Consolidated GApps Central

Following the retirement of Paranoid Android GApps Provider TKruzze and subsequent deletion of … more

Samsung Galaxy S4 I9505 Receives CyanogenMod 12.1

Released in 2013, the Samsung Galaxy S4 I9505 is the quad-core Snapdragon … more

Sunday Debate: Corporate Cyanogen Good for Android?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Cyanogen Inc. Come with your opinions and feel … more

AOSP Lollipop 5.1.0 for LG Optimus 4X HD

One of the main rivals of the legendary Samsung Galaxy SIII, the LG Optimus 4X HD has received … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Will restoring stock firmware alo restore ESN?

4th March 2014, 12:05 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
68 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Phone is not rooted, and ESN is zeroed out. Would flashing stock firmware restore the ESN to factory? (Sprint)
Last edited by juryrigger; 4th March 2014 at 12:41 AM.
4th March 2014, 12:40 AM   |  #2  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
68 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
anyone? please? note that im not talking about IMEI or MEID, those seem to be fine. its just the ESN thats zeroed out.
4th March 2014, 01:00 AM   |  #3  
gunnyman's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Greenville SC
Thanks Meter: 2,677
 
7,893 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Donate to Me
More
Nope. You're stuck
4th March 2014, 03:31 AM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
68 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by gunnyman

Nope. You're stuck

damn, are you 100% positive?
4th March 2014, 12:15 PM   |  #5  
gunnyman's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Greenville SC
Thanks Meter: 2,677
 
7,893 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by juryrigger

damn, are you 100% positive?

Yes. The only way to repair that I know of is to restore your backed up ESN.

Since you have imei does the phone work? Or does it need ESN for data and phone calls?
4th March 2014, 02:26 PM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
68 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by gunnyman

Yes. The only way to repair that I know of is to restore your backed up ESN.

Since you have imei does the phone work? Or does it need ESN for data and phone calls?

its not activated yet
4th March 2014, 02:31 PM   |  #7  
gunnyman's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Greenville SC
Thanks Meter: 2,677
 
7,893 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by juryrigger

its not activated yet

So when you used Freegee you didn't back up your efs?
4th March 2014, 03:41 PM   |  #8  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
68 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by gunnyman

So when you used Freegee you didn't back up your efs?

someone else did the rooting, it got botched.
4th March 2014, 07:32 PM   |  #9  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
68 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by gunnyman

Yes. The only way to repair that I know of is to restore your backed up ESN.

Since you have imei does the phone work? Or does it need ESN for data and phone calls?


a bit confused as to why you say you are 100% sure. its my understanding that ESN can be calculated from MEID/IMEI. If thats the case, wouldnt it just be a matter of figuring out what it is, and gettng it onto the phone?
4th March 2014, 07:54 PM   |  #10  
gunnyman's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Greenville SC
Thanks Meter: 2,677
 
7,893 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by juryrigger

a bit confused as to why you say you are 100% sure. its my understanding that ESN can be calculated from MEID/IMEI. If thats the case, wouldnt it just be a matter of figuring out what it is, and gettng it onto the phone?

which can't be done as far as I know. Happy to admit it if I am wrong.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes