Some of Our Favorite Features in Android 5.0 Lollipop

Android 5.0 Lollipop is the latest major revision to Google’s mobile operating … more

Sony SmartEyeglass SDK Developer Preview Released

A little over a month ago in Tokyo, Japan, Sony unveiled its new SmartEyeglasstechnology. … more

XDA and Leaseweb: Server Trial/Moto 360 Contest (Winners!)

About a month ago, we held a contest along with XDA’s host, Leaseweb, to … more

Updated Android Lollipop Preview Images – XDA TV

The Android Lollipop Preview Images are now available! That and much more news is … more
Post Reply

Details of a rom from Nandriod Backup

OP mayur.3.92

4th March 2014, 01:16 AM   |  #1  
mayur.3.92's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Hyderabad
Thanks Meter: 77
 
486 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
Hello

All XDA members

I have a problem that made me raise a question an that is an we know the name of a rom from a nanriod backup either on PC or on Andriod.??

Ideally PC would be good !!

Thanks
4th March 2014, 02:53 AM   |  #2  
stevens243's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Most ( not all) recovery apps let you name the file. Are you asking how to find the file? If so, it likely is in a folder named backups. You can move the file to your pc and keep it there if you are out of storage space.

Sent from my CROM-i X powered TF700T using tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to stevens243 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th March 2014, 02:58 AM   |  #3  
mayur.3.92's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Hyderabad
Thanks Meter: 77
 
486 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevens243

Most ( not all) recovery apps let you name the file. Are you asking how to find the file? If so, it likely is in a folder named backups. You can move the file to your pc and keep it there if you are out of storage space.

Sent from my CROM-i X powered TF700T using tapatalk

Sorry if I wasn't clear please consider the following situation :

I have around 12 backups of different roms and I dont want to restore each n every backup for sake of simple file or simple thing. So any tool which can read the name of Rom? Probably the buildprop or about phone info will help

Sent from my A110 using Tapatalk
4th March 2014, 03:03 AM   |  #4  
stevens243's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Well, if you gave a single boot system, your recovery should "see" all of those files. If so, you can usb them or copy to a sd card and move them. Just move them back when you need to.

Sent from my CROM-i X powered TF700T using tapatalk
4th March 2014, 04:51 AM   |  #5  
TPS_Reports's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Williamsburg
Thanks Meter: 20
 
105 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
Donate to Me
More
Can someone explain nandroid backup to me? Does it mean I can make a backup my current rom and save it? Sorry for the dumb question.
4th March 2014, 08:55 PM   |  #6  
stevens243's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Yep
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPS_Reports

Can someone explain nandroid backup to me? Does it mean I can make a backup my current rom and save it? Sorry for the dumb question.

Simply,it is a backup of your OS and settings. It is extremely valuable if you flash a new ROM that doesn't/won't function. Then, you can use your recovery to, well, recover your previous WORKING OS.

When/if you begin to flash new ROMs (and other tools that may corrupt your OS) you should always.first.backup.your.files.
4th March 2014, 09:02 PM   |  #7  
TPS_Reports's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Williamsburg
Thanks Meter: 20
 
105 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
Donate to Me
More
Can I assume I would need to wipe data/factory reset, etc. before I restore the backup?

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk
4th March 2014, 09:18 PM   |  #8  
stevens243's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
No assumptions
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPS_Reports

Can I assume I would need to wipe data/factory reset, etc. before I restore the backup?

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk

So, that depends on what your starting config is, what you upgraded to.

For instance, if you are stock and flash a ROM using the stock recovery, then likely yes. You should and you would use the stock bootloader to wipe with.

If you have loaded a new recovery (TWRP, CWM) then read(!) the instructions on the developers page. My example is that on my tablet, once I upgraded to TWRP, I SHOULD NOT use the factory wipe option as that would wipe both TWRP and the backup files. That would cause lots of problems so, don't assume.

Typically, you do need to data/reset/wipe prior to flashing a new or recovering to an old ROM, just be careful what/how you do it.
4th March 2014, 09:26 PM   |  #9  
TPS_Reports's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Williamsburg
Thanks Meter: 20
 
105 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
Donate to Me
More
I have a CWM recovery installed and installed custom Rome before. I have always redid everything again. So a backup would save me a lot of time.

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk
4th March 2014, 09:38 PM   |  #10  
stevens243's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPS_Reports

I have a CWM recovery installed and installed custom Rome before. I have always redid everything again. So a backup would save me a lot of time.

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk

Then, unless the ROM developer states otherwise, you should make backups, wipe data, install ROMs and recover your device using the Nandroid backup.

You likely shouldn't use the "factory" wipe data as that would cause issues.

Larry

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Questions and Answers by ThreadRank