Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,810,055 Members 48,462 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Newbie questions on Flashtool

Tip us?
 
viral1991
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 19
Join Date: Jan 2012
Default Newbie questions on Flashtool

Having searched for this and moving through the official flashtool site, there still seems to be some confusion so here are some questions :

1. The rooting procedure for neo V ics locked bootloader instructs to flash a different kernel. So, is this possible without rooting, through flashtool?

2. Can we downgrade to stock gb from stock ics without rooting?

3. All flashtool instructions are in the X10 forums, which says that the instructions should be fine with the Neo too. So, is it okay with the Neo V too?

Regards,

Viral
 
Madfysh
Old
#2  
Madfysh's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,495
Posts: 2,398
Join Date: Sep 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
1. Yes,
2. Yes, but don't go below Android 2.3.3 or even 2.3.4, (only for Neo, since Neo V, is not that old)
3. Yes.

New to XDA? | Still interested in XDA? | Before you start
You need help OR wanna give feedback?
There's no stupid questions,only stupid answers,BUT,asking question that has already been answered IS stupid!
BEFORE you try anything with your phone,READ,after that,READ a bit MORE.
Always read first post,WITH UNDERSTANDING?
Stock FTF's
The Following User Says Thank You to Madfysh For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
viral1991
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 19
Join Date: Jan 2012
Thanks a lot. So, in general, flashing stock ROMs & kernels doesn't require root. while even flashing hybrid ROMs requires root, right?

Also, have long should a typical flashing procedure take? If by chance, the USB gets disconnected mid-way & the phone gets bricked, will it be recoverable?

Thanks.
 
Madfysh
Old
#4  
Madfysh's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,495
Posts: 2,398
Join Date: Sep 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by viral1991 View Post
So, in general, flashing stock ROMs & kernels doesn't require root.
Correct.


Quote:
Originally Posted by viral1991 View Post
while even flashing hybrid ROMs requires root, right?
Correct, actually it requires CWM recovery, which you can't install without root, so


Quote:
Originally Posted by viral1991 View Post
Also, have long should a typical flashing procedure take? If by chance, the USB gets disconnected mid-way & the phone gets bricked, will it be recoverable?
flashing is done in 2,3 minutes.
Please make sure that USB is in safe position. Most of the problems of failed flash can be solved by flashing it again, while some can be solved by paying someone to fix it with SETool box.
I didn't hear someone bricked it so much that not even setool box can't fix it.

anw, try not to disconnect usb
Good luck.

New to XDA? | Still interested in XDA? | Before you start
You need help OR wanna give feedback?
There's no stupid questions,only stupid answers,BUT,asking question that has already been answered IS stupid!
BEFORE you try anything with your phone,READ,after that,READ a bit MORE.
Always read first post,WITH UNDERSTANDING?
Stock FTF's
The Following User Says Thank You to Madfysh For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
lenovoOwner
Old
(Last edited by lenovoOwner; 5th March 2014 at 08:00 PM.) Reason: Wrong place to ask this question.
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 10
Join Date: Nov 2013
Default Selection in the Smart Phone Flash Toll

Placed this question in the Android Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting > [Ask Any Question][Newbie Friendly]

When I make the Scatter-loading I get a selection of files. Witch files are I allowed to exclude/ or do I have to include?
  • Preloader
  • MBR
  • EBR1
  • UBOOT
  • BOOTIMG
  • RECOVERY
  • SEC_RO
  • LOGO
  • EBR2
  • ANDROID
  • CHACKE
  • USRDATA
  • FAT

I wanted to flash another recovery (From another ROM for this phone (Had a Chinese boot-loader))
with MobileUncle MKT Tools.
When I like to flash another recovery do I have to flash the preloder too? or why I ended up in a bootloop?
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Lock Apps and Functions Easily with Droid Protector

Access and security are some of the key issues facingmobile technology. Whether … more

ARChon Lets You Run Android Apps in Google Chrome Browser

Not too long ago, Google added the ability torun select Android applications on … more

Flyme OS Finds Its Way to the Google Nexus 5

Flyme OS is a heavily modified Android variantdeveloped by the Meizu team for their MX … more

MultiROM Makes Its Way to the LG G2

Over the last few weeks, we’ve seen quite a fewflagship (and former flagship) devicesget to … more