FORUMS

What Are the Best Looking Apps on Android?

As more developers are updating their apps with Material Design elements, we’re … more

Cyngn Explained: Who’s Cyanogen, What’s Cyanogen OS?

While Cyanogen, Inc has been the source of many headlines lately, there … more

Verizon Moto X 2014 Receives Root On Kitkat 4.4.4

The Verizon Moto X 2014 has finally received root, albeit only on Kitkat 4.4.4 … more

Android 5.1.1 Released, Google Cell Service – XDA TV

Android Lollipop 5.1.1 has been released. That and much more news is covered … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Thumbs up How to fix softbrick s4 (confirm is working)

2nd May 2013, 07:59 PM |#1  
norbarb's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Crest Hill
Thanks Meter: 858
 
Donate to Me
More
Hey guys i just check and samsung kies are supporting samsung galaxy s4 now ( i got att version). Can someone who have softbrick phone try this metod : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1984717


1. Start Kies, They can be find HERE
2.Click Tools-> Firmware upgrade and initilazation
3.Type in model of your phone for example AT&T is : SGH-I337 ( all in capital letters) click OK.
4.Then type serial number off the stcker under battery also in capital letters click OK
5.There will be info about firmware click OK
6.Info about software version. Put your phone in download mode then connect to PC using orginal USB cable, click OK
7. Follow info on screen.
8. Phone will reboot by itself when all is done correctly.

To try this you need to be able to put phone in download mode. I just restore my S4 to factory settings using this metod. Let me know..
Good luck all.
Last edited by norbarb; 2nd May 2013 at 11:32 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to norbarb For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
2nd May 2013, 08:20 PM |#2  
scott14719's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 815
 
More
This is good news. I mentioned kies for softbricks back when the root method first surfaced but it didn't support the phones yet. Now that it does, Maybe Sammobile can make the stock firmware available. Just because the bootloader is still locked doesn't mean development can't begin before the unlock method is revealed.
2nd May 2013, 10:15 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Flag Farmingdale Ny
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
trying now! i have hope because this time when i entered in my s/n it said kies needed to be updated opposed to last time when it came back with nothing available for your device give me a few minutes to confirm if it works

---------- Post added at 05:15 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:07 PM ----------

did not work it still says that its not supported

@norbarb where did you see that its now supported?
2nd May 2013, 10:22 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 46
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ericos123

trying now! i have hope because this time when i entered in my s/n it said kies needed to be updated opposed to last time when it came back with nothing available for your device give me a few minutes to confirm if it works

---------- Post added at 05:15 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:07 PM ----------

did not work it still says that its not supported

@norbarb where did you see that its now supported?

I have ripped the image from Kies and I am uploading it now. I'll post a link soon.
The Following User Says Thank You to flinttownbrown For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd May 2013, 10:34 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Farmingdale Ny
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by flinttownbrown

I have ripped the image from Kies and I am uploading it now. I'll post a link soon.

just want to clarify, you have the image from kies for the SGH-I337?
2nd May 2013, 10:35 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 46
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ericos123

just want to clarify, you have the image from kies for the SGH-I337?

Yep. I am uploading it to my dumptruck right now and I will have a link for you as soon as it is done.


Thread is here.
2nd May 2013, 10:44 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Flag Farmingdale Ny
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by flinttownbrown

Yep. I am uploading it to my dumptruck right now and I will have a link for you as soon as it is done.


Thread is here.

hmmm wonder why mine didnt connect gonna reinstall kies and reboot maybe just a fluke

---------- Post added at 05:44 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:37 PM ----------

How i fixed my bricked SGS4 back to factory


1. Start Kies
2.Click Tools-> Firmware upgrade and initialization
3.Type in model of your phone SGH-I337 ( all in capital letters) click OK.
4.Then type serial number off the sticker under battery also in capital letters click OK
5.You will need to update kies (or at least i did)
6.There will be info about firmware before you click OK, connect your phone in download mode
7. Make sure you are using the official cable that shipped with the SGS4
8. Follow info on screen.
9. Phone will reboot by itself when all is done correctly.

this is what worked for me cannot guarantee it will work for you, good luck guys!
2nd May 2013, 10:53 PM |#8  
norbarb's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Crest Hill
Thanks Meter: 858
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ericos123

hmmm wonder why mine didnt connect gonna reinstall kies and reboot maybe just a fluke

---------- Post added at 05:44 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:37 PM ----------

How i fixed my bricked SGS4 back to factory


1. Start Kies
2.Click Tools-> Firmware upgrade and initialization
3.Type in model of your phone SGH-I337 ( all in capital letters) click OK.
4.Then type serial number off the sticker under battery also in capital letters click OK
5.You will need to update kies (or at least i did)
6.There will be info about firmware before you click OK, connect your phone in download mode
7. Make sure you are using the official cable that shipped with the SGS4
8. Follow info on screen.
9. Phone will reboot by itself when all is done correctly.

this is what worked for me cannot guarantee it will work for you, good luck guys!

That what is in my post just is about most samsung devices.
2nd May 2013, 10:57 PM |#9  
norbarb's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Crest Hill
Thanks Meter: 858
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ericos123

trying now! i have hope because this time when i entered in my s/n it said kies needed to be updated opposed to last time when it came back with nothing available for your device give me a few minutes to confirm if it works

---------- Post added at 05:15 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:07 PM ----------

did not work it still says that its not supported

@norbarb where did you see that its now supported?

When i connected my phone (at&t SGH-I337) to pc and run kies. Also i check if Firmware Upgrade and Initalisation is working so i backup my phone and did whole process. My phone restart and get back to what i get from store.
2nd May 2013, 11:21 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Flag Farmingdale Ny
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by norbarb

That what is in my post just is about most samsung devices.

yeah i just wrote what i had to specifically do like the update of kies and it only worked when i was in download mode to begin with it was finicky
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20130502_181736.jpg
Views:	572
Size:	244.0 KB
ID:	1930794  
The Following User Says Thank You to ericos123 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes