Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Stop Your Screen From Turning Off with KeepItOn

We all know the feeling of reading a news article orrather longdocument, when our screen … more

The XDA LG QPair Developer Challenge Voting Has Begun!

It seems like it was just yesterday that weannounced that we had paired up with LGto … more

Major Update for the Sony Smartwatch 2 Brings DND and More

With the wearables landscape now dominated by Android Wear and Pebble, its … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Best way to get line-level audio output from RAZR HD?

OP JHW3

28th February 2014, 08:52 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Everyone,

I have the RAZR HD from FIDO (XT925) running the stock ROM (4.1.2). Occasionally I would like to connect my phone to my home stereo (via AUX input) to listen to music files that are e-mailed to me, or to streaming audio services. I would rather not do this via Bluetooth.

Is there a convenient way to get a line-level audio output from the RAZR HD? If so, what kind of cable do I need?

Alternatively, I have a cheap but good-sounding USB DAC (Behringer UCA202) -- any chance this could be connected to the RAZR HD via USB to get a line-level output?

Thanks in advance.
1st March 2014, 07:16 AM   |  #2  
Sumanji's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Durham, NC
Thanks Meter: 29
 
307 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Hey,

I might be being a bit stupid here, but why can't you just use the headphone port? I assume this is not good enough quality for you or something?

Cheers,

Su
4th March 2014, 07:39 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sumanji

Hey,

I might be being a bit stupid here, but why can't you just use the headphone port? I assume this is not good enough quality for you or something?

Cheers,

Su

The headphone port is OK but requires the volume on both the phone and the stereo amplifier to be turned way up, which is inconvenient and leads to a lot of noise. I believe this is because the headphone port is designed for headphone impedance, which is lower than the impedance of a line input.
5th March 2014, 03:42 AM   |  #4  
Sumanji's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Durham, NC
Thanks Meter: 29
 
307 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Ok, gotcha - same problem with the HDMI output? That could work even better, as you could wire it straight into an A/V receiver, right?

If not, this may be helpful:

http://www.head-fi.org/t/595071/andr...-usb-dacs/1875

(Post 1886 and onwards)
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes