Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Cool [Q] Installing Ubuntu on Android (Xperia Arc LT15i)

OP giorgobiani554

11th March 2012, 09:03 PM   |  #1  
giorgobiani554's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Tbilisi
Thanks Meter: 7
 
81 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Searching around the web I found this ( http://www.ubuntu.com/devices/android ) interesting title and got very interested in it, unfortunately didn't find any download link or description on how to install or something similar. Please I'm very interested in this, hope others wish to install something except Android too, cause I'm really tired of stock laggy rom.
12th March 2012, 09:57 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag kuala lumpur
Thanks Meter: 36
 
320 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Ubuntu had stated that ubuntu for android is only available to participating OEM. So u get the feature out of the box.. Something similar to Motorola webtop os.. I am also interested in it but I guess u have to wait until the end of the year for it. Currently the are ways to install ubuntu as a virtual machine. But it look difficult to install. And I doubt think arc hardware can Handel it

Sent from my LT15i using XDA
The Following User Says Thank You to darth5zaft For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th March 2012, 10:49 AM   |  #3  
rashid.fairus's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Klang
Thanks Meter: 232
 
1,065 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
read the requirement first mate..DUAL CORE

from the ARC
The Following User Says Thank You to rashid.fairus For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th March 2012, 03:33 PM   |  #4  
giorgobiani554's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Tbilisi
Thanks Meter: 7
 
81 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Thanks for quick reply guys, yea I saw that it need dual-core, but I think Arc's hardware will run Ubuntu, if my old crappy laptop can which is 1.2Ghz and 256Mb ram, I think my Arc will do too.
12th March 2012, 09:34 PM   |  #5  
briandevlin's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 256
 
791 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by giorgobiani554

Thanks for quick reply guys, yea I saw that it need dual-core, but I think Arc's hardware will run Ubuntu, if my old crappy laptop can which is 1.2Ghz and 256Mb ram, I think my Arc will do too.

No, he is wrong, I've got it working perfectly on the Arc, will be posting a easy how to install ubuntu on the Arc.

So check dev section later.

No Posted http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...0#post23609470

Sent from my LT18i using xda premium
Last edited by briandevlin; 14th March 2012 at 04:17 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to briandevlin For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th March 2012, 11:33 AM   |  #6  
kormatoes's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag newcastle upon tyne
Thanks Meter: 3,894
 
4,760 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Yrs he is wrong I had on Neo

Sent from my MT15i using Tapatalk
17th March 2012, 01:40 AM   |  #7  
rkanwar's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag West Bromwich
Thanks Meter: 60
 
1,256 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Someone in the thread said the usb connectivity broke for his neo...whats the odds itll happen and is it fixable?

Sent from my LT18i using Tapatalk
17th March 2012, 02:21 AM   |  #8  
batwingnz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 122
 
684 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Did it say it broke overall or just in ubuntu?
17th March 2012, 11:11 AM   |  #9  
rkanwar's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag West Bromwich
Thanks Meter: 60
 
1,256 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
This is all he said 'Just want to say it broke many Neo USB connectivity
This was Neo though
Great work op'

Sent from my LT18i using Tapatalk
17th March 2012, 02:37 PM   |  #10  
kormatoes's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag newcastle upon tyne
Thanks Meter: 3,894
 
4,760 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkanwar

This is all he said 'Just want to say it broke many Neo USB connectivity
This was Neo though
Great work op'

Sent from my LT18i using Tapatalk

God it was only a quick flash with flash tool to fix and I there was more but this is not the version we tryed

Sent from my MT15i using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes