Sony SmartEyeglass SDK Developer Preview Released

A little over a month ago in Tokyo, Japan, Sony unveiled its new SmartEyeglasstechnology. … more

XDA and Leaseweb: Server Trial/Moto 360 Contest (Winners!)

About a month ago, we held a contest along with XDA’s host, Leaseweb, to … more

Updated Android Lollipop Preview Images – XDA TV

The Android Lollipop Preview Images are now available! That and much more news is … more

Get a Complete Set of Logs with Andy Log

The importance of proper logging is undeniable. No, we’re not talking about lumberjack work. … more
Post Reply

[Q] Slow playstore after installing SlimBean rom

OP mazuno

27th February 2014, 03:02 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Hello fellow S4A owners,

Today I installed the SlimBean rom from spegelius (thank you!) found here : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2640732

Although it was the first time I flashed a rom on my phone, I followed every steps carefully and everything worked fine.

I only have an issue with the playstore : apps download on 3G is really really slow, like 10 kB/s.. while on wifi it seems normal.
I performed a few speed tests on 3G and I hit 1800kB/S on ookla's speedtest app, and everything else seems normal. only the playstore seems to be affected.

I did the "playstore update" when prompted (on wifi) but no change. (I don't really know what that did though..)

anyone has an idea ?

please keep in mind that I'm relatively new to this kind of stuff so don't get too angry if I'm asking the wrong questions please

Thank you
mazuno

ps: I'm not posting on the rom's thread since I am not allowed yet.
ps2 : European i9295 S4A phone
28th February 2014, 06:46 AM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mazuno

Hello fellow S4A owners,

Today I installed the SlimBean rom from spegelius (thank you!) found here : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2640732

Although it was the first time I flashed a rom on my phone, I followed every steps carefully and everything worked fine.

I only have an issue with the playstore : apps download on 3G is really really slow, like 10 kB/s.. while on wifi it seems normal.
I performed a few speed tests on 3G and I hit 1800kB/S on ookla's speedtest app, and everything else seems normal. only the playstore seems to be affected.

I did the "playstore update" when prompted (on wifi) but no change. (I don't really know what that did though..)

anyone has an idea ?

please keep in mind that I'm relatively new to this kind of stuff so don't get too angry if I'm asking the wrong questions please

Thank you
mazuno

ps: I'm not posting on the rom's thread since I am not allowed yet.
ps2 : European i9295 S4A phone

Which gapps package did you install? the Slim_AIO_gapps.4.3.build.2.zip or gapps-jb-20130813-signed.zip from Goo.im/gapps?
28th February 2014, 08:33 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by vanyel

Which gapps package did you install? the Slim_AIO_gapps.4.3.build.2.zip or gapps-jb-20130813-signed.zip from Goo.im/gapps?

Hello,
I installed Slim_AIO_gapps.4.3.build.2.zip
28th February 2014, 08:59 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mazuno

Hello,
I installed Slim_AIO_gapps.4.3.build.2.zip

Hmm.. Don't think it's related to the custom ROms and gapps.

Can you check your baseband Version? Mine is currently at UBMK3 ... No problems so far with download speeds. You might also want to consider that mobile data isn't exactly as fast as Wifi which is tied to a DSL or broadband line.
28th February 2014, 09:36 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by vanyel

Hmm.. Don't think it's related to the custom ROms and gapps.

Can you check your baseband Version? Mine is currently at UBMK3 ... No problems so far with download speeds. You might also want to consider that mobile data isn't exactly as fast as Wifi which is tied to a DSL or broadband line.

Hi, my baseband version is I9295XXUBMK2 (what does that mean and what's the difference with yours beeing UBMK3 ?)
I had no problem either in wifi or data before installing the custom rom
AND except for google playstore my data speed is correct everywhere (youtube videos, webbrowsing, pron (lol jk) )
seems like it's related to google playstore but how?
28th February 2014, 11:26 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Not too sure of the reason now...

Can you try using the generic gapps from goo.im/gapps ?

https://support.google.com/googlepla.../1067233?hl=en

Currently I'm running spegelius' CM port together with the generic gapps with no problems at all...
1st March 2014, 04:56 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
if you have hangouts installed, pls logout of it then check if playstore is more responsive.
3rd March 2014, 09:05 AM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by vanyel

if you have hangouts installed, pls logout of it then check if playstore is more responsive.

nope, it did not fix the issue.

If I install the generic gapps now, will it erase some of my settings I did? because now I spend a lot of time customizing my phone since I installed the new rom, and I dont want to do it all over again ^^
4th March 2014, 05:51 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mazuno

nope, it did not fix the issue.

If I install the generic gapps now, will it erase some of my settings I did? because now I spend a lot of time customizing my phone since I installed the new rom, and I dont want to do it all over again ^^

Not really too sure about what's the exact problem... if customizing your phone means that you have installed a lot of apps already, get Helium or Titanium Backup to backup all your apps. before reinstalling the generic gapps just in case.

I have already switched to using the CM 10.2 unofficial version by Spegelius and installed the generic gapps. Everything's fine so far.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes