Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,778,438 Members 43,046 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Galaxy S2 Soft Bricked after root....

Tip us?
 
addamT989
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jun 2013
Default [Q] Galaxy S2 Soft Bricked after root....

Hi everyone!! New here, but not new to Forums in general. I searched around and couldn't find my exact issue, so I figured Id start a new thread. This is gonna be kinda long, but I wanna give as many details as I can to keep things accurate.

My wife and I both have the Galaxy S2 T989 (T-Mobile). Both purchased like new off eBay. When I got hers a couple months ago, as soon as I got it I factory reset and wiped the caches, upgraded to JB via Kies, and then turned right around and rooted it via Odin using the instructions found on galaxys2root.com. Everything went flawless, took me less than a half an hour total for everything. I got mine a couple months later and did the exact same process as soon as I got it in the mail. However after rooting on Odin and getting the green pass just like hers, it got stuck in a boot loop when it rebooted. It would go as far as the "galaxy S2" splash screen, and sometimes past that to where the Android takes off, then reboot, or freeze. It then became unresponsive to any button pushes and I had to pull the battery to get it to shut off (The battery is a new OEM Samsung battery incidentally). I ultimately had to unroot, re-install ICS and re-upgrade back to JB via Kies again to get out of the loop. I did this whole process 3 times to make sure it wasnt something I did. So Im still running unrooted with JB on it now.

The only thing I noted that was kinda odd was that when I open Rom Manager in my current non rooted state, it shows that I already have CWM and TWRP installed on it. Even though when I go to recovery mode it's the standard OEM Samsung menu. I never installed TWRP, and CWM was only on it for a bit when I was in the boot loop. Could this be my issue? Are they both still somewhere on my phone interfering with each other and I can only see them via ROM manager?

Sorry for such a long first post, and thanks in advance!
 
borakx
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 59
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Phnom Penh
Quote:
Originally Posted by addamT989 View Post
Hi everyone!! New here, but not new to Forums in general. I searched around and couldn't find my exact issue, so I figured Id start a new thread. This is gonna be kinda long, but I wanna give as many details as I can to keep things accurate.

My wife and I both have the Galaxy S2 T989 (T-Mobile). Both purchased like new off eBay. When I got hers a couple months ago, as soon as I got it I factory reset and wiped the caches, upgraded to JB via Kies, and then turned right around and rooted it via Odin using the instructions found on galaxys2root.com. Everything went flawless, took me less than a half an hour total for everything. I got mine a couple months later and did the exact same process as soon as I got it in the mail. However after rooting on Odin and getting the green pass just like hers, it got stuck in a boot loop when it rebooted. It would go as far as the "galaxy S2" splash screen, and sometimes past that to where the Android takes off, then reboot, or freeze. It then became unresponsive to any button pushes and I had to pull the battery to get it to shut off (The battery is a new OEM Samsung battery incidentally). I ultimately had to unroot, re-install ICS and re-upgrade back to JB via Kies again to get out of the loop. I did this whole process 3 times to make sure it wasnt something I did. So Im still running unrooted with JB on it now.

The only thing I noted that was kinda odd was that when I open Rom Manager in my current non rooted state, it shows that I already have CWM and TWRP installed on it. Even though when I go to recovery mode it's the standard OEM Samsung menu. I never installed TWRP, and CWM was only on it for a bit when I was in the boot loop. Could this be my issue? Are they both still somewhere on my phone interfering with each other and I can only see them via ROM manager?

Sorry for such a long first post, and thanks in advance!
Try flash a stock firmware by using flashtool, it will work 100%
The Following User Says Thank You to borakx For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
pierm
Old
#3  
pierm's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 63
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Roma
Default revernwe therefore

Quote:
Originally Posted by addamT989 View Post
Hi everyone!! New here, but not new to Forums in general. I searched around and couldn't find my exact issue, so I figured Id start a new thread. This is gonna be kinda long, but I wanna give as many details as I can to keep things accurate.

My wife and I both have the Galaxy S2 T989 (T-Mobile). Both purchased like new off eBay. When I got hers a couple months ago, as soon as I got it I factory reset and wiped the caches, upgraded to JB via Kies, and then turned right around and rooted it via Odin using the instructions found on galaxys2root.com. Everything went flawless, took me less than a half an hour total for everything. I got mine a couple months later and did the exact same process as soon as I got it in the mail. However after rooting on Odin and getting the green pass just like hers, it got stuck in a boot loop when it rebooted. It would go as far as the "galaxy S2" splash screen, and sometimes past that to where the Android takes off, then reboot, or freeze. It then became unresponsive to any button pushes and I had to pull the battery to get it to shut off (The battery is a new OEM Samsung battery incidentally). I ultimately had to unroot, re-install ICS and re-upgrade back to JB via Kies again to get out of the loop. I did this whole process 3 times to make sure it wasnt something I did. So Im still running unrooted with JB on it now.

The only thing I noted that was kinda odd was that when I open Rom Manager in my current non rooted state, it shows that I already have CWM and TWRP installed on it. Even though when I go to recovery mode it's the standard OEM Samsung menu. I never installed TWRP, and CWM was only on it for a bit when I was in the boot loop. Could this be my issue? Are they both still somewhere on my phone interfering with each other and I can only see them via ROM manager?

Sorry for such a long first post, and thanks in advance!
hi,
can 'be that your device has some residual old. Do as you have advised. install a stock rom and firmware, so it becomes a new cell phone. After odin starts TWRP (much better) and root.
The Following User Says Thank You to pierm For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Eternalty
Old
#4  
Eternalty's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 654
Posts: 1,757
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Los Angeles, California
I would flash a complete bone stock Rom using Odin and start over. Also rom manager was highly discouraged on the AT&T version of the s2 so I don't know what the stance is on T-Mobile's version

Sent from my CLEAN Note ll
 
addamT989
Old
(Last edited by addamT989; 19th June 2013 at 02:41 PM.)
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by brandonarev View Post
I would flash a complete bone stock Rom using Odin and start over. Also rom manager was highly discouraged on the AT&T version of the s2 so I don't know what the stance is on T-Mobile's version

Sent from my CLEAN Note ll
Thanks for the advice! Should i flash it back to ICS then try to root again via Odin before i upgrade back to JB? I'm guessing there's something that isn't getting wiped. Since i can run CWM and Root with Odin without a hitch. it's the initial reboot after all that is done that I go into the boot loop.
 
addamT989
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jun 2013
Default tainiun rioters

Quote:
Originally Posted by pierm View Post
hi,
can 'be that your device has some residual old. Do as you have advised. install a stock rom and firmware, so it becomes a new cell phone. After odin starts TWRP (much better) and root.
Sorry for my ignorrance, what exactly is TWRP, and is it now on there because i used Odin and it installed it automaticly? And do i want to use this vice CWM?
 
addamT989
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jun 2013
One more question...before i try all this, can i backup everything on Kies just like i would be able to with CWM and reinstall if my root fails again? I've only used Kies for firmware upgrade, never to reinstall a backed up copy of my phone.

Thanks!
 
pierm
Old
#8  
pierm's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 63
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Roma
Quote:
Originally Posted by addamT989 View Post
Sorry for my ignorrance, what exactly is TWRP, and is it now on there because i used Odin and it installed it automaticly? And do i want to use this vice CWM?
Quote:
Originally Posted by addamT989 View Post
One more question...before i try all this, can i backup everything on Kies just like i would be able to with CWM and reinstall if my root fails again? I've only used Kies for firmware upgrade, never to reinstall a backed up copy of my phone.

Thanks!
Hi

TWRP and the 'one touch recovery, better than CWM.
The backup kies can not recover from CWM
steps:
install odin, after recovery, nandroid backup, ROM, and root.
hi

S+ i9001 DarkCM + gapps Team ADC
TWRP_2.6.3.0_ariesve - Band/DDKP0
Samsung Tab 2.10+3G slimbean
 
greenguggu
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 63
Join Date: Jul 2012
Flash the stock firmware using odin!!..it will work!

Sent from my GT-N7100 using xda premium
 
migimantas
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 20
Join Date: Oct 2013
Question freezes then booted

Hello I have this problem with my galaxy s2 i9100. After reboot the phone wasn't booting something like "boot loop" so I re flashed the firmware and now the phone boots up but after the boot it freezes immediately. So I decided to install clock work mod recovery and install cyanogen mode 11 with cyanogen mode the phone boots up and are able to be used again until the screen goes to sleep mode or the power button is pressed then the screen goes black and doesn't turn on after long pressing the power button it reboots. So I don't know what else to do I have tried kernels, operating systems re flashing reseting and nothing helps. No need to tel me to do resettings. Also my galaxy s2 i9100 chip has insane chip bug but I don't know if it has to do something with my problem.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes