FORUMS

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

Sunday Debate: How Can We Get a No-Compromise Phone?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Compromises. Come with your opinions and … more

Working rooted stock German Kitkat rom for D802

240 posts
Thanks Meter: 314
 
By Kuoi, Senior Member on 2nd March 2014, 05:32 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
After many hours work I've managed to get a rooted Kitkat on my phone.
I'm using an international D802 16GB version of the phone .
I live in Belgium and i used the german vodafone firmware to get all work done , but I suppose this firmware will work fine in other countries too ?
Everything is working fine , and I have a rooted Kitkat rom (vodafone).

Quote:

NO touch screen issues here !
Xposed NOT working , because xposed needs to update for the official KK roms

----------------
If you updated to Kitkat , then follow all steps.
If you are on a rooted JB , you can start at step 4


1 : Flash the JB firmware from vodafone http://lg-phone-firmware.com/tool.php?idclick=8809 to get back to JB rom (needed to get root and recovery)
Quote:

If you have NO SIM icon , just proceed with the steps , you will get your sim connection back on the KK rom

It seems to be confirmed that you can start with ANY rom as far as you have custom recovery installed , so start with a 4.2 rom is good to go !

2 : Install root with ioroot22 : http://bit.ly/1nQXY0U

3 : Install recovery (I always use TWRP 2.6.3.3) with this nice tool (you can choose phone version and then choose between TWRP or CWM recovery versions)
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2633941

4 : Download and copy the following zip to your phone storage (sdcard)

16GB version : D802KK16GB

32GB version : D802KK32GB

5 : Download http://download.chainfire.eu/382/Sup...erSU-v1.93.zip and copy it to your phone storage (sdcard)

6 : Reboot to recovery

7 : Wipe Dalvik cache , System , Data and cache -- Very important step !

8 : Install D802KK....zip you downloaded in step 4

9 : Wipe Data again

10 : Install UPDATE-SuperSU-v1.93.zip

11 : Reboot

Now you have a rooted Kitkat Stock rom (Vodafone Germany) , enjoy it !!!
Last edited by Kuoi; 4th March 2014 at 03:50 PM.
The Following 35 Users Say Thank You to Kuoi For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
2nd March 2014, 05:41 PM |#2  
bobsie41's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hornsea
Thanks Meter: 320
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kuoi

After many hours work I've managed to get a rooted Kitkat on my phone.
I'm using an international D802 16GB version of the phone .
I live in Belgium and i used the german vodafone firmware to get all work done , but I suppose this firmware will work fine in other countries too ?
Everything is working fine , and I have a rooted Kitkat rom (vodafone).
----------------
If you updated to Kitkat , then follow all steps.
If you are on a rooted JB , you can start at step 4


1 : Flash the JB firmware from vodafone http://lg-phone-firmware.com/tool.php?idclick=8809 to get back to JB rom (needed to get root and recovery)

2 : Install root with ioroot22 : http://bit.ly/1nQXY0U

3 : Install recovery (I always use TWRP 2.6.3.3) with this nice tool (you can choose phone version and then choose between TWRP or CWM recovery versions)
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2633941

4 : Download http://www.seej.be/D802KKROMrooted.zip and copy it to your phone storage (sdcard)

5 : Download http://download.chainfire.eu/382/Sup...erSU-v1.93.zip and copy it to your phone storage (sdcard)

6 : Reboot to recovery

7 : Wipe Dalvik cache , System , Data and cache -- Very important step !

8 : Install D802KKROMrooted.zip

9 : Wipe Data again

10 : Install UPDATE-SuperSU-v1.93.zip

11 : Reboot

Now you have a rooted Kitkat Stock rom (Vodafone Germany) , enjoy it !!!

Unless you still have a custom recovery, this is easily achievable by rooting a stock jellybean rom then taking an ota update to kitkat whilst keeping root via a setting in the superSU app. It is a working custom recovery which cannot be achieved so far and also the ability to root a stock kitkat rom.
I am assuming that you don't have a custom recovery on your rom of course??
The Following User Says Thank You to bobsie41 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd March 2014, 05:47 PM |#3  
Hid3rs's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 665
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobsie41

Unless you still have a custom recovery, this is easily achievable by rooting a stock jellybean rom then taking an ota update to kitkat whilst keeping root via a setting in the superSU app. It is a working custom recovery which cannot be achieved so far and also the ability to root a stock kitkat rom.
I am assuming that you don't have a custom recovery on your rom of course??

You're right, but many of us haven't recieved the OTA update yet. The hell, I've never actually got any OTA update, so this is the only method to have a rooted KitKat for me. And probably for others, too.

Of course, custom recovery will be gone.
2nd March 2014, 05:49 PM |#4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 314
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobsie41

Unless you still have a custom recovery, this is easily achievable by rooting a stock jellybean rom then taking an ota update to kitkat whilst keeping root via a setting in the superSU app. It is a working custom recovery which cannot be achieved so far and also the ability to root a stock kitkat rom.
I am assuming that you don't have a custom recovery on your rom of course??

As we all know you will have NO recovery , but it will be ROOTED !

And about the OTA , mine was not working , and for the people who still have to wait for their update it could be a nice solution .

BTW : I'm very happy with the kitkat update , because my phone is working much faster and smoother then on JB
And at this moment I only need root and no recovery. I needed the root to use some nice apps in example to remove bloat
Last edited by Kuoi; 2nd March 2014 at 05:53 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Kuoi For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd March 2014, 06:13 PM |#5  
bobsie41's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hornsea
Thanks Meter: 320
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kuoi

As we all know you will have NO recovery , but it will be ROOTED !

And about the OTA , mine was not working , and for the people who still have to wait for their update it could be a nice solution .

BTW : I'm very happy with the kitkat update , because my phone is working much faster and smoother then on JB
And at this moment I only need root and no recovery. I needed the root to use some nice apps in example to remove bloat

Appologies, I wasn't trying to dis your efforts and yes it will be handy until people get the update for their own devices.
2nd March 2014, 06:28 PM |#6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 314
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobsie41

Appologies, I wasn't trying to dis your efforts and yes it will be handy until people get the update for their own devices.

Apologies accepted !

No , realy , what you said was true ...
but this way people who didn't get their ota or update can enjoy a rooted stock kitkat rom and a much faster phone too
We where ALL waiting for this you know
2nd March 2014, 09:28 PM |#7  
awes0me1's Avatar
Member
Hull
Thanks Meter: 45
 
More
Many tried similar metherd and had touch screen problems... Is this fixed here?

Sent from my LG-D802 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
2nd March 2014, 10:26 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 48
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by awes0me1

Many tried similar metherd and had touch screen problems... Is this fixed here?

Sent from my LG-D802 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Yes, for me it is! Thanks OP, had flashed many other rooted kitkat roms, but this is the first one that works without the touch screen bug.
2nd March 2014, 10:33 PM |#9  
muhamet's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Skopje
Thanks Meter: 200
 
More
Pleas Mega link

Sent from my LG-D802 using xda app-developers app
2nd March 2014, 10:35 PM |#10  
fhasovic's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sarajevo
Thanks Meter: 477
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3rdeyer

Yes, for me it is! Thanks OP, had flashed many other rooted kitkat roms, but this is the first one that works without the touch screen bug.

16Gb or 32Gb?
2nd March 2014, 10:44 PM |#11  
muhamet's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Skopje
Thanks Meter: 200
 
More
16gig

Sent from my LG-D802 using xda app-developers app

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
kitkat, root, vodafone
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes