Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Enabling the GSM radio

OP DiamondJay20

29th July 2012, 09:00 AM   |  #1  
DiamondJay20's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 102
 
439 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
I did a SIM card check on Surfing Dino's SIM info app, and this phone does have a SIM card. We know that the other Galaxy S3s have GSM capabilities, and Verizon is releasing an OTA soon to allow global roaming. While Sprint's SIM is embedded, it wouldn't be too hard to access it with a knife and cut the plastic, or order a backpiece of ebay. Can someone work on, or is someone working on finding a way to hack this, or verify if the Sprint version could be hacked to support a GSM update? I heard someone hacked the Verizon Galaxy Nexus to do this.

I'd love to take my GS3 around the world and sell my Photon.
29th July 2012, 09:18 AM   |  #2  
freeza's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Pasadena, CA
Thanks Meter: 10,022
 
4,327 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
Donate to Me
More
The Sprint version's SIM card is for LTE.
29th July 2012, 09:23 AM   |  #3  
DiamondJay20's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 102
 
439 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by freeza

The Sprint version's SIM card is for LTE.

I know that, and I know SIM cards are why Verizon has them in their 4G LTE phones. But as Verizon is releasing an update to the Rezound, Spectrum, Razr (reg. and Maxx), and their version of the Galaxy S3, I'd assume the SIM card function in both Sprint and Verizon Galaxy S3's is the same inside the US, as they're both CDMA carriers.

What I wanna know is if the SIM card could possibly be taken out, replaced with a foreign SIM and put back in if a hack could be developed to allow GSM use/roaming on the Sprint Galaxy S3.
29th July 2012, 09:34 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
137 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by DiamondJay20

I know that, and I know SIM cards are why Verizon has them in their 4G LTE phones. But as Verizon is releasing an update to the Rezound, Spectrum, Razr (reg. and Maxx), and their version of the Galaxy S3, I'd assume the SIM card function in both Sprint and Verizon Galaxy S3's is the same inside the US, as they're both CDMA carriers.

What I wanna know is if the SIM card could possibly be taken out, replaced with a foreign SIM and put back in if a hack could be developed to allow GSM use/roaming on the Sprint Galaxy S3.

its different from a SIM card even tho it looks exactly like one. It only has the network info required to use lte for that particular provider. The contents of those chips arent modifiable
Last edited by s3xda; 29th July 2012 at 09:36 AM.
29th July 2012, 09:49 AM   |  #5  
DiamondJay20's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 102
 
439 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
I know, but I mean if a firmware hack which could enable GSM roaming when the Sprint SIM is out would b possible, also to see if the Sprint SIM is welded to the thing or not

Sent from my SPH-L710 using xda app-developers app
29th July 2012, 10:26 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 45
 
374 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by DiamondJay20

I know, but I mean if a firmware hack which could enable GSM roaming when the Sprint SIM is out would b possible, also to see if the Sprint SIM is welded to the thing or not

Sent from my SPH-L710 using xda app-developers app

Not "welded" soldered.. lol

Sent from my SPH-L710 using xda app-developers app
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to tdwp16 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th July 2012, 03:03 PM   |  #7  
jbadboy2007's Avatar
Senior Member
Lansing MI
Thanks Meter: 255
 
1,894 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Dont count on it and this should have been in the general section.
29th July 2012, 04:03 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Flag york
Thanks Meter: 2
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
There is no removable sim in the sprint galaxy s3. I repair phone for a living. There is a component on the board that controls the radio frequencies.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using xda app-developers app
29th July 2012, 04:55 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 211
 
1,561 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
This phone doesn't have a gsm radio, correct?
29th July 2012, 05:41 PM   |  #10  
elfhater's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New York/New Orleans
Thanks Meter: 87
 
252 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nabbed

This phone doesn't have a gsm radio, correct?

As far as I know, no. And "enabling" it would be impossible because we only have an embedded LTE SIM; even if we could desolder it a regular GSM SIM wouldn't work (at least from what I understand).

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes