FORUMS

Android 5.1.1 Omni ROM For Motorola Xoom

Back in Feb 2011, the Motorola Xoom became the first device to be sold with Android 3.0 … more

CleanSlate Brings Fingerprint Scanner Mod to HTC One M9+

Work of XDA Recognized Developer tbalden, CleanSlate custom kernel for the HTC … more

Sunday Debate: Which Factors Caused HTC’s Woes?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on HTC’s situation. Come with your … more

HTC’s New Ad Campaign And What It Really Means

HTC has just released three new blind test adverts comparing app loading … more

Wifi not turning on

7 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By alexapi32, Junior Member on 6th March 2014, 08:32 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I've had this problem for over 2-3 months now.
It happened when I updated my ROM to the newest Cm11 kit kat ROM.
I tried flashing different versions, currently i reverted my ROM to an older 4.2.2 CM 10.1 ROM thinking it would solve the problem but it still remains.
The wifi button is grayed out, and is always saying "Turning wifi on...". However, when I go into wifi (where the said msg is) i can change the button but it doesn't make a difference.
Bluetooth too doesn't work (the button won't stay on "ON")
Last edited by alexapi32; 6th March 2014 at 08:41 PM.
 
 
7th March 2014, 12:37 AM |#2  
rzr86's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Nafpaktos
Thanks Meter: 2,337
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexapi32

I've had this problem for over 2-3 months now.
It happened when I updated my ROM to the newest Cm11 kit kat ROM.
I tried flashing different versions, currently i reverted my ROM to an older 4.2.2 CM 10.1 ROM thinking it would solve the problem but it still remains.
The wifi button is grayed out, and is always saying "Turning wifi on...". However, when I go into wifi (where the said msg is) i can change the button but it doesn't make a difference.
Bluetooth too doesn't work (the button won't stay on "ON")

if you are on S-OFF use wifix manager app and see how it goes
otherwise check the antenna which is responsible for wifi in the back cover and see if it makes connection
try to lift it up gently
7th March 2014, 02:41 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I tried using WiFix manager and all I think it did was change the region code to which ever country I set it.
Although it gives me an error when i try checking for updates.
I'm not sure about the antenna though (tried nudging it), don't think it's a hardware problem since I can't get Wifi to turn on and search for networks.
Edit: I get no or weak reception without the cover, should that happen?
Last edited by alexapi32; 7th March 2014 at 02:53 PM.
7th March 2014, 02:43 PM |#4  
rzr86's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Nafpaktos
Thanks Meter: 2,337
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexapi32

I tried using WiFix manager and all I think it did was change the region code to which ever country I set it.
Although it gives me an error when i try checking for updates.
I'm not sure about the antenna though (tried nudging it), don't think it's a hardware problem since I can't get Wifi to turn on and search for networks.

what error do you have?
did you try to use a ruu.exe?
7th March 2014, 04:03 PM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
When i dial *#94349# i get "Connection problem or invalid MMI" whilst I'am connected to the internet via 3G (it works).
And, no. I haven't used ruu.exe.
8th March 2014, 12:20 AM |#6  
rzr86's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Nafpaktos
Thanks Meter: 2,337
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexapi32

When i dial *#94349# i get "Connection problem or invalid MMI" whilst I'am connected to the internet via 3G (it works).
And, no. I haven't used ruu.exe.

hmm,
i can't suggest you anything else except of the ruu option
9th March 2014, 07:59 PM |#7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rzr86

hmm,
i can't suggest you anything else except of the ruu option

What should I be trying to achieve with the ruu.exe?
9th March 2014, 08:11 PM |#8  
NextGenGTR's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 144
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexapi32

What should I be trying to achieve with the ruu.exe?

Hey, my wifi works when i take the cover off but with it on it doesnt work....it happened randomly.
9th March 2014, 08:49 PM |#9  
rzr86's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Nafpaktos
Thanks Meter: 2,337
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexapi32

What should I be trying to achieve with the ruu.exe?

it restores everything back to stock
then you can check if wifi works
if it still fails then probably it is hardware failure

try also NextGenGTR's suggestion
9th March 2014, 09:07 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 23
 
More
I have 3 phones with the same issue. One is S-Off and custom firmware and ROM, two are completely stock. It isn't a hardware issue for sure. It came due to some software bug. I don't know is it a bug in firmware, in radio or in kernel...
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes