Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,266 Members 41,859 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Galaxy S4 SGH-i337 4.4.2 root help!

Tip us?
 
CCSUBlackhawk
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Mar 2014
Default [Q] Galaxy S4 SGH-i337 4.4.2 root help!

Sorry if I posted this in the wrong place or if there is already a thread about this. If there is, I couldn't find it. I really want to root my phone to use it as a mobile wifi hotspot for my tablet and I am having a really hard time trying to find a link to a forum or a youtube video about how to root my phone. So far, I have only found root tutorials for models other than mine. Do I just have an obscure phone model or is it just more difficult to root? I have wanted to do this for quite some time now so any help is appreciated!
 
CAG-man
Old
#2  
CAG-man's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 124
Posts: 260
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Athens, Ohio

 
DONATE TO ME
4.4.2 is a new release so currently there is not a root method. As of my last reading there is some significant progress in finding a root method. This is definitely not an obscure phone model. Just a brand new update that developers are still working to root.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The CAG-MAN

AT&T I337 Galaxy S4
NB1 Kit Kat Firmware
Work around Rooted (Thanks to all who worked on that method)

Galaxy Tab 3 10.1 GT-P5210
WiFi Only
CAGrom Beta
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to CAG-man For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
CCSUBlackhawk
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by CAG-man View Post
4.4.2 is a new release so currently there is not a root method. As of my last reading there is some significant progress in finding a root method. This is definitely not an obscure phone model. Just a brand new update that developers are still working to root.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Thanks, hopefully there will be soon!
 
ted77usa
Old
(Last edited by ted77usa; 15th March 2014 at 05:05 AM.)
#4  
ted77usa's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3048
Posts: 2,097
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Fog City

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCSUBlackhawk View Post
Thanks, hopefully there will be soon!
@CCSUBlackhawk actually there is work around method to get root and install custom 4.4 rom.... Follow my thread http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2663545 and Check our Deadly Venom kitkat magic tool thread http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2680868 also if u want to install pre rooted 4.4 custom rom.......here's the first two 4.4 custom that able to boot using Our kitkat magic tool.... http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=51088546 ....Goodluck. ....PM me if you have any question or need more help.....[emoji106]

Swyped From MK2 Dark Venom SS Edition
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ted77usa For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
XxSHaDoWxSLaYeRxX
Old
#5  
XxSHaDoWxSLaYeRxX's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 226
Posts: 1,076
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Houston
Quote:
Originally Posted by ted77usa View Post
@CCSUBlackhawk actually there is work around method to get root and install custom 4.4 rom.... Follow my thread http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2663545 and Check our Deadly Venom kitkat magic tool thread http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2680868 also if u want to install pre rooted 4.4 custom rom.......here's the first two 4.4 custom that able to boot using Our kitkat magic tool.... http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=51088546 ....Goodluck. ....PM me if you have any question or need more help.....[emoji106]

Swyped From MK2 Dark Venom SS Edition
Is there any workaround for this, as this seems like a pain not being able to mount system in recovery.
Phones:
iPhone 3GS>HTC Vivid 4G LTE>Samsung Galaxy SIV (black then red)
ROM:
Death Stalker X1 (black) PACrom 4.4.2 (red)
Tablets:
Google Asus Nexus 7
ROM:
PACrom 4.4.2
PS3:
CFW v4.53 spoofed to 4.55; HABIB/Cobra 7.00 payload
DROPBOX
BING REWARDS
If I Helped You Please Feel Free To Press The Button.
The Following User Says Thank You to XxSHaDoWxSLaYeRxX For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
DeadlySin9
Old
#6  
DeadlySin9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 583
Posts: 1,200
Join Date: Sep 2012

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by XxSHaDoWxSLaYeRxX View Post
Is there any workaround for this, as this seems like a pain not being able to mount system in recovery.
This is the only option. All you have to do to mount system is a quick flash of one package in ODIN, and then you just have to do another ODIN after you finish flashing in recovery. It's not that bad really.
Current Device: ATT Samsung Galaxy S4 (i337)

Past Devices:
Droid Bionic (GSM Hacked)
HTC Inspire 4G (Desire HD)
Nexus One
Motorola Backflip
HTC Dev Phone 1 (Dream/G1)
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to DeadlySin9 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
XxSHaDoWxSLaYeRxX
Old
#7  
XxSHaDoWxSLaYeRxX's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 226
Posts: 1,076
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Houston
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeadlySin9 View Post
This is the only option. All you have to do to mount system is a quick flash of one package in ODIN, and then you just have to do another ODIN after you finish flashing in recovery. It's not that bad really.
Ehh, I want to upgrade but it just seems like a pain to be tethered to a computer when you need to flash. Maybe I'm making a big deal over nothing, idk.

Sent from my Nexus 7 via Tapatalk 4
Phones:
iPhone 3GS>HTC Vivid 4G LTE>Samsung Galaxy SIV (black then red)
ROM:
Death Stalker X1 (black) PACrom 4.4.2 (red)
Tablets:
Google Asus Nexus 7
ROM:
PACrom 4.4.2
PS3:
CFW v4.53 spoofed to 4.55; HABIB/Cobra 7.00 payload
DROPBOX
BING REWARDS
If I Helped You Please Feel Free To Press The Button.
The Following User Says Thank You to XxSHaDoWxSLaYeRxX For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
DeadlySin9
Old
#8  
DeadlySin9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 583
Posts: 1,200
Join Date: Sep 2012

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by XxSHaDoWxSLaYeRxX View Post
Ehh, I want to upgrade but it just seems like a pain to be tethered to a computer when you need to flash. Maybe I'm making a big deal over nothing, idk.

Sent from my Nexus 7 via Tapatalk 4
Not being able to flash and restore backups on the go definitely is a downside, so this definitely isn't for flashaholics or people who want their flashable mods wherever they are. It's a matter of whether you're willing to take time to set it up stable all at once or just chill back until things are updated (root method and safestrap namely)
Current Device: ATT Samsung Galaxy S4 (i337)

Past Devices:
Droid Bionic (GSM Hacked)
HTC Inspire 4G (Desire HD)
Nexus One
Motorola Backflip
HTC Dev Phone 1 (Dream/G1)
The Following User Says Thank You to DeadlySin9 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
XxSHaDoWxSLaYeRxX
Old
#9  
XxSHaDoWxSLaYeRxX's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 226
Posts: 1,076
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Houston
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeadlySin9 View Post
Not being able to flash and restore backups on the go definitely is a downside, so this definitely isn't for flashaholics or people who want their flashable mods wherever they are. It's a matter of whether you're willing to take time to set it up stable all at once or just chill back until things are updated (root method and safestrap namely)
Yeah, i tend to flash quite a few zips on the go, and not being able to is a big downside.
Phones:
iPhone 3GS>HTC Vivid 4G LTE>Samsung Galaxy SIV (black then red)
ROM:
Death Stalker X1 (black) PACrom 4.4.2 (red)
Tablets:
Google Asus Nexus 7
ROM:
PACrom 4.4.2
PS3:
CFW v4.53 spoofed to 4.55; HABIB/Cobra 7.00 payload
DROPBOX
BING REWARDS
If I Helped You Please Feel Free To Press The Button.
The Following User Says Thank You to XxSHaDoWxSLaYeRxX For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mbison83
Old
(Last edited by mbison83; 30th March 2014 at 09:35 PM.)
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 105
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Hello. I have the same problem. I am trying to unlock my sgh-i337 with Android OS 4.4.2, but first wanted to root it. I was able to install the superuser app but when launched an error pops upon installation. Help anyone?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes