Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,731,698 Members 48,900 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[MOD] AT&T LG G2 KitKat Smaller Navigation Bar and Disable CarrierIQ

Tip us?
 
burningembers
Old
(Last edited by burningembers; 9th March 2014 at 11:16 PM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 189
Posts: 394
Join Date: Sep 2010
Default [MOD] AT&T LG G2 KitKat Smaller Navigation Bar and Disable CarrierIQ

Disclaimer: I typically modify to meet my own needs, on my own time, for my own device. This means that it might not be a mod meant for everyone, nor has it been thoroughly tested by anyone but myself. Use at your own risk.

Description: Modifies framework-res.apk in /system/framework to disable the loading of CarrierIQ on start-up as well as shrink the margins on the navigation bar for a little more screen real estate. This has only been tested and used on Stock AT&T LG G2 4.4 KitKat.

Link: https://db.tt/IoEgdIsr

Instructions: Back-up your current framework-res.apk in /system/framework then replace it with this one.

Notes:
  • CarrierIQ no longer shows 7 running processes via System Tuner on boot. To me, this indicates it is no longer being loaded. Otherwise, if you want, you can use System Tuner -> System -> Android System [Details] -> uncheck each of 7 CarrierIQ processes to do it manually.
  • This is a simple dimens.xml modification. Nothing major.
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to burningembers For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
matthewcb4
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 39
Join Date: Dec 2010
After replacing file with root explorer I went into a boot loop... Now I am afraid that I am going to have to completely restore my phone.
I know this is pretty straight forward but your file didn't work.
 
podagee
Old
#3  
podagee's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 245
Posts: 1,369
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: kahului
need to know if anyone was successful with this mod yet. do not want to go into a bootloop or force closes.
AT&T LG G2(Black)-SOLD
AT&T LG G-Flex-completely stock
"Its not the device....its operator error."

 
muffinflesh
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 32
Join Date: Jan 2011
Also waiting for others to confirm this working first.
If only Xposed were working.
 
podagee
Old
#5  
podagee's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 245
Posts: 1,369
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: kahului
gonna flag this because it just crashes phones..... i just did it and i really dont think its funny.

---------- Post added at 12:07 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:04 AM ----------

Do not do it a full restore i needed after applying this so called mod>

---------- Post added at 12:12 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:07 AM ----------

i am actually kind of mad that this messed up my phone and took multiple tries to get into download mode. now i have to redo everything.
AT&T LG G2(Black)-SOLD
AT&T LG G-Flex-completely stock
"Its not the device....its operator error."

The Following User Says Thank You to podagee For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
gunlock4real
Old
(Last edited by gunlock4real; 10th March 2014 at 01:41 PM.)
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 13
Join Date: Mar 2010
This work perfect for me, here how i did it
First backup my framework apk
second i copied the mod framework apk to system folder
then i set 644 permission for it
finally i move and replace it to framework folder
restart rightaway and it work

thanks OP for the mod file
btw maybe you should shrink the navbar a little less, it way too thin in my opion
 
joshuadjohnson22
Old
(Last edited by joshuadjohnson22; 10th March 2014 at 03:52 PM.)
#7  
joshuadjohnson22's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 782
Posts: 2,152
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Atlanta

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by podagee View Post
gonna flag this because it just crashes phones..... i just did it and i really dont think its funny.

---------- Post added at 12:07 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:04 AM ----------

Do not do it a full restore i needed after applying this so called mod>

---------- Post added at 12:12 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:07 AM ----------

i am actually kind of mad that this messed up my phone and took multiple tries to get into download mode. now i have to redo everything.
This works great. Use root explorer and set permissions. Don't forget to make a nandroid backup if you can.

Download the apk from OP, then:

1. I copied over the framework after renaming it. (I just added a 2 at the end)
2. Then I set permissions (I just checked all the boxes... why not). At this point it would be a good idea to backup your original framework apk in case you want to restore.
3. Then I named it properly and over wrote the original (removed the 2)
4. I rebooted.


I somewhat disagree with the post above, I wouldn't mind it being a little smaller.

I am running this on the D800 running the androiduser's power user D802 base ROM.

@burningembers can you make one that will get rid of the volume and brightness sliders? Thanks!

Sent from my LG-D800 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1394461760292.jpg
Views:	863
Size:	84.6 KB
ID:	2623330  
If I have helped you out, it doesn't hurt to hit that thanks button!
Current:
LG G2
LG G Pad 8.3
Previous Devices:
 
Nokia 6225, Razr V3i, Nokia 6682, Nokia N73, Sony Ericson w810i, HTC S710, HTC Touch, iPhone, iPhone 3G Black, iPhone 3GS Black, iPhone 4 Black, Samsung Galaxy S2 Black, iPhone 4 Black (again), Pantech Burst Black, HTC One X grey, Samsung Galaxy S4 Black, HTC One Black, HTC One Silver, Galaxy S4 Active Urban Grey, LG G2 Black(current)

..also had multiple "Go Phones"
The Following User Says Thank You to joshuadjohnson22 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
gunlock4real
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 13
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshuadjohnson22 View Post
This works great. Use root explorer and set permissions. Don't forget to make a nandroid backup if you can.

Download the apk from OP, then:

1. I copied over the framework after renaming it. (I just added a 2 at the end)
2. Then I set permissions (I just checked all the boxes... why not). At this point it would be a good idea to backup your original framework apk in case you want to restore.
3. Then I named it properly and over wrote the original (removed the 2)
4. I rebooted.


I somewhat disagree with the post above, I wouldn't mind it being a little smaller.

I am running this on the D800 running the androiduser's power user D802 base ROM.

@burningembers can you make one that will get rid of the volume and brightness sliders? Thanks!

Sent from my LG-D800 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
the Navbar is fine in portrait but if you put the phone in landscape and you'll see the icon on it doesnt fix, it still ok but look amateur
 
th3g1z
Old
(Last edited by th3g1z; 10th March 2014 at 06:11 PM.)
#9  
th3g1z's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 85
Posts: 185
Join Date: Mar 2011
Thanks heatshiver the nav bar smaller is nice. I'm still detecting Carrier IQ though .. Doing it manually with android tuner I would disable all of the items under android system? Thanks again bud

Edit: you probably already have this info but just in case or anyone else wanting to take a crack at totally disabling it (if possible)

Binaries:
/system/lib/libiq_client.so
/system/lib/libiq_service.so
*** Suspicious classes ***
com.carrieriq.iqagent.service.receivers.BootComple tedReceiver
*** Running processes ***
system 1531 269 537876 40732 ffffffff 00000000 S diagandroid.iqd

Sent from my LG-D800 using Tapatalk
Current: G2 (D800) GNote 2 LTE, Nexus 7 FHD

Past - HTC: One, Jetstream | Samsung: i717, i777 | Moto: Atrix, Backflip | LG: Thrill | Apple: iPhone 4-4S/3G-S/2G | Blackberry: 8300, 8800 | Nokia: N71 ... and you know all the others I forget going back to the startak
 
insomniakAD
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 29
Join Date: Jun 2012
thanks for this mod. I'll try this tonight after I flash the rom. I wouldn't mind a smaller nav bar too if you ever think of making another one.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes