Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,778,798 Members 38,848 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Fully Stock HTC One M7

Tip us?
 
xxshererxx
Old
(Last edited by xxshererxx; 4th March 2014 at 10:21 AM.) Reason: forgot a couple sentances, sorry..
#1  
xxshererxx's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 27
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Richmond, Indiana

 
DONATE TO ME
Unhappy [Q] Fully Stock HTC One M7

So I have a fully stock HTC One and have spent all night trying to unlock the bootloader. Nothing seems to work I have never rooted this phone, everything I have read makes it seem as if it's impossible. I've tried the adb/fastboot, htcdev, and changing CID methods. Plus I have read of various other ways that already require a root. Which I cannot do seeing how I am still locked and S-ON.

To be honest I'm at the edge and I think I'm just going to give up. I'm on 4.2.2 - hboot 1.54. I was a previous owner of the Thunderbolt which was not a bad phone, I rooted that and everything no questions asked. Although I do remember HTC taking the longest for OTA updates, not a huge fan of HTC.

If anyone has any suggestions on how to unlock the bootloader I will be fine from there. I'm positive I have all the right equipment and prerequisites just not sure if I really am at the end of the road.

Anything useful goes a long way right now.

Thanks.....
 
cr1960
Old
#2  
cr1960's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 301
Posts: 1,397
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Melbourne
Quote:
Originally Posted by xxshererxx View Post
So I have a fully stock HTC One and have spent all night trying to unlock the bootloader. Nothing seems to work I have never rooted this phone, everything I have read makes it seem as if it's impossible. I've tried the adb/fastboot, htcdev, and changing CID methods. Plus I have read of various other ways that already require a root. Which I cannot do seeing how I am still locked and S-ON.

To be honest I'm at the edge and I think I'm just going to give up. I'm on 4.2.2 - hboot 1.54. I was a previous owner of the Thunderbolt which was not a bad phone, I rooted that and everything no questions asked. Although I do remember HTC taking the longest for OTA updates, not a huge fan of HTC.

If anyone has any suggestions on how to unlock the bootloader I will be fine from there. I'm positive I have all the right equipment and prerequisites just not sure if I really am at the end of the road.

Anything useful goes a long way right now.

Thanks.....
what exactly is happening when you try and unlock the bootloader?

HTC M8
ROM: SkyDragon
 
raghav kapur
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 105
Posts: 455
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Dubai
Quote:
Originally Posted by xxshererxx View Post
So I have a fully stock HTC One and have spent all night trying to unlock the bootloader. Nothing seems to work I have never rooted this phone, everything I have read makes it seem as if it's impossible. I've tried the adb/fastboot, htcdev, and changing CID methods. Plus I have read of various other ways that already require a root. Which I cannot do seeing how I am still locked and S-ON.

To be honest I'm at the edge and I think I'm just going to give up. I'm on 4.2.2 - hboot 1.54. I was a previous owner of the Thunderbolt which was not a bad phone, I rooted that and everything no questions asked. Although I do remember HTC taking the longest for OTA updates, not a huge fan of HTC.

If anyone has any suggestions on how to unlock the bootloader I will be fine from there. I'm positive I have all the right equipment and prerequisites just not sure if I really am at the end of the road.

Anything useful goes a long way right now.

Thanks.....
Is urs the AT&T One? Then the bootloader unlock process is different. If urs is the standard international SIM unlocked, then ideally you should see a splash after you run the bootloader unlock command, which prompts you to unlock the bootloader. Please state what exactly ur issue is when u try to bootloader unlock
 
xxshererxx
Old
#4  
xxshererxx's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 27
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Richmond, Indiana

 
DONATE TO ME
I'm with Verizon but it just gives me a 1 line error message doesn't run through anything else or load up anything. I type in "bootloader oem unlock" or whatever after clearly identifying my device is connected with "adb device" and nothing happens. It takes about 0.14 sec and says something along the lines of "[ERRORR] ......" after running again it takes 0.00 sec and says same thing, I can screenshot if you think it would be more helpful.

Please help, I appreciate both responses. Just really want this to work.
 
raghav kapur
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 105
Posts: 455
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Dubai
Quote:
Originally Posted by xxshererxx View Post
I'm with Verizon but it just gives me a 1 line error message doesn't run through anything else or load up anything. I type in "bootloader oem unlock" or whatever after clearly identifying my device is connected with "adb device" and nothing happens. It takes about 0.14 sec and says something along the lines of "[ERRORR] ......" after running again it takes 0.00 sec and says same thing, I can screenshot if you think it would be more helpful.

Please help, I appreciate both responses. Just really want this to work.
Hahahaha Verizon is REALLY REALLY BAD when it comes to dev. support. Ideally, you shouldn't be posting this in this forum. Post it on the Verizon forum. But, I can help you.
http://rumrunner.us/downloads-2/

Download the package. Extract the zip and run the 'soju.exe' program. Please read ALL the pre-requisites mentioned in the instructions tab.

P.S. From next time if you're asking for help, please state that you're on Verizon
The Following User Says Thank You to raghav kapur For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
xxshererxx
Old
#6  
xxshererxx's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 27
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Richmond, Indiana

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by raghav kapur View Post
Hahahaha Verizon is REALLY REALLY BAD when it comes to dev. support. Ideally, you shouldn't be posting this in this forum. Post it on the Verizon forum. But, I can help you.

Download the package. Extract the zip and run the 'soju.exe' program. Please read ALL the pre-requisites mentioned in the instructions tab.

P.S. From next time if you're asking for help, please state that you're on Verizon
Worked like a charm, but now I am having trouble with the recovery portion of all this.

I have downloaded and installed the TWRP Manager app and then went to install the recovery and it said my device is not supported, this same problem happened with CWMR.
 
nkk71
Old
#7  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2819
Posts: 5,686
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Beirut
Quote:
Originally Posted by xxshererxx View Post
Worked like a charm, but now I am having trouble with the recovery portion of all this.

I have downloaded and installed the TWRP Manager app and then went to install the recovery and it said my device is not supported, this same problem happened with CWMR.
I think you'll find more help here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/verizon-htc-one

The Following User Says Thank You to nkk71 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes