Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Black Screen

OP Jewfro180

8th March 2014, 05:31 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Hello everyone!
So I had some issues in the past with getting to the recovery mode on the Galaxy S4 i337.
Eventually, I was able to using odin. (YAY) So I wanted to erase the phone so I could start from scratch.
I wiped the data, and rebooted.

HERE IS THE ISSUE!
I turn on the phone, and I'm greeted with the Galaxy S4 logo. After a few seconds, the screen goes black with the LED pulsing white and blue. The screen is still black when the back and menu lights turn on (at this point the LED stops pulsing) and I know the touch screen works because when I touch the screen, the back and menu lights turn back on after being off from inactivity. The screen, on the other hand, is still black.
I can still see the Download mode and Recovery mode fine when I go into them. But for some reason, the screen is still black after the Samsung logo, preventing me from setting up my phone.
Any Help??

Thanks!
Josh
8th March 2014, 04:28 PM   |  #2  
norbarb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Crest Hill
Thanks Meter: 804
 
1,482 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jewfro180

Hello everyone!
So I had some issues in the past with getting to the recovery mode on the Galaxy S4 i337.
Eventually, I was able to using odin. (YAY) So I wanted to erase the phone so I could start from scratch.
I wiped the data, and rebooted.

HERE IS THE ISSUE!
I turn on the phone, and I'm greeted with the Galaxy S4 logo. After a few seconds, the screen goes black with the LED pulsing white and blue. The screen is still black when the back and menu lights turn on (at this point the LED stops pulsing) and I know the touch screen works because when I touch the screen, the back and menu lights turn back on after being off from inactivity. The screen, on the other hand, is still black.
I can still see the Download mode and Recovery mode fine when I go into them. But for some reason, the screen is still black after the Samsung logo, preventing me from setting up my phone.
Any Help??

Thanks!
Josh

What firmware are you on?? If you on NB1 go here : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2674223 and download odin version of NB1 and flash by odin. If you on MK2 go here : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2621279 same with odin files. On MF3 go here : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2502003..
The Following User Says Thank You to norbarb For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th March 2014, 03:02 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by norbarb

What firmware are you on?? If you on NB1 go here : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2674223 and download odin version of NB1 and flash by odin. If you on MK2 go here : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2621279 same with odin files. On MF3 go here : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2502003..

I'm not quite sure. It's running stock firmware for ATT. That's all I know.
9th March 2014, 03:38 AM   |  #4  
norbarb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Crest Hill
Thanks Meter: 804
 
1,482 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jewfro180

I'm not quite sure. It's running stock firmware for ATT. That's all I know.

If you get to recovery on top of screen you got firmware on your phone.
9th March 2014, 04:11 AM   |  #5  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 4,014
 
11,421 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
Do a factory reset in the stock recovery
9th March 2014, 04:31 AM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639

Do a factory reset in the stock recovery

I did that once already, And now recovery wont show up. The Blue text comes us that it's booting into recovery, but then it just restarts before I get into recovery.
9th March 2014, 04:39 AM   |  #7  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 4,014
 
11,421 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jewfro180

I did that once already, And now recovery wont show up. The Blue text comes us that it's booting into recovery, but then it just restarts before I get into recovery.

I assume you've tried odin again? If so I think you'll have to warranty the device.
9th March 2014, 05:41 AM   |  #8  
norbarb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Crest Hill
Thanks Meter: 804
 
1,482 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jewfro180

I did that once already, And now recovery wont show up. The Blue text comes us that it's booting into recovery, but then it just restarts before I get into recovery.

Just after you feel vibration let go of power button and keep holding volume up + home button. This will get you to recovery.
9th March 2014, 05:49 AM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by norbarb

Just after you feel vibration let go of power button and keep holding volume up + home button. This will get you to recovery.

ok I'm now in recovery <3e>
Cant find the firmware
Here is what it says on the Bottom

# MANUAL MODE #
-- Appling Multi-CSC...
Applied the CSC-code : ATT
9th March 2014, 03:12 PM   |  #10  
norbarb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Crest Hill
Thanks Meter: 804
 
1,482 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jewfro180

ok I'm now in recovery <3e>
Cant find the firmware
Here is what it says on the Bottom

# MANUAL MODE #
-- Appling Multi-CSC...
Applied the CSC-code : ATT

On left top.. red writing..

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes