Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,809,495 Members 37,083 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

From VZW to ST (Succesfully)

Tip us?
 
McTerry
Old
(Last edited by McTerry; 1st May 2014 at 02:38 AM.) Reason: Updated
#1  
McTerry's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 28
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Bakersfield

 
DONATE TO ME
Talking From VZW to ST (Succesfully)

Well it worked! I had crossed fingers and a chest full of dread as I began the move from Verizon to Straight Talk. Read many a post that said it could be done, some that said it couldn't, and a few nightmare posts about something going wrong. I did this with a rooted, but otherwise un-modded Galaxy S4. No added ROM's, kernels, or hacked or cracked anything. I'm not even sure you need to root it, but I was bored the other day and thought I would give it a shot.

I went to Straight Talk and ordered the SIM card kit for the BYOP program which was a $55 investment with the 30 day time card. I chose the AT&T Micro Sim Package which doesn't matter as the SIM I received was a normal sized SIM with a micro break away cut out as well.
I fired up the Registration/Activation page from Straight Talk, filled out all the info being sure to use the SIM card serial in place of the MEID/IMEI, and ported over my number from Verizon. Verizon has no PIN, you just need to provide them with your Verizon password for your account.
After that, I called ST which was a PITA but I wanted to make sure everything went through fine. After hearing the verbal warning about how the SCH-I454 may or may not work with their service, and hearing how there is no refunds for the SIM card or the time card, I said go ahead and activate the SIM. He did so after reading me about three pages of BS and then telling me it could take up to 2 days for the number to be ported.

I continued to play with the phone with the VZW SIM in it until it went dead (about 30 minutes later), then switched out the SIM and began the conversion.

Added new APN settings as follows:
settings/connections/more networks/mobile networks/access point names

APN Name: Straight Talk
APN: tfdata
Port: 80
MMSC: http://mms-tf.net
MMS Proxy: mms3.tracfone.com
MMS Port: 80
Save and restart phone.
(Note: At first I had no data, after freaking out and searching the website in a panic. I was starting to lose hope when I looked down and noticed, hey there it is. So just give it a minute or two before you panic.)

Global Mode Speed Test Results with 2 bars of H service: 253 Ping - 0.98 Mbps Down - 0.58 Mbps Up
GSM Mode Speed Test Results with 2 bars of H service: 351 Ping - 1.63 Mbps Down - 0.38 Mbps Up

Global Mode vs. GSM Mode:
Make sure your phone is set to Global Mode or GSM Mode by going here:
settings/connections/more networks/mobile networks/network mode


Voicemail:
I noticed I had a Voicemail icon, but when I clicked on it, it routed me into the *63 loop of "Call can not be completed, blah blah".
This is due to Verizon using a different access for voicemail than ST. It is easily fixed.
Go to settings/my device/call/voicemail settings/voicemail numbers
and enter your cell number.
Now when you click on the VM icon or press and hold the 1 key, it will take you to your VM.
If you have a VM icon stuck on your screen, simply call your cell from a different number, leave a VM, then retrieve and delete it and it should disappear.

Verizon Bloatware Removal (sort of):
I figured since I wasn't on Verizon anymore, I could go ahead and get rid of the VZW bloatware all over this thing. There are ways to do it, that I found on these forums but I'm not very savvy when it comes to installing ROM's and such on phones so I chose to just play it safe and go to
settings/more/applications manager/all
and Turning Off everything that said or started with "Verizon".

Day 2: Continuation of Self Education
So I started receiving annoying pop up messages asking me to sign into my Verizon account. I could menu tab out of it, but it was mucho annoying. So I started digging deeper into this glorious website and the forums and learning about Safe Strap, ROM's, and flashing modules.
This led me down a bright path.

I ended up following the directions on this site in regards to installing Safe Strap v3.71 from Hashcode and the RootJunky (Tomsgt) Youtube installation video. Backing up the Stock ROM and then decided on the Hyperdrive RLS14 from sbreen94. Following the directions as outlined in the RootJunky (Tomsgt) YouTube videos, everything installed easily and I had zero issues.
Now in order to use Safe Strap, you will need root access, but finding that information on here is fairly easy. Easiest way is to search for the Tomsgt post where he links a lot of his videos. I believe it is even a sticky.

If like me, you are brand new to this whole thing and a little intimidated, it's okay. Just take your time, don't get in any hurry. Watch the installation videos prior to beginning your own installation, and just be careful. You are in good hands here.

Continued Discovery:
One of the side effects of switching over to ST from VZW was the addition of having the + sign added to calls in the call log. Now this didn't affect making calls or sending texts via your contact list, but if you tried to call back from the call log, the carrier assumed you were trying to make an international call and would drop it.
There is no way to fix it via the Calling options in settings but I did find a work around. An app by the name of Prefixer, put out by 253°Below (253below.com).
With this app, you can set rules to drop the + sign from outgoing and incoming calls. It's still going to show up in your call log, but when you tap a name or missed call to call them back, Prefixer automatically removes the added symbol and everything works like a peach!

Reclaiming Device Space:
Flashed HyperDrive RLS15 over the stock ROM this morning. Flashed the Modules before reboot and after install. Only issue I had was TouchWiz Home crashing on occasion, but a kindly soul on here told me it looked like it was an issue associated with restoring data. Although I didn't restore data, I also chose to just flash over the Stock ROM and use the installers Wipe/Factory Reset option instead of wiping the ROM slot first (Dumb move). All I had to do was boot into recovery with SafeStrap and Wipe the new ROM, reboot, and good to go. Now have close to 6Gigs of free space on the Flashed Stock ROM.

Update 13th April 2014 at 10:52 AM:
Over a month in now and everything is still working fine!

Update 30th April 2014 at 06:36 PM:
Got a new job that takes me all over the state of California and can absolutely confirm that I have 4G LTE from ST on this phone, with the above APN, when I am in an area that supports it.
The Following 12 Users Say Thank You to McTerry For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
klabit87
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 177
Posts: 547
Join Date: Jul 2011
have you gotten 4g to work with your at&t sim? the bands are both the same so just curious.
If I have helped please hit the thanks button!
------------------------------------------------------
Verizon Samsung Galaxy S4
Rom: [ROM] Eclipse S4 TW - v4.0.2 (6/25/14) - Real AOSP styling!! KitKat has arrived!!!
Recovery: [RECOVERY LOCKED] Safestrap Recovery v3.71/v3.72 [2014-04-02 KK Beta]
Bootloader: MJ7
 
McTerry
Old
#3  
McTerry's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 28
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Bakersfield

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by klabit87 View Post
have you gotten 4g to work with your at&t sim? the bands are both the same so just curious.

I haven't even tried. I may look into that a bit more and see what I can find. I tried a few different listed APN's, but to no avail.
The Following User Says Thank You to McTerry For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
klabit87
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 177
Posts: 547
Join Date: Jul 2011
Cool thanks. I would definitely appreciate it. My friend is looking at switching so I'm trying to help him out. I think I may have read somewhere that the 4g capability was dependent on the sim card number.
If I have helped please hit the thanks button!
------------------------------------------------------
Verizon Samsung Galaxy S4
Rom: [ROM] Eclipse S4 TW - v4.0.2 (6/25/14) - Real AOSP styling!! KitKat has arrived!!!
Recovery: [RECOVERY LOCKED] Safestrap Recovery v3.71/v3.72 [2014-04-02 KK Beta]
Bootloader: MJ7
 
lazer9
Old
#5  
lazer9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 419
Posts: 1,590
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hermitage, PA

 
DONATE TO ME
I'm told in my area that the Straight Talk service uses Verizon towers. Does that sound plausible? If so, I imagine the switch over would even be less of a hassle $70 a month savings sure sounds tempting as my contract runs out this fall.
Verizon Galaxy S4 w/ Safestrap Recovery v3.72 & ★[ROM][AUG 27][AROMA] Hyperdrive KK RLS18.1 ¯`•._ ║ Tweaks ★ w/ NC2 Bootloader -On Stock Side!...

Gear w/ Tizen NE9-Rooted

Asus Transformer TF300T : ROM★★★TF300 KitKat 4.4.4-CROMBi-kk-RC3.1-Sep 7★★★

 
McTerry
Old
(Last edited by McTerry; 3rd May 2014 at 05:01 PM.)
#6  
McTerry's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 28
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Bakersfield

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by klabit87 View Post
Cool thanks. I would definitely appreciate it. My friend is looking at switching so I'm trying to help him out. I think I may have read somewhere that the 4g capability was dependent on the sim card number.
It doesn't look like ST has 4G in my area, so I can't really help out with that other than just making wild guesses and such which wouldn't really be any help to anyone. Sorry.


Quote:
Originally Posted by lazer9 View Post
I'm told in my area that the Straight Talk service uses Verizon towers. Does that sound plausible? If so, I imagine the switch over would even be less of a hassle $70 a month savings sure sounds tempting as my contract runs out this fall.
I believe they do, but it's all really dependent on phone model and area. You won't be able to use an S4 on a Verizon tower through ST. You would need to have ATT or TM service in that area to support the GSM for the Galaxy S4.
 
chriskader
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 43
Posts: 263
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Malvern

 
DONATE TO ME
Verizon S4 will not work on ATT LTE, but will work on 3G. This is due to different LTE bands. As far as ST using Verizon, the older CDMA ST phones use verizon. ST is moving towards GSM hkwever.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Verizon Note 3 with Rick's Rom
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to chriskader For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
bikoman1
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 33
Join Date: Dec 2008
I just moved to ST, I am getting Hspa+ speeds most places. I will take that for $45 a month compared to $80+

Sent from my SCH-I545 using xda app-developers app
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to bikoman1 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
McTerry
Old
(Last edited by McTerry; 9th March 2014 at 11:34 PM.)
#9  
McTerry's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 28
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Bakersfield

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by bikoman1 View Post
I just moved to ST, I am getting Hspa+ speeds most places. I will take that for $45 a month compared to $80+

Sent from my SCH-I545 using xda app-developers app
I hear ya! Now if only I could figure out how to remove the + from in front of phone numbers...

Figured it out! Edited OP, info can be found at the bottom of the post.
 
swordmastr54
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 218
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Houston
Quote:
Originally Posted by bikoman1 View Post
I just moved to ST, I am getting Hspa+ speeds most places. I will take that for $45 a month compared to $80+

Sent from my SCH-I545 using xda app-developers app
So your on att sim or Verizon ,I'd be interested in Verizon st anybody got any ways.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes