Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,008 Members 51,891 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

What's the easiest way to do a full reset on the Ouya

Tip us?
 
sylvestor2013
Old
(Last edited by sylvestor2013; 3rd March 2014 at 03:01 AM.) Reason: problem solved.
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 16
Join Date: Dec 2012
Default What's the easiest way to do a full reset on the Ouya

I have my Ouya rooted using the toolbox. I've been installing and upgrading xbmc frequently and notice that it seems to misbehave or become laggy. I've done a factory reset, but some of the programs don't seem to have been removed.

What's the easiest way to do a full reset on the Ouya (I'm a noobie and I don't know if I have to boot up to recovery and do a full wipe.) I'm just worried that I have to do some type of additional backup incase the wipe malfunctions ? Is there something I should backup before doing the wipe ?

thanks.

Edit: I followed the instructions to install "StockPlusPatch." After rebooting, I installed XBMC from a nightly build. I then noticed that my old XBMC settings were still available. I did a bit more trouble shooting. I finally uninstalled XBMC, deleted the main XBMC folder from Ouya. Then I installed XBMC from the Ouya "store" and then installed Navi. My XBMC works properly with Navi now. I'm guessing the nightly builds of XBMC does not play well with Navi.
 
KJRob
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 37
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Bringhurst
Default Nightlys

Quote:
Originally Posted by sylvestor2013 View Post
I have my Ouya rooted using the toolbox. I've been installing and upgrading xbmc frequently and notice that it seems to misbehave or become laggy. I've done a factory reset, but some of the programs don't seem to have been removed.

What's the easiest way to do a full reset on the Ouya (I'm a noobie and I don't know if I have to boot up to recovery and do a full wipe.) I'm just worried that I have to do some type of additional backup incase the wipe malfunctions ? Is there something I should backup before doing the wipe ?

thanks.

Edit: I followed the instructions to install "StockPlusPatch." After rebooting, I installed XBMC from a nightly build. I then noticed that my old XBMC settings were still available. I did a bit more trouble shooting. I finally uninstalled XBMC, deleted the main XBMC folder from Ouya. Then I installed XBMC from the Ouya "store" and then installed Navi. My XBMC works properly with Navi now. I'm guessing the nightly builds of XBMC does not play well with Navi.
I guess not. I had trouble with the store version so I went with a nightly and it was ok for a few days. When it started throwing fits I went back to the store version and now my Navi wont work but the rest is fine. New hardware = wild ride.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes