Post Reply

Stock Rom Slot hypothetical failure

8th March 2014, 01:34 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
113 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Hi guys,

I'm debating if I should flash Hyperdrive RLS 14 on my stock slot in safestrap. Would I still flash the modules (I have mk2 )? Also, what would I flash in odin just in case if I encounter some problem? Would I flash the no wipe image or the full wipe image of the stock mk2?

Anndddd! last question... can you restore a backup of a rom slot 1 onto the stock slot?
8th March 2014, 02:22 AM   |  #2  
k1mu's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Virginia
Thanks Meter: 1,552
 
1,910 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymondlikesroot

Hi guys,

I'm debating if I should flash Hyperdrive RLS 14 on my stock slot in safestrap. Would I still flash the modules (I have mk2 )? Also, what would I flash in odin just in case if I encounter some problem? Would I flash the no wipe image or the full wipe image of the stock mk2?

Anndddd! last question... can you restore a backup of a rom slot 1 onto the stock slot?

I don't think you need to flash the kernel modules if you live dangerously and flash over the stock slot. However, it can't hurt to flash the MK2 modules. They're tiny, after all.

If you have problems, you may be able to fix it with a no-wipe. Otherwise, full-wipe will get it back.
If I were you, I'd download them both and verify MD5 sums before flashing over the stock slot. Then it's pretty easy to get something functional back.

Yes, Safestrap will let you flash a backup of slot one over stock. Will it work? Dunno. If you try it, please let us know.
The Following User Says Thank You to k1mu For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th March 2014, 03:34 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Bel Air
Thanks Meter: 49
 
435 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by k1mu

I don't think you need to flash the kernel modules if you live dangerously and flash over the stock slot. However, it can't hurt to flash the MK2 modules. They're tiny, after all.

If you have problems, you may be able to fix it with a no-wipe. Otherwise, full-wipe will get it back.
If I were you, I'd download them both and verify MD5 sums before flashing over the stock slot. Then it's pretty easy to get something functional back.

Yes, Safestrap will let you flash a backup of slot one over stock. Will it work? Dunno. If you try it, please let us know.

For what it's worth, I've flashed Hyperdrive to the stock slot with no trouble at all. I'm pretty sure I'm not the only one to do so.
8th March 2014, 03:51 AM   |  #4  
k1mu's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Virginia
Thanks Meter: 1,552
 
1,910 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by douger1957

For what it's worth, I've flashed Hyperdrive to the stock slot with no trouble at all. I'm pretty sure I'm not the only one to do so.

Yes, it'll probably work. For the kind of people who ask this - given how often it's been already asked and answered - it's better to recommend that they spend the time to understand the risk.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Top Threads in Verizon Samsung Galaxy S 4 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank