FORUMS

What Do You Think About Fingerprint Scanners?

More and more phones are featuring fingerprint scanners, and with many promising … more

What’s Next for Samsung and Its Flagships?

If we were to say that the Galaxy S6 was a leap of faith made by Samsung, we … more

The Ultimate Showcase of dBrand Skins

In the search for ways to protect, accessorize, and personalize; a user has many options. One … more

Huawei’s Rapid Rise to Third Place in the Smartphone Race

Huawei has quickly grown to become one of the world’s biggest … more

[Q] HELP with updating HTC One to 4.4...

30 posts
Thanks Meter: 3
 
By arbank94, Member on 2nd March 2014, 11:28 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hello, I have a rooted international HTC One currently running 4.3 Android with Sense 5.0. I am trying to perform an OTA system update that I have received... I downloaded the new 4.4 Android (1.1 GB) and I have selected "Install Update". But when the phone restarts, it just enters recovery and opens TWRP by itself!
So then I try to flash the downloaded OTA file via TWRP, but that also fails... Does anyone know how I can get 4.4 on my HTC One? Thank you
 
 
2nd March 2014, 11:33 PM |#2  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,189
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by arbank94

Hello, I have a rooted international HTC One currently running 4.3 Android with Sense 5.0. I am trying to perform an OTA system update that I have received... I downloaded the new 4.4 Android (1.1 GB) and I have selected "Install Update". But when the phone restarts, it just enters recovery and opens TWRP by itself!
So then I try to flash the downloaded OTA file via TWRP, but that also fails... Does anyone know how I can get 4.4 on my HTC One? Thank you

You can't apply ota with a custom recovery, you need your stock recovery.
2nd March 2014, 11:33 PM |#3  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Central Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,865
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by arbank94

Hello, I have a rooted international HTC One currently running 4.3 Android with Sense 5.0. I am trying to perform an OTA system update that I have received... I downloaded the new 4.4 Android (1.1 GB) and I have selected "Install Update". But when the phone restarts, it just enters recovery and opens TWRP by itself!
So then I try to flash the downloaded OTA file via TWRP, but that also fails... Does anyone know how I can get 4.4 on my HTC One? Thank you

Depending on whats been done to the phone you can eather flash stock recovery and try the update from their or you have to ruu back to stock and take the update that way.

fastboot getvar all will tell you what stock recovery you need or what ruu to use
3rd March 2014, 02:57 AM |#4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by alray

You can't apply ota with a custom recovery, you need your stock recovery.

So would you recommend getting stock recovery following nkk71's guide in your signature, or should I just flash a 4.4 rom?
3rd March 2014, 09:57 PM |#5  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,189
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by arbank94

So would you recommend getting stock recovery following nkk71's guide in your signature, or should I just flash a 4.4 rom?

Do what cIsA said. Check the output of "fastboot getvar all". Look at your main-ver # and find the corresponding stock recovery. There is a thread in general section with a collection of stock recovery.

You can post the output of getvar here minus imei/sn and we will link you the correct recovery.
3rd March 2014, 10:09 PM |#6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Okay so I ran a fastboot getvar all, and apparently there is no RUU for my device, because it is Latin American with a CID of HTC_332. (I searched almost everywhere)

Now, after flashing a 4.4 rom I downloaded, my HTC device wasn't turning on anymore (it was getting stuck at the HTC boot logo). So I restored from a backup I made in TWRP, and that didn't work either. So now my problem just got 1000x worse because of a mistake I just made now of completely wiping my device and the OS.
So for the moment I'll try to flash a new boot.img, get S-OFF again, and change the CID to 11111111 (as I have read) where I will then download a RUU I can use. I'll let you know what happens.
3rd March 2014, 10:38 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 477
 
More
Whoa there.. No need to flash boot.IMG.

What's you're steps? I think you are about to make it worse

sent from my mobile device
3rd March 2014, 10:48 PM |#8  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Okay well I'm in a tight situation atm.

My phone is completely wiped, with no OS or anything. The only thing I have access to is fastboot, and the TWRP bootloader. Also considering my phone is wiped, I believe I have S-ON as well.
So what is the first step to just get a boot going? (unless I'm not completely screwed that is..)

EDIT- I have successfully flashed Android Revolution to my phone from TWRP by pushing the zip via adb fastboot. Got my phone running again. Step 1 complete.

Step 2 now is to get S-OFF again...
Step 3- Change my CID to 11111111 using the SuperCID method (there is no RUU for my Latin American CID; HTC_332)
Step 4- Use an appropriate RUU to get 4.4 stock after I have changed my CID.

Before I continue with these steps, can anyone confirm with me if I am on the right path?
Last edited by arbank94; 3rd March 2014 at 11:14 PM.
3rd March 2014, 11:34 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 477
 
More
Step 2 - Confirmed.
Step 3 & Step 4 ... What is an appropriate RUU? You have not yet posted a fastboot getvar all output yet. (remove imei)
4th March 2014, 01:04 AM |#10  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,189
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SaHiLzZ

Step 2 - Confirmed.
Step 3 & Step 4 ... What is an appropriate RUU? You have not yet posted a fastboot getvar all output yet. (remove imei)

I had the same cid when I bought mine. Irc, MID was PN0711000 with s.w. X.XX.599.X.

so he could use the 1.29.401.2 ruu on htc1guru but he have to change cid.

---------- Post added at 08:04 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:02 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by arbank94

EDIT- I have successfully flashed Android Revolution to my phone from TWRP by pushing the zip via adb fastboot. Got my phone running again.


Before I continue with these steps, can anyone confirm with me if I am on the right path?


You could just stay with arhd, its a very good rom...
4th March 2014, 03:22 AM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 477
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by alray

You could just stay with arhd, its a very good rom...

Agreed!

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes