Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Info 2 I want to use wifi calling on my AT&T s4, can load Tmobile ROM into my AT&T S4

OP trulegend

16th May 2013, 11:38 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
I want to use wifi calling on my AT&T s4, can I load Tmobile ROM into my AT&T S4 to use WIFI Calling?

thx
16th May 2013, 11:46 PM   |  #2  
jzun223's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Peoria
Thanks Meter: 17
 
180 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
The short answer is no.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk 2
16th May 2013, 11:57 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
136 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012


And to add, it's not a software deal. It's hardware/firmware related.
17th May 2013, 04:13 AM   |  #4  
wavrunrx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 394
 
928 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jzun223

The short answer is no.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk 2

the long answer is:

"No; no you can't."
17th May 2013, 05:24 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 69
 
469 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
The a$$hat answer is "sure, go ahead!"

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to ronin4740 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th May 2013, 07:36 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
It's not the hardware on your S4, it's just ATT doesn't have the protocol enabled. If you have weak or no signal at home or office, you can try Google voice and pair it with Talkatone or GrooveIP or Mo+ etc etc...
17th May 2013, 01:18 PM   |  #7  
KennyG123's Avatar
RC-RT Committee / Senior Moderator / Spider-Mod
Flag Right behind you!
Thanks Meter: 27,333
 
28,997 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
Please read forum rules before posting
Questions and help issues go in Q&A
Thread moved
Thank you for your cooperation
Friendly Neighborhood Moderator
17th May 2013, 09:56 PM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
91 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by trulegend

I want to use wifi calling on my AT&T s4, can I load Tmobile ROM into my AT&T S4 to use WIFI Calling?

thx

Let me elaborate. The feature is specific to genuine T-Mobile subscribers (MVNOs like SimpleMobile and Family Mobile are out of luck). The program IIRC checks against the SIM to make sure it's genuine T-Mobile, and IIRC it connects to servers specific to T-Mobile at the backend.
31st August 2013, 03:09 AM   |  #9  
LancerEvoDrifter's Avatar
Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 13
 
91 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhosAsking

Let me elaborate. The feature is specific to genuine T-Mobile subscribers (MVNOs like SimpleMobile and Family Mobile are out of luck). The program IIRC checks against the SIM to make sure it's genuine T-Mobile, and IIRC it connects to servers specific to T-Mobile at the backend.

What if I use a T-Mobile Custom rom with a AT&T S4, Im a T-Mobile customer, can I still use wifi calling since i have it enabled it in my plan?
31st August 2013, 04:39 AM   |  #10  
_eroz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Brookfield, IL
Thanks Meter: 117
 
469 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by LancerEvoDrifter

What if I use a T-Mobile Custom rom with a AT&T S4, Im a T-Mobile customer, can I still use wifi calling since i have it enabled it in my plan?

Yes as long as it is a TouchWiz Rom.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

The Following User Says Thank You to _eroz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes