Damp the LG G3 Thermal Throttling

As our mobile devices grow thinner and more powerfulwith each passing generation, it’s inevitable … more

Google Play Developer Distribution Agreement Due Tomorrow

Every once in a while, Google updates theGoogle PlayDeveloper Distribution … more

LG to Release Octa-Core “Nuclun” SoC in the LG G3 Screen

LG is set to follow the likes of Samsung and other manufacture its own … more

Lockdown Pro 2 Brings Material Design and Media Support

Back in March of this year, we took a look at a rather innovated security application … more
Post Reply

[Q] Best way to get line-level audio output from RAZR HD?

OP JHW3

28th February 2014, 07:52 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Everyone,

I have the RAZR HD from FIDO (XT925) running the stock ROM (4.1.2). Occasionally I would like to connect my phone to my home stereo (via AUX input) to listen to music files that are e-mailed to me, or to streaming audio services. I would rather not do this via Bluetooth.

Is there a convenient way to get a line-level audio output from the RAZR HD? If so, what kind of cable do I need?

Alternatively, I have a cheap but good-sounding USB DAC (Behringer UCA202) -- any chance this could be connected to the RAZR HD via USB to get a line-level output?

Thanks in advance.
1st March 2014, 06:16 AM   |  #2  
Sumanji's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Durham, NC
Thanks Meter: 29
 
304 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Hey,

I might be being a bit stupid here, but why can't you just use the headphone port? I assume this is not good enough quality for you or something?

Cheers,

Su
4th March 2014, 06:39 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sumanji

Hey,

I might be being a bit stupid here, but why can't you just use the headphone port? I assume this is not good enough quality for you or something?

Cheers,

Su

The headphone port is OK but requires the volume on both the phone and the stereo amplifier to be turned way up, which is inconvenient and leads to a lot of noise. I believe this is because the headphone port is designed for headphone impedance, which is lower than the impedance of a line input.
5th March 2014, 02:42 AM   |  #4  
Sumanji's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Durham, NC
Thanks Meter: 29
 
304 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Ok, gotcha - same problem with the HDMI output? That could work even better, as you could wire it straight into an A/V receiver, right?

If not, this may be helpful:

http://www.head-fi.org/t/595071/andr...-usb-dacs/1875

(Post 1886 and onwards)
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in RAZR HD Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank