Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,786,823 Members 42,540 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Hacked Sprint Hotspot No Internet Connection

Tip us?
 
mjhuffer
Old
#1  
mjhuffer's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 91
Posts: 516
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Indianapolis
Default Hacked Sprint Hotspot No Internet Connection

I'm on the newest sense rom from Captain Throwback but this has been happening to me since I was back on MeanBean. I can turn my Hotpot on and I get no errors and I can connect with my laptop, tablet, and desktop. On each of these devices, they connect just fine, but there is no Internet Connection. I have tried absolutely everything, Changing security settings, changing SSID, changing password, changing advanced settings, and trying the hacks below.

I've even tried the fix here:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...2509613&page=2

I've even tried removing and adding all the build prop edits from MeanBean

This used to work no problem and I cannot pinpoint when it stopped working. I'm guessing it has something to do in my MSID settings or something on the cellular level. I don't think it is a hardware issue because I got WifiTether for root users to work.

Please any help would be awesome. I've literally tried everything

Please don't recommend me to use WIFI Tether. I'm not a fan of that app and my stock app should be working.
HTC One M8 Gunmetal
Sense Rom: Bad Boyz v1.5
Software Version: 2.16.654.4 Android 4.4.3 Sense 6.0
Kernel: Stock 3.4.0-g5fd9b03
Baseband: 1.08.20.0612_4
Hardware Version: 0005
PRL: 51101
PRI: 2.62_003
Recovery: TWRP 2.7.1.0 thanks to Captain_Throwback
Bootloader: Firewater S-Off & 3.18.0.0000 No Red Text thanks to nfinitefx45 and RegawMod
 
Captain_Throwback
Old
#2  
Captain_Throwback's Avatar
Retired Moderator / Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 9,068
Posts: 10,410
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bensalem, PA

 
DONATE TO ME
There is an updated hack recently posted in my thread - did you try that?

And technically, unless you have a tethering plan, it shouldn't be working, so you may want to think about that statement a bit.
Device 1: HTC One (M8)/831C | Hardware Version: 0005

Baseband: 1.08.20.0612_4 | PRI: 2.62_003 | PRL: 56019
Recovery: TWRP 2.7.1.0

Device 2: HTC Jewel/PJ75100 (EVO 4G LTE) | Hardware Version: 0003

Baseband: 1.13.11.1105 | PRI: 3.02_003 | PRL: 56018
Recovery: TWRP 2.7.1.0b

Device 3: HTC Shooter/PG86100 (EVO 3D) | Hardware Version: 0002
Baseband: 1.09.00.0108 | PRI: 1.55_003 | PRL: 22100
Recovery: TWRP 2.7.1.0

Device 4: HTC Supersonic/PC36100 (EVO 4G) | Hardware Version: 0004
Baseband: 2.15.00.01.15 | PRI: 2.33_003 | PRL: 40460
Recovery: TWRP 2.7.1.0
 
mjhuffer
Old
#3  
mjhuffer's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 91
Posts: 516
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Indianapolis
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain_Throwback View Post
There is an updated hack recently posted in my thread - did you try that?

And technically, unless you have a tethering plan, it shouldn't be working, so you may want to think about that statement a bit.
I understand all that but I figured it you didn't have it on your plan, the error 69 would come up when trying to start it. I thought when is was hacked, Sprint wouldn't be able to see how your data was being used. On second hand, I do use a great deal of data so maybe I was flagged. Yes I did try the latest hotspot hack but I will flash again.
HTC One M8 Gunmetal
Sense Rom: Bad Boyz v1.5
Software Version: 2.16.654.4 Android 4.4.3 Sense 6.0
Kernel: Stock 3.4.0-g5fd9b03
Baseband: 1.08.20.0612_4
Hardware Version: 0005
PRL: 51101
PRI: 2.62_003
Recovery: TWRP 2.7.1.0 thanks to Captain_Throwback
Bootloader: Firewater S-Off & 3.18.0.0000 No Red Text thanks to nfinitefx45 and RegawMod
 
mjhuffer
Old
#4  
mjhuffer's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 91
Posts: 516
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Indianapolis
Ya nothing happened when I flashed the hotspot hack. This is just so weird. Any other suggestions would be awesome. I think this all started when I flashed the 3.17 firmware. I almost want to try flashing it again but I will have to unlock my bootloader again.
HTC One M8 Gunmetal
Sense Rom: Bad Boyz v1.5
Software Version: 2.16.654.4 Android 4.4.3 Sense 6.0
Kernel: Stock 3.4.0-g5fd9b03
Baseband: 1.08.20.0612_4
Hardware Version: 0005
PRL: 51101
PRI: 2.62_003
Recovery: TWRP 2.7.1.0 thanks to Captain_Throwback
Bootloader: Firewater S-Off & 3.18.0.0000 No Red Text thanks to nfinitefx45 and RegawMod
 
mjhuffer
Old
#5  
mjhuffer's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 91
Posts: 516
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Indianapolis
Ok so I've been doing a lot of testing and I've figured something out. When I drop the Network Mode to CDMA only, the hotspot works just fine. Does anybody else have problems with the hotspot when you are in LTE/CDMA mode with the stock app? I remember this being a problem way way back but I thought it was fixed or at least the app would only use CDMA data.
HTC One M8 Gunmetal
Sense Rom: Bad Boyz v1.5
Software Version: 2.16.654.4 Android 4.4.3 Sense 6.0
Kernel: Stock 3.4.0-g5fd9b03
Baseband: 1.08.20.0612_4
Hardware Version: 0005
PRL: 51101
PRI: 2.62_003
Recovery: TWRP 2.7.1.0 thanks to Captain_Throwback
Bootloader: Firewater S-Off & 3.18.0.0000 No Red Text thanks to nfinitefx45 and RegawMod
 
FesterCluck
Old
#6  
FesterCluck's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 9
Join Date: Apr 2011
Yes. I had this same issue. Iptables isn't playing nice. I recommend JB Wifi Tether, it's been working flawlessly.

Sent from my EVO using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to FesterCluck For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mjhuffer
Old
(Last edited by mjhuffer; 3rd March 2014 at 06:19 PM.)
#7  
mjhuffer's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 91
Posts: 516
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Indianapolis
Quote:
Originally Posted by FesterCluck View Post
Yes. I had this same issue. Iptables isn't playing nice. I recommend JB Wifi Tether, it's been working flawlessly.

Sent from my EVO using xda app-developers app
Have you found anything around the web to fix this? I can't call into Sprint and complain obviously.

What does the JB Wifi Tether app do? It seems to replace some things within the IPtables. Is there some way to create a script to do this automatically on a reboot so i can delete the app? Can I delete jtether once a run it once?

I personally want to try this script.
http://albertomilone.com/?p=581
I'll give it a shot and let you know.

This guy here also has something going. Basically I want to be able to select it from my quick setting and not have to open the app every time.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/nexu...ering-t2416822
HTC One M8 Gunmetal
Sense Rom: Bad Boyz v1.5
Software Version: 2.16.654.4 Android 4.4.3 Sense 6.0
Kernel: Stock 3.4.0-g5fd9b03
Baseband: 1.08.20.0612_4
Hardware Version: 0005
PRL: 51101
PRI: 2.62_003
Recovery: TWRP 2.7.1.0 thanks to Captain_Throwback
Bootloader: Firewater S-Off & 3.18.0.0000 No Red Text thanks to nfinitefx45 and RegawMod
 
mjhuffer
Old
#8  
mjhuffer's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 91
Posts: 516
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Indianapolis
So JB Wifi Tether works great. Just kinda suck you have to open an app to get tethering working. Anybody know of any scripts for the iptables that work at bootup?
HTC One M8 Gunmetal
Sense Rom: Bad Boyz v1.5
Software Version: 2.16.654.4 Android 4.4.3 Sense 6.0
Kernel: Stock 3.4.0-g5fd9b03
Baseband: 1.08.20.0612_4
Hardware Version: 0005
PRL: 51101
PRI: 2.62_003
Recovery: TWRP 2.7.1.0 thanks to Captain_Throwback
Bootloader: Firewater S-Off & 3.18.0.0000 No Red Text thanks to nfinitefx45 and RegawMod
 
memekmek
Old
#9  
memekmek's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 76
Posts: 386
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Illinois
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjhuffer View Post
So JB Wifi Tether works great. Just kinda suck you have to open an app to get tethering working. Anybody know of any scripts for the iptables that work at bootup?
to me, that seems like a great fix.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes