Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,173 Members 40,390 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

I want to use wifi calling on my AT&T s4, can load Tmobile ROM into my AT&T S4

Tip us?
 
trulegend
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Feb 2007
Info 2 I want to use wifi calling on my AT&T s4, can load Tmobile ROM into my AT&T S4

I want to use wifi calling on my AT&T s4, can I load Tmobile ROM into my AT&T S4 to use WIFI Calling?

thx
 
jzun223
Old
#2  
jzun223's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 179
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Peoria
The short answer is no.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk 2
 
GG2012
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 135
Join Date: May 2012


And to add, it's not a software deal. It's hardware/firmware related.
 
wavrunrx
Old
#4  
wavrunrx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 365
Posts: 904
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jzun223 View Post
The short answer is no.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk 2
the long answer is:

"No; no you can't."
 
ronin4740
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 67
Posts: 460
Join Date: Oct 2007
The a$$hat answer is "sure, go ahead!"

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk 2
Tmobile Galaxy S IV.
The Following User Says Thank You to ronin4740 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ccldb
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: Jul 2012
It's not the hardware on your S4, it's just ATT doesn't have the protocol enabled. If you have weak or no signal at home or office, you can try Google voice and pair it with Talkatone or GrooveIP or Mo+ etc etc...
 
KennyG123
Old
#7  
KennyG123's Avatar
RC-RT Committee / Senior Moderator / Spider-Mod
Thanks Meter 25519
Posts: 27,573
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Right behind you!

 
DONATE TO ME
Please read forum rules before posting
Questions and help issues go in Q&A
Thread moved
Thank you for your cooperation
Friendly Neighborhood Moderator

Moderator Directory - - - FORUM RULES - - - Support Autism Awareness here
 
WhosAsking
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 87
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by trulegend View Post
I want to use wifi calling on my AT&T s4, can I load Tmobile ROM into my AT&T S4 to use WIFI Calling?

thx
Let me elaborate. The feature is specific to genuine T-Mobile subscribers (MVNOs like SimpleMobile and Family Mobile are out of luck). The program IIRC checks against the SIM to make sure it's genuine T-Mobile, and IIRC it connects to servers specific to T-Mobile at the backend.
 
LancerEvoDrifter
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 64
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Houston
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhosAsking View Post
Let me elaborate. The feature is specific to genuine T-Mobile subscribers (MVNOs like SimpleMobile and Family Mobile are out of luck). The program IIRC checks against the SIM to make sure it's genuine T-Mobile, and IIRC it connects to servers specific to T-Mobile at the backend.
What if I use a T-Mobile Custom rom with a AT&T S4, Im a T-Mobile customer, can I still use wifi calling since i have it enabled it in my plan?
 
_eroz
Old
#10  
_eroz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 106
Posts: 451
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Brookfield, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by LancerEvoDrifter View Post
What if I use a T-Mobile Custom rom with a AT&T S4, Im a T-Mobile customer, can I still use wifi calling since i have it enabled it in my plan?
Yes as long as it is a TouchWiz Rom.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

The Following User Says Thank You to _eroz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes