Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,781,180 Members 40,062 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

New to G Pro not sure about a few things

Tip us?
 
optimusv45
Old
#1  
optimusv45's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 116
Posts: 807
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Huntington, WV
Default New to G Pro not sure about a few things

Coming from att optimus g. I see a lot of mentions of baseband , what is it ? Are e988 roms be used on e980 ?
 
Nigglenuts
Old
#2  
Nigglenuts's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 49
Posts: 223
Join Date: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by optimusv45 View Post
Coming from att optimus g. I see a lot of mentions of baseband , what is it ? Are e988 roms be used on e980 ?
You can use the e988 ROMs on an e980 with no issues. As for the baseband, you might have to flash the BM9615a baseband, or suffer from no deep sleep

Sent from my LG-E980 using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to Nigglenuts For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
optimusv45
Old
#3  
optimusv45's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 116
Posts: 807
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Huntington, WV
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nigglenuts View Post
You can use the e988 ROMs on an e980 with no issues. As for the baseband, you might have to flash the BM9615a baseband, or suffer from no deep sleep

Sent from my LG-E980 using xda app-developers app
What is baseband ? Is it like radio and modem ?
 
Nigglenuts
Old
#4  
Nigglenuts's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 49
Posts: 223
Join Date: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by optimusv45 View Post
What is baseband ? Is it like radio and modem ?
Yes, its a modem.

Sent from my LG-E980 using xda app-developers app
 
optimusv45
Old
(Last edited by optimusv45; 9th March 2014 at 08:09 PM.)
#5  
optimusv45's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 116
Posts: 807
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Huntington, WV
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nigglenuts View Post
Yes, its a modem.

Sent from my LG-E980 using xda app-developers app
Usually someone would create a thread to include all the available radios/modem/baseband...(why call different names when all the same) do we have a thread like that here ?

Edit: found att radio from houstonns thread
 
optimusv45
Old
#6  
optimusv45's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 116
Posts: 807
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Huntington, WV
I saw a guide for lg flash tool but can't find it now anymore. Can someone that knows where its at give me a link to it ?

Edit : found it , nevermind
 
Nigglenuts
Old
#7  
Nigglenuts's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 49
Posts: 223
Join Date: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by optimusv45 View Post
I saw a guide for lg flash tool but can't find it now anymore. Can someone that knows where its at give me a link to it ?

Edit : found it , nevermind
You can just flash a zip. Why use the flash tool?

Sent from my LG-E980 using xda app-developers app
 
optimusv45
Old
#8  
optimusv45's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 116
Posts: 807
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Huntington, WV
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nigglenuts View Post
You can just flash a zip. Why use the flash tool?

Sent from my LG-E980 using xda app-developers app
Again I'm new to the device so don't know everything and all variants in one forum is very confusing. I guess when you don't have a working recovery or wanna go back to 100% stock
 
Neroga
Old
#9  
Neroga's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 531
Posts: 1,264
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Saint Cloud, Florida
Use this recovery, here. Been using it since it's release and have had no flashing problems.
https://db.tt/bQeSgkEJ
Flash it in whatever recovery you're using then reboot into recovery and you're good to go.

Sent from my Carbon LG-E980
 
optimusv45
Old
#10  
optimusv45's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 116
Posts: 807
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Huntington, WV
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neroga View Post
Use this recovery, here. Been using it since it's release and have had no flashing problems.
https://db.tt/bQeSgkEJ
Flash it in whatever recovery you're using then reboot into recovery and you're good to go.

Sent from my Carbon LG-E980
I know with the optimus g, there are kitkat recovery and prior to kitkat recovery (excuse my lack of fancy terms)... Kitkat ones can't flash 4.3 and below roms, non-kitkat recoveries can't flash kitkat. Is it the same situation with G Pro ?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes