Detect, Avoid IMSI-Catcher Attacks with Android IMSI-Catcher Detector

Privacy is always an important topic, as well as a delicate one to … more

Materialized LeanDroid Fights Your Poor Battery Life

Battery life has always been one of the biggest problems facing most Android devices. … more

Bump! Workaround for the LG G3 Locked Bootloader – XDA TV

The LG G3 is a power house device. It’s been a favorite of many people. … more

Enable Call Recording on Xperia Z2 and Z3

Call recording, while not legal in every part of the world, is quite handy in certain situations. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Return to stock issue

OP keeferb

5th March 2014, 09:26 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
I am selling my TF700 and wanted to return to stock before selling it(currently have chromi-x 5.3). I downloaded the 4.2.1 stock rom from the Asus website, unzipped, copied the rom zip to the sd card of the tablet. Rebooted to TWRP and installed the zip. Everything seemed to install fine. The tablet rebooted and the lock screen came up. But when I swipe to unlock, I get a 'Unfortunately, Launcher has stopped' message. I can hit Ok, but the message just keeps repeating. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
5th March 2014, 10:48 PM   |  #2  
sbdags's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Kenilworth, Coventry
Thanks Meter: 13,194
 
11,649 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by keeferb

I am selling my TF700 and wanted to return to stock before selling it(currently have chromi-x 5.3). I downloaded the 4.2.1 stock rom from the Asus website, unzipped, copied the rom zip to the sd card of the tablet. Rebooted to TWRP and installed the zip. Everything seemed to install fine. The tablet rebooted and the lock screen came up. But when I swipe to unlock, I get a 'Unfortunately, Launcher has stopped' message. I can hit Ok, but the message just keeps repeating. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Make sure you wipe data first in TWRP?

But you'll have to install TWRP again to do that

Personally I would have just left CROMI-X on it - better customer service
5th March 2014, 11:23 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbdags

Make sure you wipe data first in TWRP?

But you'll have to install TWRP again to do that

Personally I would have just left CROMI-X on it - better customer service

Thanks for the quick response. And you're right, I should have just left it alone and sold it as is.

Any advice on how to get TWRP re-installed? I believe the first time around I did it by installing GooManager from the Play Store. Since I can't get there that option won't work.
5th March 2014, 11:40 PM   |  #4  
sbdags's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Kenilworth, Coventry
Thanks Meter: 13,194
 
11,649 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by keeferb

Thanks for the quick response. And you're right, I should have just left it alone and sold it as is.

Any advice on how to get TWRP re-installed? I believe the first time around I did it by installing GooManager from the Play Store. Since I can't get there that option won't work.

You'll have to install it over fastboot - the instructions are in the TWRP thread in the dev section
The Following User Says Thank You to sbdags For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th March 2014, 02:23 AM   |  #5  
berndblb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 999
 
3,011 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by keeferb

I am selling my TF700 and wanted to return to stock before selling it(currently have chromi-x 5.3). I downloaded the 4.2.1 stock rom from the Asus website, unzipped, copied the rom zip to the sd card of the tablet. Rebooted to TWRP and installed the zip. Everything seemed to install fine. The tablet rebooted and the lock screen came up. But when I swipe to unlock, I get a 'Unfortunately, Launcher has stopped' message. I can hit Ok, but the message just keeps repeating. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I assume you downloaded the correct SKU since you did everything else correct.
My guess is: a bad flash.
Try booting into recovery. If you get the dead Android, the stock recovery installed fine. If you have the Asus firmware on your microSD, rename it to EP201_768_SDUPDATE.zip and boot into recovery. It should recognize the file and flash it.
Alternatively, you could flash TWRP in fastboot and flash the firmware again.

Side note: I will never understand why people flash the tablet back to the lousy stock rom to sell it.... Anybody doing the least bit of research should know that this tablet with CROMi-X installed is 10x better - that actually only custom ROMing makes it useable.....
I would offer it here on the XDA market as: "TF700 in mint condition with a clean installation of any bootloader/recovery/kernel/rom you desire"
The Following User Says Thank You to berndblb For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th March 2014, 12:42 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
I re-installed TWRP via fastboot, formatted data, and reflashed stock. Worked this time. Thanks for your help.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes