FORUMS

Samsung Galaxy Alpha (SM-G850) Gets Android 5.0

An Android 5.0 Lollipop update is finally available to download for the Samsung Galaxy … more

Do You Use 4:3 or 16:9 in the Camera App?

Every person has their own method of taking the best photos on their devices, but which aspect … more

LG G4 XDA Forum Opened

LG’s latest & greatest is just a few hours away from launching, and with so many power users that are … more

Android Wear Close to Running on Samsung Gear 2

Android is an OS that can sometimes be ported to run on devices not designed to … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Is this normal RAM usage?

2nd March 2014, 01:09 AM |#1  
jcnbama's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Huntsville
Thanks Meter: 155
 
More
Hello,

I just got my T-Mobile G2 a couple of days ago. I don't have a lot of experience yet but I'm curious if this is the normal RAM usage vs availability. If so do you have any problems running high end games, apps, etc? I am presently on 4.4.2. I have used Titanium Backup to freeze a lot of system apps. This just seems like it could be an issue. I also use Greenify to hibernate some apps as well. Any thoughts on this?

Sent from my LG-D801 using xda app-developers app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1393722428220.jpg
Views:	216
Size:	94.8 KB
ID:	2608512  
 
 
7th March 2014, 01:04 AM |#2  
jcnbama's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Huntsville
Thanks Meter: 155
 
More
I would love to get an expert answer on this. I recently changed it PAC Man Rom and now it appears I have even less available memory. I'm not noticing any lag or anything but it just bugs me. I added up everything cached and running and it totalled like 364mb not even half a gig of ram. This phone has 2GB of ram. So I dunno just seems weird to me. I guess as long as it's not all laggy then that's what matters.


Sent from my LG-D801 using xda app-developers app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1394154244533.jpg
Views:	101
Size:	84.0 KB
ID:	2617507  
7th March 2014, 01:20 AM |#3  
XxZombiePikachu's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,539
 
More
Yes that's normal use I usually have around 300-400 mb ram and another note that everyone makes unused ram is useless ram

Sent from my LG-D800 using xda app-developers app
7th March 2014, 01:48 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Flag TR, NJ
Thanks Meter: 42
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by XxZombiePikachu

Yes that's normal use I usually have around 300-400 mb ram and another note that everyone makes unused ram is useless ram

Sent from my LG-D800 using xda app-developers app

What good is the RAM if you don't use it?
7th March 2014, 02:03 AM |#5  
jcnbama's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Huntsville
Thanks Meter: 155
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by XxZombiePikachu

Yes that's normal use I usually have around 300-400 mb ram and another note that everyone makes unused ram is useless ram

Sent from my LG-D800 using xda app-developers app

I guess my confusion is what happens if I've got 400 mb of ram and I go to play GTA San Andreas... Lol. Will it pull it off? Guess I'll just have to wait and see.

Sent from my LG-D801 using xda app-developers app
7th March 2014, 02:04 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 173
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by XxZombiePikachu

Yes that's normal use I usually have around 300-400 mb ram and another note that everyone makes unused ram is useless ram

Sent from my LG-D800 using xda app-developers app

Yeah, the more RAM used the better. I'm using PA3.99RC2 with a kernel (I forget where I got it; just says d800 custom 5 cm) that doesn't use enough RAM. I always have 700-800MB free. I don't know what sysctl changes I can make to increase RAM use. I hope my phone isn't using a swap on its slow mobile phone NAND .
7th March 2014, 07:41 AM |#7  
coowkeee's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Philippines
Thanks Meter: 23
 
Donate to Me
More
You can use Greenify which now doesn't require root. You can disable apps/system apps running on background that you don't use.
7th March 2014, 08:13 AM |#8  
jcnbama's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Huntsville
Thanks Meter: 155
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by coowkeee

You can use Greenify which now doesn't require root. You can disable apps/system apps running on background that you don't use.

I have Greenify. But nevertheless I played Riptide GP2 earlier with full graphics. Smooth as butter. Good enough for me. :thumbup:

Sent from my LG-D801 using xda app-developers app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes