Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,770,879 Members 43,397 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Cannot S-Off with Firewater or Rumrunner

Tip us?
 
Bl00dRunzC0ld
Old
(Last edited by Bl00dRunzC0ld; 2nd March 2014 at 04:27 AM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 50
Posts: 562
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Spokane WA
Default Cannot S-Off with Firewater or Rumrunner

Edit: Got it working. Thanks for all the help

Need some help. I've been trying to S-off my Max but I'm unable to. I've tried Firewater and I get no error. It just says opening bottle 1, chugging, then goes right back to command line.

Rumrunner gives me an error about extracting files. I have everything setup in my platform tools folder.

I am on Hboot 2.46, Sprint Max. I'm unlocked by htcdev, rooted, and twrp recovery installed. I really need to figure out how to s-off. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
 
treetolber
Old
#2  
treetolber's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 195
Posts: 846
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Las Vegas
Are you sure you have the correct drivers installed completely? When I did it I hit problems and it turned out that my drivers were not installed completely.

Sent from my HTC0P3P7 using Tapatalk
 
Bl00dRunzC0ld
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 50
Posts: 562
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Spokane WA
Quote:
Originally Posted by treetolber View Post
Are you sure you have the correct drivers installed completely? When I did it I hit problems and it turned out that my drivers were not installed completely.

Sent from my HTC0P3P7 using Tapatalk
I installed htc sync manager, got the drivers from there because adb wasn't recognizing the device, once it was recognized, i uninstalled htc sync manager like the instructions for firewater and rumrunner say, went through the firewater instructions and nothing. I then tried rumrunner and get the error.
 
treetolber
Old
#4  
treetolber's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 195
Posts: 846
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Las Vegas
I installed HTC sync and left it installed, just disabled it once I plugged into the usb. Then I ran through the rumrunner forum. Beyond that, I really can't say since I'm not a dev or a programmer.

Sent from my HTC0P3P7 using Tapatalk
 
Bl00dRunzC0ld
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 50
Posts: 562
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Spokane WA
Quote:
Originally Posted by treetolber View Post
I installed HTC sync and left it installed, just disabled it once I plugged into the usb. Then I ran through the rumrunner forum. Beyond that, I really can't say since I'm not a dev or a programmer.

Sent from my HTC0P3P7 using Tapatalk
Thanks for taking the time to try and help. I've been working at this for about 3 hours now and it's driving me crazy.
 
treetolber
Old
#6  
treetolber's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 195
Posts: 846
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Las Vegas
No prob. Did you try posting question in the rum runner forum?

Sent from my HTC0P3P7 using Tapatalk
 
liehuo
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 30
Posts: 478
Join Date: May 2008
You sure you installed fastboot and abd properly? Here is the installation files for both:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2588979

Try reinstalling again may help.
 
Bl00dRunzC0ld
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 50
Posts: 562
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Spokane WA
Quote:
Originally Posted by liehuo View Post
You sure you installed fastboot and abd properly? Here is the installation files for both:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2588979

Try reinstalling again may help.
Yes. I just had to stop putting the rumrunner files in the platform tools folder. Made an s-off folder, then put platform tools and rumrunner folders in it and it worked like a charm.
 
Wonders_Never_Cease
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 377
Posts: 874
Join Date: Jul 2013

 
DONATE TO ME
Version of windows?
 
fuzzynco
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 415
Join Date: Oct 2008
After verifying that fastboot and adb worked properly, I just followed the
section for stock, locked devices, like Verizon's.

push temproot, push firewater,
adb shell
chmod 755 both files
run the temproot file (takes a long time)
run firewater, everything worked.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes