Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,770,471 Members 40,298 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Unlocked T999 t-mobile s3 on 4.1.2 jb tethering problem

Tip us?
 
The_Dude1
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Feb 2013
Unhappy [Q] Unlocked T999 t-mobile s3 on 4.1.2 jb tethering problem

Hello all, I just recently purchased a Unlocked T-mobile galaxy s3 that im currently using on straight talk. I have it rooted on the 4.1.2 jb version and cant find anything to help me get tethering working whatsoever. Any insight on what I can do to resolve this would be very much appreciated as im about to tear my hair out! Thanks
 
Perseus71
Old
#2  
Perseus71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3639
Posts: 6,051
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Atlantis

 
DONATE TO ME
Try the tether apps from play store. If they can't help then see if your straighttalk plan prohibits you from tethering. As a last resort, you can switch to a AOSP Rom. All of these roms do have built in Tether that works the first time.

I don't do tether and don't use stock Rom, so can't help that well.
 
Cobra281
Old
#3  
Cobra281's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 272
Join Date: Mar 2009
some time ago, i used an app called easytether. check it out.
T-Mobile SGS 3 {SGH-T999}
 
The_Dude1
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Feb 2013
Default easy tether and wifi tether

I've tried both easy tether and wifi tether, both to no avail, I can connect my computer to both but I don't receive data. Don't have this problem with my old galaxy s blaze. Even tried pdanet, same issue, does upload but no download for any of these. IM completely stumped at this point.
 
Cobra281
Old
#5  
Cobra281's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 272
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Dude1 View Post
I've tried both easy tether and wifi tether, both to no avail, I can connect my computer to both but I don't receive data. Don't have this problem with my old galaxy s blaze. Even tried pdanet, same issue, does upload but no download for any of these. IM completely stumped at this point.
have you tried using a different computer, just to eliminate it being a windows\mac issue?
T-Mobile SGS 3 {SGH-T999}
 
The_Dude1
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Feb 2013
Default computers

I have tried a different computer, same thing.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes