FORUMS

Beats Music No Longer Accepting New Accounts

Whenever Apple launches a new product or service, it definitely manages to grab the … more

Do You Do Self-Repairs on Your Devices?

As smartphone designs become more and more complex, self-repairs on devices are also becoming … more

Sony Z4 Slips Out of Top 5 Smartphones in Japan

In a bid to streamline its flagship series which had been losing credibility over the … more

Sprint’s New Unlimited Plan with Ridiculous Capped Speeds

The carrier game in the United States is perpetually rushing forward at … more

Details of a rom from Nandriod Backup

509 posts
Thanks Meter: 89
 
By mayur.3.92, Senior Member on 4th March 2014, 01:16 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hello

All XDA members

I have a problem that made me raise a question an that is an we know the name of a rom from a nanriod backup either on PC or on Andriod.??

Ideally PC would be good !!

Thanks
 
 
4th March 2014, 02:53 AM |#2  
stevens243's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
Most ( not all) recovery apps let you name the file. Are you asking how to find the file? If so, it likely is in a folder named backups. You can move the file to your pc and keep it there if you are out of storage space.

Sent from my CROM-i X powered TF700T using tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to stevens243 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th March 2014, 02:58 AM |#3  
mayur.3.92's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Hyderabad
Thanks Meter: 89
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevens243

Most ( not all) recovery apps let you name the file. Are you asking how to find the file? If so, it likely is in a folder named backups. You can move the file to your pc and keep it there if you are out of storage space.

Sent from my CROM-i X powered TF700T using tapatalk

Sorry if I wasn't clear please consider the following situation :

I have around 12 backups of different roms and I dont want to restore each n every backup for sake of simple file or simple thing. So any tool which can read the name of Rom? Probably the buildprop or about phone info will help

Sent from my A110 using Tapatalk
4th March 2014, 03:03 AM |#4  
stevens243's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
Well, if you gave a single boot system, your recovery should "see" all of those files. If so, you can usb them or copy to a sd card and move them. Just move them back when you need to.

Sent from my CROM-i X powered TF700T using tapatalk
4th March 2014, 04:51 AM |#5  
TPS_Reports's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Williamsburg
Thanks Meter: 23
 
Donate to Me
More
Can someone explain nandroid backup to me? Does it mean I can make a backup my current rom and save it? Sorry for the dumb question.
4th March 2014, 08:55 PM |#6  
stevens243's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
Yep
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPS_Reports

Can someone explain nandroid backup to me? Does it mean I can make a backup my current rom and save it? Sorry for the dumb question.

Simply,it is a backup of your OS and settings. It is extremely valuable if you flash a new ROM that doesn't/won't function. Then, you can use your recovery to, well, recover your previous WORKING OS.

When/if you begin to flash new ROMs (and other tools that may corrupt your OS) you should always.first.backup.your.files.
4th March 2014, 09:02 PM |#7  
TPS_Reports's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Williamsburg
Thanks Meter: 23
 
Donate to Me
More
Can I assume I would need to wipe data/factory reset, etc. before I restore the backup?

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk
4th March 2014, 09:18 PM |#8  
stevens243's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
No assumptions
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPS_Reports

Can I assume I would need to wipe data/factory reset, etc. before I restore the backup?

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk

So, that depends on what your starting config is, what you upgraded to.

For instance, if you are stock and flash a ROM using the stock recovery, then likely yes. You should and you would use the stock bootloader to wipe with.

If you have loaded a new recovery (TWRP, CWM) then read(!) the instructions on the developers page. My example is that on my tablet, once I upgraded to TWRP, I SHOULD NOT use the factory wipe option as that would wipe both TWRP and the backup files. That would cause lots of problems so, don't assume.

Typically, you do need to data/reset/wipe prior to flashing a new or recovering to an old ROM, just be careful what/how you do it.
4th March 2014, 09:26 PM |#9  
TPS_Reports's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Williamsburg
Thanks Meter: 23
 
Donate to Me
More
I have a CWM recovery installed and installed custom Rome before. I have always redid everything again. So a backup would save me a lot of time.

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk
4th March 2014, 09:38 PM |#10  
stevens243's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPS_Reports

I have a CWM recovery installed and installed custom Rome before. I have always redid everything again. So a backup would save me a lot of time.

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk

Then, unless the ROM developer states otherwise, you should make backups, wipe data, install ROMs and recover your device using the Nandroid backup.

You likely shouldn't use the "factory" wipe data as that would cause issues.

Larry
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes