Post Reply

MK1 and root

15th February 2014, 10:42 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Hey guys,
I was wondering if someone could help me a little. I just bought this tablet (2014 version) and it has MK1.
I am trying to read information on how to root it but can't figure it out. I tried to flash autoroot with odin but it errored. I didn't find mk1 autoroot anywhere so i used autorootp600.mj4.tar.md5. Is there autoroot for MK1 and i can use? Also i guess i will need to have custom recovery file for my stock OS, where do i get that?
Thank you in advance for all the help.

Edit: I finally located autoroot for mk1 and it worked. But i do have a question: why do we need to flash it with Stock Recovery after? btw i am using this tutorial : http://theunlockr.com/2013/12/17/roo...-2014-edition/
Last edited by stamina11; 15th February 2014 at 10:58 PM. Reason: Figured out the issue.
15th February 2014, 10:59 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 354
 
1,503 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
What version do you have?

P600 (wifi only)
P601 (3g)
P605 (lte)
?

They have different chipsets and different root methods.

[e] I see you have found the correct version if you want to get OTA updates you need to flash stock recovery so your device status is not custom. But it basically doesn't matter since you can always flash updates through odin. You may choose a custom recovery that offers you a lot of cool features instead.
Last edited by clouds5; 15th February 2014 at 11:06 PM.
15th February 2014, 11:06 PM   |  #3  
kkretch's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag near Pittsburgh
Thanks Meter: 410
 
890 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by stamina11

Hey guys,
I was wondering if someone could help me a little. I just bought this tablet (2014 version) and it has MK1.
I am trying to read information on how to root it but can't figure it out. I tried to flash autoroot with odin but it errored. I didn't find mk1 autoroot anywhere so i used autorootp600.mj4.tar.md5. Is there autoroot for MK1 and i can use? Also i guess i will need to have custom recovery file for my stock OS, where do i get that?
Thank you in advance for all the help.

Edit: I finally located autoroot for mk1 and it worked. But i do have a question: why do we need to flash it with Stock Recovery after? btw i am using this tutorial : http://theunlockr.com/2013/12/17/roo...-2014-edition/

I believe...... so you can still get OTA updates and some functions like All Share Cast may not work if you don't.
15th February 2014, 11:18 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 354
 
1,503 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
The thing is, even if you have stock recovery but modify your system in other ways like uninstall alot of bloatware or use busybox your status will be custom anyway so I recommend a custom recovery for the safety of using backups etc.
15th February 2014, 11:18 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Thank you guys for responding so quickly.
It's starting to make sense.
My device is Wifi only so SM-P600 (mk1). I rooted it but haven't flashed with stock recovery. Would you guys recommend i do a custom recovery or keep it stock? Where do i get stock recovery from? i can't seem to find it.
15th February 2014, 11:27 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by clouds5

The thing is, even if you have stock recovery but modify your system in other ways like uninstall alot of bloatware or use busybox your status will be custom anyway so I recommend a custom recovery for the safety of using backups etc.

Yea i definitely plan on de-bloating it. So where do you get custom recovery?
15th February 2014, 11:33 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 354
 
1,503 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2515656

Check this thread
15th February 2014, 11:42 PM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by clouds5

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2515656

Check this thread

Ok, that makes sense i went though it. So i see that there is ClockMod and TWRP and GooManager, do they do pretty much the same thing?
15th February 2014, 11:56 PM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
So as far as Roms go, i see that in Development section there are few ROMs available but some say they are for MJ9 or ML1, i cannot use those on my MK1 right? Do ROMs from note 10.1 (2013) work on this device? Is there a list of ROMs that would work on my device.
Sorry, guys i know these are newb questions but i just could never figure out some of this stuff.
24th February 2014, 08:14 PM   |  #10  
Member
Somewhere on earth, I guess.
Thanks Meter: 3
 
51 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by stamina11

Ok, that makes sense i went though it. So i see that there is ClockMod and TWRP and GooManager, do they do pretty much the same thing?

I got the same question here. Any help?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes