Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,733,372 Members 39,339 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Installing Ubuntu on Android (Xperia Arc LT15i)

Tip us?
 
giorgobiani554
Old
#1  
giorgobiani554's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 81
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Tbilisi
Cool [Q] Installing Ubuntu on Android (Xperia Arc LT15i)

Searching around the web I found this ( http://www.ubuntu.com/devices/android ) interesting title and got very interested in it, unfortunately didn't find any download link or description on how to install or something similar. Please I'm very interested in this, hope others wish to install something except Android too, cause I'm really tired of stock laggy rom.
 
darth5zaft
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 312
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: kuala lumpur
Ubuntu had stated that ubuntu for android is only available to participating OEM. So u get the feature out of the box.. Something similar to Motorola webtop os.. I am also interested in it but I guess u have to wait until the end of the year for it. Currently the are ways to install ubuntu as a virtual machine. But it look difficult to install. And I doubt think arc hardware can Handel it

Sent from my LT15i using XDA
The Following User Says Thank You to darth5zaft For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
rashid.fairus
Old
#3  
rashid.fairus's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 229
Posts: 1,060
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Klang
read the requirement first mate..DUAL CORE

from the ARC
The Following User Says Thank You to rashid.fairus For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
giorgobiani554
Old
#4  
giorgobiani554's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 81
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Tbilisi
Thanks for quick reply guys, yea I saw that it need dual-core, but I think Arc's hardware will run Ubuntu, if my old crappy laptop can which is 1.2Ghz and 256Mb ram, I think my Arc will do too.
 
briandevlin
Old
(Last edited by briandevlin; 14th March 2012 at 03:17 PM.)
#5  
briandevlin's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 256
Posts: 790
Join Date: Nov 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by giorgobiani554 View Post
Thanks for quick reply guys, yea I saw that it need dual-core, but I think Arc's hardware will run Ubuntu, if my old crappy laptop can which is 1.2Ghz and 256Mb ram, I think my Arc will do too.
No, he is wrong, I've got it working perfectly on the Arc, will be posting a easy how to install ubuntu on the Arc.

So check dev section later.

No Posted http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...0#post23609470

Sent from my LT18i using xda premium
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to briandevlin For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
kormatoes
Old
#6  
kormatoes's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3887
Posts: 4,727
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: newcastle upon tyne ne5

 
DONATE TO ME
Yrs he is wrong I had on Neo

Sent from my MT15i using Tapatalk
 
rkanwar
Old
#7  
rkanwar's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 59
Posts: 1,228
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: West Bromwich
Someone in the thread said the usb connectivity broke for his neo...whats the odds itll happen and is it fixable?

Sent from my LT18i using Tapatalk


Sony Xperia S | Asus Nexus 7
 
batwingnz
Old
#8  
batwingnz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 109
Posts: 636
Join Date: Aug 2010
Did it say it broke overall or just in ubuntu?
 
rkanwar
Old
#9  
rkanwar's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 59
Posts: 1,228
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: West Bromwich
This is all he said 'Just want to say it broke many Neo USB connectivity
This was Neo though
Great work op'

Sent from my LT18i using Tapatalk


Sony Xperia S | Asus Nexus 7
 
kormatoes
Old
#10  
kormatoes's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3887
Posts: 4,727
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: newcastle upon tyne ne5

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkanwar View Post
This is all he said 'Just want to say it broke many Neo USB connectivity
This was Neo though
Great work op'

Sent from my LT18i using Tapatalk
God it was only a quick flash with flash tool to fix and I there was more but this is not the version we tryed

Sent from my MT15i using Tapatalk

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes