Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Question [Q] Duplicate Folders in Stock Gallery

OP scmlee

4th December 2013, 10:50 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2006
I'm using a Bell I317M and recently flashed the official 4.3 update. I have noticed that I see duplicate entries in the gallery and have traced it down to the fact that I have two paths mapped to the SD card: /storage/extSdCard and /mnt/extSdCard

I don't recall this happening prior to the update. I believe it's related to a new way of referencing the external SD cards but is there a way to fix this so that the stock gallery app doesn't think they are completely different locations and show duplicates?

Actually, this is not only restricted to the stock gallery app. I have the stock android gallery app and it's doing the same thing!
5th December 2013, 05:38 PM   |  #2  
gregsarg's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag B.F.E.
Thanks Meter: 3,720
 
4,388 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Are you using more than one gallery ??
Or more than one camera app?

Both will create and place duplicates...

Just a thought.... g

Sent from my GT-N7105 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
5th December 2013, 09:01 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregsarg

Are you using more than one gallery ??
Or more than one camera app?

Both will create and place duplicates...

Just a thought.... g

Sent from my GT-N7105 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app


I have both the Samsung stock gallery app and the Stock JB gallery installed. As for camera, I mainly use the Samsung stock camera app. But how (and why) would it create duplicates? New pics get saved to the DCIM location on the external SD card.

But since I have 2 logical paths to that location (one through /mnt and another through /storage), the gallery shows duplicates....
Last edited by scmlee; 5th December 2013 at 09:13 PM.
6th December 2013, 09:47 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 46
 
154 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by scmlee

I have both the Samsung stock gallery app and the Stock JB gallery installed. As for camera, I mainly use the Samsung stock camera app. But how (and why) would it create duplicates? New pics get saved to the DCIM location on the external SD card.

But since I have 2 logical paths to that location (one through /mnt and another through /storage), the gallery shows duplicates....

Have you flashed or dirty flashed roms? I've seen it where this can happen. Most likely the double gallery apps are doing this. Can you delete the non samsung app and see if that worked?

Sent from my phone
7th December 2013, 05:54 PM   |  #5  
gregsarg's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag B.F.E.
Thanks Meter: 3,720
 
4,388 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 210euser

Have you flashed or dirty flashed roms? I've seen it where this can happen. Most likely the double gallery apps are doing this. Can you delete the non samsung app and see if that worked?

Sent from my phone

Agreed ....
Use TIBU and freeze one of the apks then delete it's associated duplicate folder...
Then test it...

Also ...make sure that you don't have 2 cameras set as system apps or they will both create folders on boot...g

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
12th December 2013, 09:26 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregsarg

Agreed ....
Use TIBU and freeze one of the apks then delete it's associated duplicate folder...
Then test it...

Also ...make sure that you don't have 2 cameras set as system apps or they will both create folders on boot...g

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Thanks for the suggestions. I'll have to look into that.

re: dirty flashing. the only thing I can think of was the in-place upgrade of the official 4.3 upgrade which I flashed through ODIN. I did not wipe prior or after the upgrade.
5th March 2014, 03:37 AM   |  #7  
windstrings's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 210
 
683 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by scmlee

Thanks for the suggestions. I'll have to look into that.

re: dirty flashing. the only thing I can think of was the in-place upgrade of the official 4.3 upgrade which I flashed through ODIN. I did not wipe prior or after the upgrade.

This is an easy fix that worked for me.... I had a directory that duplicated itself, and two more that wouldn't even show in the gallery.

1. I had a couple of directories duplicate themselves when they were originally created in the emulated directory and I "moved" it to my SD card... then when viewed in gallery it showed two directories "both in SD card"..... all I did was copy this whole directory to a different location on the sd card "copy not move", then went back and deleted the original directory. Then took my copy and moved it back to my original location. Then when viewing gallery only one directory was visible "the right one".
Others recipes may work, but this one did for me...


2. Directories that were invisible were fixed simply by renaming the directory using ES explorer, go to gallery and confirm they now all show then go back in es explorer and rename back to what you had them before "if you wish".......
Now go into Gallery a second time and you should still see the directories with names back to original as you've named them. your fixed!

I think mine got messed up with I created a file called .nomedia inside the directory... while it did remove the directory from view in gallery "like it's supposed to do", when that file was deleted, the directory was still invisible.... Even after hard reboot, clearing system cache and partition cache....but the above fixed it

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes