Android App Review: Manage Your Connections Automagically – XDA TV

Material Design is all the buzz in the Android world right now. … more

Official TWRP Recovery Lands on Micromax Canvas Magnus

With the recent release of Android One, Micromax and MediaTek released fully buildable … more

Update Overload: SuperSU Heavily Updated

There are apps and apps out there. Very few can reach the level of popularity required to stay at … more

Lollipop Leak Available for the Sprint Galaxy S5

Since the Android 5.0Lollipop’s official release not too long ago, we’ve seen … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Phone said I had a virus while on this site?

OP jammC

8th March 2014, 10:20 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
I got a brand new HTC One a day ago, was on this site and I got a popup saying something along the lines of
"Your android has a virus press ok to delete it" with the options of Cancel and Ok.

I did press Cancel cause I thought it was a fake popup, but I do have Lookout installed and the lookout site scanners says that I've visited 22 sites, and 21 were safe so there was 1 site that I visited that was unsafe I guess, but is there anyway for me to see the sites scanned on Lookout?

I do not believe the 'virus' came from xda developers, or maybe I don't have one at all but I am paranoid about these type of things.

I did do a Lookout scan and it said everything was fine..

Will a factory reset do the trick incase I do have a virus? Or will I need to reformat?

Thanks.
8th March 2014, 10:57 PM   |  #2  
androidrocks23's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 110
 
209 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Donate to Me
More
I don't think it's a virus nowadays most of the websites push a popup saying that you have a virus so plz start the scan if you click on it???
You will be redirected to their website saying that you have to download the app.....!

So don't worry enjoy your browsing


Sent from my GT-S5360 Using tapatalk 2

PreSS ThanKs If i HelPeD YoU ?!?
The Following User Says Thank You to androidrocks23 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th March 2014, 03:33 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by androidrocks23

I don't think it's a virus nowadays most of the websites push a popup saying that you have a virus so plz start the scan if you click on it???
You will be redirected to their website saying that you have to download the app.....!

So don't worry enjoy your browsing


Sent from my GT-S5360 Using tapatalk 2

PreSS ThanKs If i HelPeD YoU ?!?


I just got the same popup while visiting this site on another android phone. I'm pretty sure the problem is coming from one of the ad providers on this site.

will post a pic if anyone is interested
9th March 2014, 06:10 AM   |  #4  
androidrocks23's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 110
 
209 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Donate to Me
More
Then plz post the pics !!!

Sent from my GT-S5360 Using tapatalk 2

PreSS ThanKs If i HelPeD YoU ?!?
9th March 2014, 08:08 AM   |  #5  
tommypacker's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 1,647
 
1,047 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Donate to Me
More
I wonder what kind of site your visiting... Anyways, just ignore the popup and hit the back button
9th March 2014, 08:50 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Donate to Me
More
No no no no
That's a fake virus alert. It's a piece of javascript that sends the text to the browser, so the message looks like it's coming from the system. You can use an actual computer and get the same pup-up, and it will look very real because it's coming up in an actual browser message instead of an advertisement or pop-up or something similar. It's a small piece of javascript, click cancel every time, and try not to visit sites like that mmkay?

Edit: after reading jammC's post about an "ad-provider" causing the message that's very possible. There could be a piece of javascript embedded into one of the advertisements. It's not uncommon.
Last edited by WeActOnImpulse; 9th March 2014 at 09:05 AM.
9th March 2014, 10:17 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 148
 
176 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Donate to Me
More
Its simple! These "fakes" tell you there is a virus (when there isn't) and install their own software, which are actually spies. So becareful when browsing.. After all, you are on the internet

Sent from my GT-S5830 using Tapatalk 2
9th March 2014, 11:13 AM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommypacker

I wonder what kind of site your visiting... Anyways, just ignore the popup and hit the back button

I'm only getting it on this site

this site as in xda developers

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes