony Ericsson … more

Android M Mentions Spotted in Android Code Review

While we are still waiting for Android L to be officially released, the first mentions of … more

Create a Simple Custom Launcher from Scratch

When you are starting your journey intoany sort of development, it’s never easy at the … more