Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Unhappy [Q] Phone call's only working with earphones that came with the phone

OP JMink10

5th March 2014, 09:10 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Hey guys, short background, upgraded to the HTC one at my brothers urging (showed me how sweet the phone can be after rooting and installing custom ROMs) and I absolutely love the phone. I bought the phone this last Sunday (Mar 2) and unlocked it with s-OFF, and installed the Viper 5.0 rom without too much trouble (had my brothers help). Since then I have come to learn that when making phone calls the only way for them to work properly is by using a headset with a mic built in. If I have the headset unplugged the call will go through (either receiving or making) but once it is picked up on either end there is no sound at all, even with speakerphone active. When someone calls me, my phone will ring, but again, no sound on either end.

I also never used the phone to make any calls before I rooted the phone, but I have ran a recovery back to stock ROM and still nothing. I have spent a lot of time on google searching the issue and everything I came across basically said get a new phone. Although it is annoying as hell, I would like to explore every option of fixing it before I take it back, and I think you guys can help!

Some friends have suggested updating radio's, and trying different ROM's, but to be honest I'm not sure I fully understand how to flash/run other ROM's on my own (my bro did most of the work while I watched) . I did reinstall the kernel I was using (ElementalX something) and reset all my power settings back to stock, but that didn't help any. Sorry for the wall of text but any help will be appreciated. Also, feel free to dumb it down for a HTC noob here

Thanks in advance!

p.s. using the HTC one 5.0 Viper ROM ElementalX kernel
6th March 2014, 12:53 AM   |  #2  
cmlusco's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Michigan City, IN
Thanks Meter: 932
 
3,146 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
Do you know if your brother ever updated it to the kitkat firmware? Running a kitkat rom with jellybean firmware is known to cause call issues. I would update the firmware using fastboot. You will need a pc with adb setup, and this file http://vzw1files.dyndns.org/FIRMWARE...1_firmware.zip If you feel up to trying it your self i can tell you how to do it.
The Following User Says Thank You to cmlusco For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th March 2014, 07:59 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Awesome man, that was it. Had to update the firmware/radio and now it works like a charm! Thanks very much!
7th March 2014, 08:06 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Ok, so what I thought worked initially is no longer working . After I updated firmware/radio here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2485319 my phone started working correctly. After that I went on to download a HTC one color theme, and thats when problems started happening!

After I downloaded the theme and got my phone set up just the way I wanted it, it started freezing on me at the HTC splash screen. So after much deliberation I wiped everything back to the stock ROM and proceeded to reinstall my Viper 5.0 ROM and ElementalX kernel. During this process my phone went back to it's original problem of not wanting to give me any sound during phone calls. So I re-updated the firmware/radio again using the same zip file and steps that I had before from the link above ^^^ and my phone started restarting itself on its own, over and over. After I got into the recovery and yet again restored it back to stock roms and settings, the phone sound worked again. So, again, I installed the Viper 5.0 rom and elementalX kernel and checked to see if the phone was working properly, which everything was except for the phone sound (yet again). After another installation of the above firmware/radio update my phone decided to start restarting on its own again!!!

So currently I have wiped the ROM back to stock settings, and have not touched a thing! From what I understand there is not a problem with the ROM or the kernel (my brother is using the same files from my computer on his HTC one without any problems) but in my firmware/radio files. I have looked up a few firmware updates on my own but am hesitant to install them because I don't know if they're compatible with my phone/viper ROM. Again any help would be awesome, and I thank you in advance!!!!!!

-at wits end here
7th March 2014, 08:34 AM   |  #5  
santod040's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Recognized Contributor
Flag NorCal
Thanks Meter: 11,870
 
7,607 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMink10

Ok, so what I thought worked initially is no longer working . After I updated firmware/radio here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2485319 my phone started working correctly. After that I went on to download a HTC one color theme, and thats when problems started happening!

After I downloaded the theme and got my phone set up just the way I wanted it, it started freezing on me at the HTC splash screen. So after much deliberation I wiped everything back to the stock ROM and proceeded to reinstall my Viper 5.0 ROM and ElementalX kernel. During this process my phone went back to it's original problem of not wanting to give me any sound during phone calls. So I re-updated the firmware/radio again using the same zip file and steps that I had before from the link above ^^^ and my phone started restarting itself on its own, over and over. After I got into the recovery and yet again restored it back to stock roms and settings, the phone sound worked again. So, again, I installed the Viper 5.0 rom and elementalX kernel and checked to see if the phone was working properly, which everything was except for the phone sound (yet again). After another installation of the above firmware/radio update my phone decided to start restarting on its own again!!!

So currently I have wiped the ROM back to stock settings, and have not touched a thing! From what I understand there is not a problem with the ROM or the kernel (my brother is using the same files from my computer on his HTC one without any problems) but in my firmware/radio files. I have looked up a few firmware updates on my own but am hesitant to install them because I don't know if they're compatible with my phone/viper ROM. Again any help would be awesome, and I thank you in advance!!!!!!

-at wits end here

You only need to flash the firmware/radios one time.
If you read the firmware radio install instructions in my thread, you should be using the one without the Boot.img/kernel.
The stock kernel is not gonna work on Viper apparently.
So you either flash the firmware which includes the stock Boot.img and then flash your choice of custom rom, or flash custom rom and then flash the firmware without the Boot.img that I posted.
If you are getting the files from my thread, that's where the instructions and proper files are located.
But once you have flashed the firmware it doesn't change until you flash new firmware again, no point in doing it over and over.
Flash firmware then Viper or use the one I posted without the stock kernel(boot.img)

So if you have no sound after updating firmware, flashing Viper and then a custom kernel, the issue is your kernel/rom combo.
Last edited by santod040; 7th March 2014 at 08:38 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to santod040 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th March 2014, 08:44 AM   |  #6  
cmlusco's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Michigan City, IN
Thanks Meter: 932
 
3,146 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
You can flash any of the firmwares here http://vzw1files.dyndns.org/FIRMWARE/, or the ones from post 2 of santods stock rom thread in development. But it is recomended to match the firmware with the rom. So kk rom kk firmware, jb rom jb firmware. To me it sounds like a rom issue, a kernel issue, or a incompatibility between the two. But you said your bro is using it just fine so i dont know.

Does viper come with its own custom kernel built in, or does it just use the stock one?
7th March 2014, 06:00 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by santod040

You only need to flash the firmware/radios one time.
If you read the firmware radio install instructions in my thread, you should be using the one without the Boot.img/kernel.
The stock kernel is not gonna work on Viper apparently.
So you either flash the firmware which includes the stock Boot.img and then flash your choice of custom rom, or flash custom rom and then flash the firmware without the Boot.img that I posted.
If you are getting the files from my thread, that's where the instructions and proper files are located.
But once you have flashed the firmware it doesn't change until you flash new firmware again, no point in doing it over and over.
Flash firmware then Viper or use the one I posted without the stock kernel(boot.img)

So if you have no sound after updating firmware, flashing Viper and then a custom kernel, the issue is your kernel/rom combo.

Thanks Santod, so far that appeared to have done the trick. Stayed up well into the AM last night to get this phone figured out. I downloaded your firmware without the Boot.img, flashed the custom rom, and then flashed the firmware and everything has been working so far.

If I could ask you two more quick questions, What is the significance of having the Boot.img or not having the Boot.img? And if down the road I install a new ROM and factory reset the phone, wont I have to update the firmware again?
7th March 2014, 06:30 PM   |  #8  
santod040's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Recognized Contributor
Flag NorCal
Thanks Meter: 11,870
 
7,607 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMink10

Thanks Santod, so far that appeared to have done the trick. Stayed up well into the AM last night to get this phone figured out. I downloaded your firmware without the Boot.img, flashed the custom rom, and then flashed the firmware and everything has been working so far.

If I could ask you two more quick questions, What is the significance of having the Boot.img or not having the Boot.img? And if down the road I install a new ROM and factory reset the phone, wont I have to update the firmware again?

The Boot.img is basically the kernel and the files that initiate it(ramdisk).
If you are on a custom rom, you do not need nor want the stock kernel.
Most custom roms have a nice custom kernel included that is known to work on their rom.
If you simply wanted a stock rom and full stock firmware, then you would be using the stock kernel/boot.img.
As I stated above, the firmware doesn't change until you flash new firmware.
Flashing a new rom is not gonna overwrite the firmware, as it's done in fastboot, not in Recovery.
So if you flash a new rom, your firmware will not change and does not need to be flashed again until a newer one is posted.
A factory reset just resets your current rom to fresh install state, it doesn't effect firmware at all.

The Following User Says Thank You to santod040 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes