Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[MOD][GUIDE]Touchwiz icons layout

OP somin.n

4th April 2013, 11:03 PM   |  #1  
somin.n's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 253
 
206 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Donate to Me
More
Hi! Here is one small MOD and GUIDE for modding icon appearance in default samsung launcher I inspired here, thanks

What we can change:
  • icon count in row and column in menu
  • icon count in row and column on home screen
  • icon count on home screen in bottom line

What we need:
  • CWM (optional)
  • root
  • SecLauncher2.apk from system\app folder

How to mod:
  • make full backup
  • decompile SecLauncher2.apk
  • locate files
    • res\values-sw320dp-hdpi\integers.xml
    • res\values-sw320dp-hdpi\dimens.xml
in integers.xml we can change:
Code:
icon count in row on home screen
<integer name="home_cellCountX">4</integer>

icon count in column on home screen
<integer name="home_cellCountY">4</integer>

icon count in row in menu
<integer name="menuAppsGrid_cellCountX">4</integer>

icon count in column in menu
<integer name="menuAppsGrid_cellCountY">5</integer>

icon count on home screen in bottom line
<integer name="hotseat_cellCountX">5</integer>
In dimens.xml we can change:
Code:
size of icons, should be change if you increase icon count in row/column otherwise icons will be too close
<dimen name="app_icon_size">48.0dip</dimen>

should be change if you changed home_cellCountX in integers.xml
<dimen name="home_cellWidth_port">80.0dip</dimen>

should be change if you changed home_cellCountY in integers.xml
<dimen name="home_cellHeight_port">96.0dip</dimen>

should be change if you changed hotseat_cellCountX in integers.xml
<dimen name="hotseat_cellWidth">60.0dip</dimen>

should be change if you changed menuAppsGrid_cellCountX in integers.xml
<dimen name="menuAppsGrid_cellWidth">78.0dip</dimen>

should be change if you changed menuAppsGrid_cellCountY in integers.xml
<dimen name="menuAppsGrid_cellHeight">84.0dip</dimen>
  • compile
  • copy back to phone
  • reboot


One small example:
For example I want to 5 icons in row in menu (default is 4). If I want to change this, I have to change in integers.xml line:
  • <integer name="menuAppsGrid_cellCountX">4</integer> to <integer name="menuAppsGrid_cellCountX">5</integer>
and in dimens.xml change line:
  • <dimen name="menuAppsGrid_cellWidth">78.0dip</dimen> to <dimen name="menuAppsGrid_cellWidth">62.5dip</dimen>

How to get proper numbers for dimens.xml file:
In my example I had original 4 icons and want 5. This mean I have to get from 78.0dpi -> 62.5dpi
(4 x 78) / 5 = 62.5 (in fact it is 62.4)

If you change one line in integers.xml, you have to change one proper line in dimens.xml.

In attachment is my moded SecLauncher2.apk, it has 6x5 icons in menu and 6 icons on home screen at bottom (see pictures). It is ODEX from 4.1.2. It should works on "N" model too, but i didn't test it.

edit:
Hi, I made for me new 7x5 menu layout, HS is still same. So if someone wants, here is it. Now it is DEODEXED.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-04-04-22-50-59.jpg
Views:	2510
Size:	57.5 KB
ID:	1858696   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-04-04-22-51-03.jpg
Views:	2218
Size:	65.0 KB
ID:	1858697   Click image for larger version

Name:	screen.jpg
Views:	1372
Size:	65.8 KB
ID:	1945933  
Attached Files
File Type: apk SecLauncher2.apk - [Click for QR Code] (2.91 MB, 582 views)
File Type: zip SecLauncher2_deodex.zip - [Click for QR Code] (3.36 MB, 404 views)
Last edited by somin.n; 8th May 2013 at 06:16 PM. Reason: add new mod
The Following 15 Users Say Thank You to somin.n For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th April 2013, 11:44 PM   |  #2  
seedrom193's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag lebanon
Thanks Meter: 191
 
328 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
excellent effort thank you I will try it later and make a feedback

please hit THANKS if I helped

sent from somewhere and somehow by the wonderful s3 mini
5th April 2013, 01:45 AM   |  #3  
Benzonat0r's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,251
 
1,298 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
Thanks but, way ahead of ya.
5th April 2013, 03:51 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Pulai
Thanks Meter: 61
 
445 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
modded to change the icons is much more appreciated to me as the stock touchwiz icons looks terrible...
6th April 2013, 11:24 AM   |  #5  
dariolob's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Albenga,Italy
Thanks Meter: 1,682
 
771 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nazri5363

modded to change the icons is much more appreciated to me as the stock touchwiz icons looks terrible...

What you want to do is not related to Tw launcher editing actually. Google "change app icon" and you will find something useful!
Normally icons are placed in the apks under (in our case) res/drawable-hdpi (or drawable320dp-hdpi) under the name of icon.png or ic_launcher_icon.png
Sometimes you can also find them under /res/mipmap-hdpi !
Remember, if you want to change a icon don't unzip the apk, just open it with winrar/7zip and simply replace the icon png

Sent from my GT-I8190N using xda app-developers app
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to dariolob For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th May 2013, 06:19 PM   |  #6  
somin.n's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 253
 
206 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Donate to Me
More
Hi, I added to first post new deodexed SecLauncher witch 7x5 menu grid...so if you want than use
8th May 2013, 10:01 PM   |  #7  
p_a_r_s_a7's Avatar
Senior Member
kermanshah
Thanks Meter: 229
 
382 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
tnx man for luncher very nice

can u accwather wedget for download?
8th May 2013, 10:24 PM   |  #8  
somin.n's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 253
 
206 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Donate to Me
More
It can be this forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.php?p=40192050&postcount=18
9th May 2013, 07:28 AM   |  #9  
p_a_r_s_a7's Avatar
Senior Member
kermanshah
Thanks Meter: 229
 
382 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by somin.n

It can be this forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.php?p=40192050&postcount=18

tanx somin...

I made it



luncher for rom dodex just 6 icons in desktop
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-05-09-10-48-12.jpg
Views:	459
Size:	42.3 KB
ID:	1947801   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-05-09-10-48-21.jpg
Views:	432
Size:	50.4 KB
ID:	1947802  
Attached Files
File Type: apk SecLauncher2.apk - [Click for QR Code] (3.52 MB, 95 views)
Last edited by p_a_r_s_a7; 9th May 2013 at 08:23 AM.
9th May 2013, 07:51 AM   |  #10  
somin.n's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 253
 
206 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Donate to Me
More
What kind of error? With compilation or phone doesn't work with moded file?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes