Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Stop Your Screen From Turning Off with KeepItOn

We all know the feeling of reading a news article orrather longdocument, when our screen … more

The XDA LG QPair Developer Challenge Voting Has Begun!

It seems like it was just yesterday that weannounced that we had paired up with LGto … more

Major Update for the Sony Smartwatch 2 Brings DND and More

With the wearables landscape now dominated by Android Wear and Pebble, its … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

a useful little trick...

OP redheadplantguy

3rd March 2014, 12:26 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Louisville KY
Thanks Meter: 37
 
313 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
hello everyone. just wanted to share a little trick i figured out.
occasionally i run short on bills, and broadband gets cut off.
lovely thing i found out how to do is, feed my mobile data into my home router.
i do this through laptop. pretty simple.
1: tether phone to computer
2: go into windows network settings.
3: click change adapter settings.
4: highlite your tether and your lan both. hold ctrl and click each of them.
5: right click and "Bridge Connection"
6: plug a lan cable from computer ethernet into line IN on router.
7: Wifi through whole house WITH ports for wired connections.
8: DANCE AND GIGGLE FOR SCREWING THE BIG CORPORATIONS!

quite useful if you have the unlimited lte like i do. i've used over 70 gb in a month before running everything.

if you like this, click thanks please.
The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to redheadplantguy For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd March 2014, 03:06 AM   |  #2  
elesbb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4,468
 
6,922 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by redheadplantguy

hello everyone. just wanted to share a little trick i figured out.
occasionally i run short on bills, and broadband gets cut off.
lovely thing i found out how to do is, feed my mobile data into my home router.
i do this through laptop. pretty simple.
1: tether phone to computer
2: go into windows network settings.
3: click change adapter settings.
4: highlite your tether and your lan both. hold ctrl and click each of them.
5: right click and "Bridge Connection"
6: plug a lan cable from computer ethernet into line IN on router.
7: Wifi through whole house WITH ports for wired connections.
8: DANCE AND GIGGLE FOR SCREWING THE BIG CORPORATIONS!

quite useful if you have the unlimited lte like i do. i've used over 70 gb in a month before running everything.

if you like this, click thanks please.

Bridge networking has been popular for awhile

Its how i use both my Tether speeds AND my dad's home WiFi 1MB per second download.
3rd March 2014, 03:28 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Louisville KY
Thanks Meter: 37
 
313 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Cool
Quote:
Originally Posted by elesbb

Bridge networking has been popular for awhile

Its how i use both my Tether speeds AND my dad's home WiFi 1MB per second download.

of course it has. but there are always people who haven't heard about it.
i've never seen anything in here about it and it's incredibly useful with T Mo's unlimited 4g.
the lovely thing about the web is we all share. even reshare, to help fellow peeps.

of course, there are also drawbacks too.
for instance, people can be snippy and snide to amuse themselves.
but hey. take the good and the bad, right?
6th March 2014, 03:58 AM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
67 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Thanks for this! I've heard of bridging, but never understood/never bothered to find out more about it. This could be useful.
6th March 2014, 03:54 PM   |  #5  
Kem-El's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 36
 
89 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Do they throttle your data speed? (Does it show up as mobile hotspot usage?) With my cable internet, I stream Netflix and Hulu and use about 85-100gb a month. I'd like to get rid of cable if I could just upgrade to the unlimited data plan and use that instead.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
6th March 2014, 06:49 PM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
47 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
Is there a way to just bridge my phone to the pc? The router is on the opposite side of the house from my computer.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using xda app-developers app
12th March 2014, 08:52 PM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Flag Louisville KY
Thanks Meter: 37
 
313 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kem-El

Do they throttle your data speed? (Does it show up as mobile hotspot usage?) With my cable internet, I stream Netflix and Hulu and use about 85-100gb a month. I'd like to get rid of cable if I could just upgrade to the unlimited data plan and use that instead.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

I have the unlimited 4g. Depending on what Rom and such you run, very easy to tether without them noticing.
12th March 2014, 08:54 PM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Flag Louisville KY
Thanks Meter: 37
 
313 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mnazary

Is there a way to just bridge my phone to the pc? The router is on the opposite side of the house from my computer.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using xda app-developers app

There are some tutorials on how to use Windows laptop as a WiFi router on Google.you can usb tether, perhaps. I bridge phone to router to get much greater distance than phone alone can manage.
14th March 2014, 10:32 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
125 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
I thought you had limitations on how much tethering data you could have with the unlimited plan?
23rd March 2014, 09:00 AM   |  #10  
OP Senior Member
Flag Louisville KY
Thanks Meter: 37
 
313 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregorina

I thought you had limitations on how much tethering data you could have with the unlimited plan?

there are several work arounds and custom roms that will not show up to t-mo. i've been working around their tethering block for years now on all my different phones

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes