Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,778,311 Members 48,593 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

OTA failure (SOLVED, thanks to @nkk71)

Tip us?
 
muhammad.uzi1994
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 30
Posts: 291
Join Date: Aug 2013
Default OTA failure (SOLVED, thanks to @nkk71)

hi all, i have a Taiwan HTC One with 4.2.2 and software version 2.24.709.1 , s off, unrooted and stock ROM . I receive 4.3 OTA update when i check for software updates, and it downloads fine too but whenever i try to install it and the phone boots up into stock recovery, the progress bar goes halfway and then the recovery shows a red triangle and i have to hard reset the phone. i'm running stock recovery, everything is stock but i have s off and unlocked bootloader, which shouldnt be what's causing this problem, anybody got any suggestions? thanks
 
nkk71
Old
#2  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2819
Posts: 5,686
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Beirut
Quote:
Originally Posted by muhammad.uzi1994 View Post
hi all, i have a Taiwan HTC One with 4.2.2 and software version 2.24.709.1 , s off, unrooted and stock ROM . I receive 4.3 OTA update when i check for software updates, and it downloads fine too but whenever i try to install it and the phone boots up into stock recovery, the progress bar goes halfway and then the recovery shows a red triangle and i have to hard reset the phone. i'm running stock recovery, everything is stock but i have s off and unlocked bootloader, which shouldnt be what's causing this problem, anybody got any suggestions? thanks
Quote:
Originally Posted by muhammad.uzi1994 View Post
i get Patch Error (/system/customize/MNS/default.xml) something like that , it fails verifying it , i'll download the OTA from Guru's site and try to install it manually via recovery
"i get Patch Error (/system/customize/MNS/default.xml)" -> that means the file "default.xml" is not 100% stock and therefore the OTA cannot continue, nothing to do with recovery or firmware or the OTA

you need to check the MD5 (of that file) inside the Guru ROM and check if it's the same as in the updater script inside the OTA.
 
muhammad.uzi1994
Old
(Last edited by muhammad.uzi1994; 5th March 2014 at 12:13 PM.)
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 30
Posts: 291
Join Date: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkk71 View Post
"i get Patch Error (/system/customize/MNS/default.xml)" -> that means the file "default.xml" is not 100% stock and therefore the OTA cannot continue, nothing to do with recovery or firmware or the OTA

you need to check the MD5 (of that file) inside the Guru ROM and check if it's the same as in the updater script inside the OTA.
how can i check MD5 ? can you guide me through it? i have never checked an MD5 before , help me with this please, i have the GuruRom zip file at hand, what do i need to do next?
EDIT: the error i get is assert_failed: apply_patch_check (/system/customize/MNS/default.xml)
 
nkk71
Old
#4  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2819
Posts: 5,686
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Beirut
Quote:
Originally Posted by muhammad.uzi1994 View Post
how can i check MD5 ? can you guide me through it? i have never checked an MD5 before , help me with this please, i have the GuruRom zip file at hand, what do i need to do next?
EDIT: the error i get is assert_failed: apply_patch_check (/system/customize/MNS/default.xml)
Can you extract the following two files, and upload them somewhere (dropbox or similar), preferably compress (zip or rar) them first:

from OTA 3.18.709.2_2.24.709.1: /META-INF/com/google/android/updater-script

from Guru ROM 2.24.709.1: /system/customize/MNS/default.xml
 
muhammad.uzi1994
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 30
Posts: 291
Join Date: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkk71 View Post
Can you extract the following two files, and upload them somewhere (dropbox or similar), preferably compress (zip or rar) them first:

from OTA 3.18.709.2_2.24.709.1: /META-INF/com/google/android/updater-script

from Guru ROM 2.24.709.1: /system/customize/MNS/default.xml
yes, i'll do it in a bit, thanks a lot for helping out
 
muhammad.uzi1994
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 30
Posts: 291
Join Date: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkk71 View Post
Can you extract the following two files, and upload them somewhere (dropbox or similar), preferably compress (zip or rar) them first:

from OTA 3.18.709.2_2.24.709.1: /META-INF/com/google/android/updater-script

from Guru ROM 2.24.709.1: /system/customize/MNS/default.xml
https://www.dropbox.com/s/740hsmom4q7qwi5/default.rar

https://www.dropbox.com/s/u57lqm3alw...ter-script.rar here are the default and updater-script files
 
nkk71
Old
#7  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2819
Posts: 5,686
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Beirut
Quote:
Originally Posted by muhammad.uzi1994 View Post
at about 68% of system verification, it's checking /system/customize/MNS/default.xml
Code:
set_progress(0.680276);
assert(apply_patch_check("/system/customize/MNS/default.xml", "b5f7063d64935f736b6db36ca187493f738afea7", "855575a56657715443a0be7dfd1fbff58d429ff9"));
and is expecting an SHA-1 mentioned above, but the file you sent me has SHA-1 = b202589370e749f0604dc853b03848e4ea11a1e5

so the OTA will not go through.


Usually Guru ROMs are accurate, so it's strange. I'll download the Guru ROM later to double check... I'll let you know....
 
muhammad.uzi1994
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 30
Posts: 291
Join Date: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkk71 View Post
at about 68% of system verification, it's checking /system/customize/MNS/default.xml
Code:
set_progress(0.680276);
assert(apply_patch_check("/system/customize/MNS/default.xml", "b5f7063d64935f736b6db36ca187493f738afea7", "855575a56657715443a0be7dfd1fbff58d429ff9"));
and is expecting an SHA-1 mentioned above, but the file you sent me has SHA-1 = b202589370e749f0604dc853b03848e4ea11a1e5

so the OTA will not go through.


Usually Guru ROMs are accurate, so it's strange. I'll download the Guru ROM later to double check... I'll let you know....
can i just download an Indian Stock Reset Guru Rom by changing my CID to HTC__038 with MID PN0711000, will the OTA's work then? plus, can you confirm if this link will work for Indian CID HTC__038 http://www.htc1guru.com/dld/guru_res...-63-707-4-zip/
 
nkk71
Old
#9  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2819
Posts: 5,686
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Beirut
Quote:
Originally Posted by muhammad.uzi1994 View Post
can i just download an Indian Stock Reset Guru Rom by changing my CID to HTC__038 with MID PN0711000, will the OTA's work then? plus, can you confirm if this link will work for Indian CID HTC__038 http://www.htc1guru.com/dld/guru_res...-63-707-4-zip/
you are seriously confusing me!!

but yes, you can use that if you prefer and the corresponding firmware from the link i gave you earlier.
 
muhammad.uzi1994
Old
#10  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 30
Posts: 291
Join Date: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkk71 View Post
you are seriously confusing me!!

but yes, you can use that if you prefer and the corresponding firmware from the link i gave you earlier.
thanks a lot for helping out

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes