Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,305 Members 42,455 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] PLZ help tmobile s3 on straightalk (t-mobile sim)

Tip us?
 
raul18000
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Mar 2013
Unhappy [Q] PLZ help tmobile s3 on straightalk (t-mobile sim)

Good day!!! well this problem has been driving me crazy for the past 6-7 hours. i bought an unlocked tmobile s3 and i'm trying to get data(4g) on this phone with straight talk. calling and texting work fine but data is a no go.

I have litterally tried over 10 diferent apn combinations found online, provided by stratight talk rep and this website and none have worked. with most of them i get the small 4g label to light up next to my signal strenghth implying that my phone is connected to data, but when ever i try looking for somenthing with the browser or the playstore it says i have no internet connection or it redirects me to a website

here are some of the apn combinations i've tried:

NAME:STRAIGHT_TALK
APN:wap.tracfone
PORT:8080
MMS_APN:wap.tracfone
MMSC: ttp://mms.tracfone.com (H at the beggining)

NAME:STRAIGHT TALK
APN:wap.tracfone
PORT:8080
MMS Proxy: 216.155.165.40
MMSC: blank

NAME:STRAIGHT TALK
APN:wap.tracfone
Proxy: 216.155.165.40
PORT:8080
MMS Proxy: 216.155.165.40
MMSC: blank

I'm starting to think that the permanent APN settings for tmobile, which i can't remove, are maybe causing conflict with straightalk's apn settings despite the fact my phone stays on straightalk apn settings.

please someone help me, i'm about to smash the phone and move on.
 
serio22
Old
#2  
serio22's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 625
Posts: 1,948
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Houston
Try:
Name: StraightTalk T-Mobile
APN: wap.tracfone
Port: 8080
MMSC: http://mms.tracfone.com
MCC: 310
MNC: 260
APN type: default,supl, mms
APN protocol: IPv4
APN roaming protocol: IPv4

No idea if it will work, I just took it from one of the APNS my ROM has

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
 
raul18000
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by serio22 View Post
Try:
Name: StraightTalk T-Mobile
APN: wap.tracfone
Port: 8080
MMSC: ttp://mms.tracfone.com
MCC: 310
MNC: 260
APN type: default,supl, mms
APN protocol: IPv4
APN roaming protocol: IPv4

No idea if it will work, I just took it from one of the APNS my ROM has

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
thanks for the reply!!!! but unfortunately no luck. it says its on edge and doesn't load up any webpages. says the phone is offline.
 
Perseus71
Old
#4  
Perseus71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3398
Posts: 5,712
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Atlantis

 
DONATE TO ME
Make sure that APN is actually set as default.
 
raul18000
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perseus71 View Post
Make sure that APN is actually set as default.
you do this by making sure the green dot, the straightalk apn is selected correct? if so it is and still not working.
 
Perseus71
Old
#6  
Perseus71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3398
Posts: 5,712
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Atlantis

 
DONATE TO ME
I assume you are able to make and receive calls just fine. Silly question but I assume, your Straight Talk account is all set for data and what not ?

EDIT - What baseband do you have right now ?
 
raul18000
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perseus71 View Post
I assume you are able to make and receive calls just fine. Silly question but I assume, your Straight Talk account is all set for data and what not ?

EDIT - What baseband do you have right now ?
yep i'm able to receive and make calls just fine and data is also configured. my baseband is 800/1900 i believe...
 
Perseus71
Old
#8  
Perseus71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3398
Posts: 5,712
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Atlantis

 
DONATE TO ME
Baseband is not the operating frequency. Its the text you see when you go to Settings > About>Baseband. Please provide that value

Have you confirmed with Straight talk that your account is configured correctly for data and the sim is a newer sim ? Also try the sim in some other phone to see if you get data there.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Mod Lets You Have Stereo Speakers on Your Sony Xperia Z1 (Sort Of)

The stereo speakers onthe Sony Xperia Z2areprobably a relatively large … more

Give Your Screen Some Color with HexaTime Live Wallpaper

We don’t often cover very many live wallpapers here on the XDA Portal. You may … more

Android Wear App Review: Command Google Now with Commandr – XDA Developer TV

OK Google. Make Me a sandwich. How many times have you … more

Play Your Hits and Learn the Lyrics with NextGen Music Player

There are plenty of music players for Android available in Play Store. They … more