Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Safestrap rom-slot bootloops

OP greaterevl

7th March 2014, 08:26 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Hello All, I am a major lurker here on xda, but this time I am stumped completely. I am not new to flashing, I have done it on a total of 3 of my devices, including the razrhd which used safestrap as well.

Anyway, on to my dilemma, I bought my S4 late and it came pre installed with ME7 (I know it sucks right?) so safestrap it was, I have rooted using safe root, and installed safestrap no problems at all, went smooth as silk. the problem comes whenever I try to flash a safestrap compatible TW based rom. For instance I attempted HD14 last night and it installed fine, but after installation it just bootloops, I let my phone sit for 20~ minutes last night because someone mentioned it could take up to 10 minutes, it just sat there and heated up to the point that I had it sitting in my windowsill with the cold air coming in on it so it wouldn't melt.

I have tried a few other roms including eclipse. all to the same avail, a never ending bootloop. Any guidance would be appreciated greatly.

My Current build is: MK2
7th March 2014, 09:39 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 316
 
996 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by greaterevl

Hello All, I am a major lurker here on xda, but this time I am stumped completely. I am not new to flashing, I have done it on a total of 3 of my devices, including the razrhd which used safestrap as well.

Anyway, on to my dilemma, I bought my S4 late and it came pre installed with ME7 (I know it sucks right?) so safestrap it was, I have rooted using safe root, and installed safestrap no problems at all, went smooth as silk. the problem comes whenever I try to flash a safestrap compatible TW based rom. For instance I attempted HD14 last night and it installed fine, but after installation it just bootloops, I let my phone sit for 20~ minutes last night because someone mentioned it could take up to 10 minutes, it just sat there and heated up to the point that I had it sitting in my windowsill with the cold air coming in on it so it wouldn't melt.

I have tried a few other roms including eclipse. all to the same avail, a never ending bootloop. Any guidance would be appreciated greatly.

My Current build is: MK2


ME7 is 4.2 based. HD14 is 4.3 based. You would have to update your original build to 4.3 in order for these Roms to work.
7th March 2014, 10:45 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Im sorry, I should have made it more clear, as stated at the bottom of my post, I am currently running MK2, but my phone came with me7 so I was unable to go back to mdk.

Still encountering this issue.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
7th March 2014, 11:27 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Decatur
Thanks Meter: 828
 
2,437 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by greaterevl

Im sorry, I should have made it more clear, as stated at the bottom of my post, I am currently running MK2, but my phone came with me7 so I was unable to go back to mdk.

Still encountering this issue.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Did u verify md5 of your downloads. ....just to be clear. ..you create a rom slot and installed hd14 to that rom slot?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
7th March 2014, 11:50 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by decaturbob

Did u verify md5 of your downloads. ....just to be clear. ..you create a rom slot and installed hd14 to that rom slot?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Yes the MD5 matches, and I have created a new rom slot (rom slot 1) and when I install the rom it shows the new boot screen, but just sits there forever and never progresses past it to the activation stage or anything else.
7th March 2014, 11:59 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Decatur
Thanks Meter: 828
 
2,437 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by greaterevl

Yes the MD5 matches, and I have created a new rom slot (rom slot 1) and when I install the rom it shows the new boot screen, but just sits there forever and never progresses past it to the activation stage or anything else.

Ok..you can go back to stock slot and boot to stock rom ok right?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

---------- Post added at 04:59 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:58 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by greaterevl

Yes the MD5 matches, and I have created a new rom slot (rom slot 1) and when I install the rom it shows the new boot screen, but just sits there forever and never progresses past it to the activation stage or anything else.

You installed the mk2 kernel patch after flashing rom?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
8th March 2014, 12:01 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by decaturbob

Ok..you can go back to stock slot and boot to stock rom ok right?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Yeah, Thats working fine thank goodness lol
8th March 2014, 12:12 AM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by decaturbob

Ok..you can go back to stock slot and boot to stock rom ok right?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

---------- Post added at 04:59 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:58 PM ----------



You installed the mk2 kernel patch after flashing rom?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Yes, I patched that over the fresh install prior to the post install reboot.
8th March 2014, 12:40 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag Decatur
Thanks Meter: 828
 
2,437 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Delete hd rom slot and start over...make min aroma selections be sure u select the right kernel...you can't use the custom kernel selection

Sent from my SCH-I545 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
8th March 2014, 01:29 AM   |  #10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by decaturbob

Delete hd rom slot and start over...make min aroma selections be sure u select the right kernel...you can't use the custom kernel selection

Sent from my SCH-I545 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Deleting and remaking the rom slot seems to have worked. Although I am unsure why haha, it was a new Rom Slot already.

Am I able to go back and add extras after I install it? like all the AOSP apps that it had listed and such?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes