Welcome to the New XDA-Developers Portal!

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we opened up the XDA-2015 forum themesto intrepid users … more

An Android Enthusiast’s Apple iPhone 6 Challenge

The media has gone batty again over Apple “revolutionizing” smartphones. … more

Sony to Extend its AOSP Program to Other Devices

Sony will be offering its users the possibility to use AOSP ROMs as an alternative to the … more

Project Ara: Modified Android L and Hot Swapping

Project Ara is a very exciting topic–both for hardware and software enthusiasts. The … more
Post Reply

[Q] Sony my Xperia vs Apple Lost Mode

5th March 2014, 06:23 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Kabul
Thanks Meter: 55
 
155 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
More
In apples when in lost mode, you will never unlock the device even after flashing a new firmware.
But what about in Sony? After locking it, will it unlock by flashing a ftf?
5th March 2014, 07:57 AM   |  #2  
Quote:
Originally Posted by f_u_006

In apples when in lost mode, you will never unlock the device even after flashing a new firmware.
But what about in Sony? After locking it, will it unlock by flashing a ftf?

most likely it will be usable again but all data will be gone.
5th March 2014, 08:52 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Kabul
Thanks Meter: 55
 
155 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowrider_05

most likely it will be usable again but all data will be gone.


I am not in such status now, I just wanna know if i lock my Z1 using my Xperia and someone who stole or found it can they unlock it by flashing a new firmware?
in iOS it doesn't!
5th March 2014, 09:09 AM   |  #4  
Recognized Developer
Flag Jerusalem
Thanks Meter: 4,951
 
1,071 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Donate to Me
More
Nothing compares to iOS's lost mode, it ties deep into the device's hardware.
No Android device has a feature that's similar to iOS 7's activation lock. Even Samsung's Note 3 "equivalent" could surely be done away with by flashing CM.
5th March 2014, 09:57 AM   |  #5  
scoobdude's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 72
 
675 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
More
There are always ways around it. Even using hardware encryption. I guarantee you apple has an algorithm that will generate a password when needed if you call in to tech support. This will be hacked.

Sent from my C6916 using xda app-developers app
5th March 2014, 10:15 AM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Flag Kabul
Thanks Meter: 55
 
155 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
More
Android (MUST) add feature!
How the best Mobile OS could lack this feature?
5th March 2014, 10:20 AM   |  #7  
pandaball's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,642
 
2,354 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by f_u_006

Android (MUST) add feature!
How the best Mobile OS could lack this feature?

By not being manufactured by the same company as mentioned by another member, Apple's Lost Mode ties deep into hardware which requires certain hardware support, which is not the case for Android phones since the software and hardware are by different companies.
5th March 2014, 10:23 AM   |  #8  
imobileface's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
79 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
you can use it again
5th March 2014, 10:51 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
143 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Avast mobile security has functions and features like this with things in place to prevent flashing recoveries and such like, but to be fair, once your phone is stolen the only need of security software is to ensure your data is wiped. Everything else is unimportant as people will always find a way to reactivate a phone eventually, and you are very unlikely to get it back.
5th March 2014, 11:07 AM   |  #10  
OP Senior Member
Flag Kabul
Thanks Meter: 55
 
155 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pandaball

By not being manufactured by the same company as mentioned by another member, Apple's Lost Mode ties deep into hardware which requires certain hardware support, which is not the case for Android phones since the software and hardware are by different companies.

All of the manufacturers use the same API and OS, Android must release such an API then the manufacturers can compile them into there Firmware...

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Xperia Z1 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank