Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,811,702 Members 54,006 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[MOD][GUIDE]Touchwiz icons layout

Tip us?
 
somin.n
Old
(Last edited by somin.n; 8th May 2013 at 05:16 PM.) Reason: add new mod
#1  
somin.n's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 248
Posts: 200
Join Date: Feb 2013

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [MOD][GUIDE]Touchwiz icons layout

Hi! Here is one small MOD and GUIDE for modding icon appearance in default samsung launcher I inspired here, thanks

What we can change:
  • icon count in row and column in menu
  • icon count in row and column on home screen
  • icon count on home screen in bottom line

What we need:
  • CWM (optional)
  • root
  • SecLauncher2.apk from system\app folder

How to mod:
  • make full backup
  • decompile SecLauncher2.apk
  • locate files
    • res\values-sw320dp-hdpi\integers.xml
    • res\values-sw320dp-hdpi\dimens.xml
in integers.xml we can change:
Code:
icon count in row on home screen
<integer name="home_cellCountX">4</integer>

icon count in column on home screen
<integer name="home_cellCountY">4</integer>

icon count in row in menu
<integer name="menuAppsGrid_cellCountX">4</integer>

icon count in column in menu
<integer name="menuAppsGrid_cellCountY">5</integer>

icon count on home screen in bottom line
<integer name="hotseat_cellCountX">5</integer>
In dimens.xml we can change:
Code:
size of icons, should be change if you increase icon count in row/column otherwise icons will be too close
<dimen name="app_icon_size">48.0dip</dimen>

should be change if you changed home_cellCountX in integers.xml
<dimen name="home_cellWidth_port">80.0dip</dimen>

should be change if you changed home_cellCountY in integers.xml
<dimen name="home_cellHeight_port">96.0dip</dimen>

should be change if you changed hotseat_cellCountX in integers.xml
<dimen name="hotseat_cellWidth">60.0dip</dimen>

should be change if you changed menuAppsGrid_cellCountX in integers.xml
<dimen name="menuAppsGrid_cellWidth">78.0dip</dimen>

should be change if you changed menuAppsGrid_cellCountY in integers.xml
<dimen name="menuAppsGrid_cellHeight">84.0dip</dimen>
  • compile
  • copy back to phone
  • reboot


One small example:
For example I want to 5 icons in row in menu (default is 4). If I want to change this, I have to change in integers.xml line:
  • <integer name="menuAppsGrid_cellCountX">4</integer> to <integer name="menuAppsGrid_cellCountX">5</integer>
and in dimens.xml change line:
  • <dimen name="menuAppsGrid_cellWidth">78.0dip</dimen> to <dimen name="menuAppsGrid_cellWidth">62.5dip</dimen>

How to get proper numbers for dimens.xml file:
In my example I had original 4 icons and want 5. This mean I have to get from 78.0dpi -> 62.5dpi
(4 x 78) / 5 = 62.5 (in fact it is 62.4)

If you change one line in integers.xml, you have to change one proper line in dimens.xml.

In attachment is my moded SecLauncher2.apk, it has 6x5 icons in menu and 6 icons on home screen at bottom (see pictures). It is ODEX from 4.1.2. It should works on "N" model too, but i didn't test it.

edit:
Hi, I made for me new 7x5 menu layout, HS is still same. So if someone wants, here is it. Now it is DEODEXED.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-04-04-22-50-59.jpg
Views:	2391
Size:	57.5 KB
ID:	1858696   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-04-04-22-51-03.jpg
Views:	2101
Size:	65.0 KB
ID:	1858697   Click image for larger version

Name:	screen.jpg
Views:	1260
Size:	65.8 KB
ID:	1945933  
Attached Files
File Type: apk SecLauncher2.apk - [Click for QR Code] (2.91 MB, 342 views)
File Type: zip SecLauncher2_deodex.zip - [Click for QR Code] (3.36 MB, 258 views)
The Following 15 Users Say Thank You to somin.n For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
seedrom193
Old
#2  
seedrom193's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 185
Posts: 313
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: lebanon
excellent effort thank you I will try it later and make a feedback

please hit THANKS if I helped

sent from somewhere and somehow by the wonderful s3 mini
plz hit the thanks button if I helped you
life is full of things you can develop.....so get ready to be a good developer
{guide}step by step to root your s3 mini {all versions}
 
Benzonat0r
Old
#3  
Benzonat0r's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,248
Posts: 1,298
Join Date: Sep 2009
Thanks but, way ahead of ya.
It's harder to understand women than Android and Kernels.

My devices: GT-I9100, GT-I8190, GT-S5570, Nexus 5

Just call me Benz
 
nazri5363
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 60
Posts: 436
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pulai
modded to change the icons is much more appreciated to me as the stock touchwiz icons looks terrible...
 
dariolob
Old
#5  
dariolob's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,624
Posts: 750
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Albenga,Italy

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by nazri5363 View Post
modded to change the icons is much more appreciated to me as the stock touchwiz icons looks terrible...
What you want to do is not related to Tw launcher editing actually. Google "change app icon" and you will find something useful!
Normally icons are placed in the apks under (in our case) res/drawable-hdpi (or drawable320dp-hdpi) under the name of icon.png or ic_launcher_icon.png
Sometimes you can also find them under /res/mipmap-hdpi !
Remember, if you want to change a icon don't unzip the apk, just open it with winrar/7zip and simply replace the icon png

Sent from my GT-I8190N using xda app-developers app
If I helped you, press the button

--- My Devices: Galaxy S4 I9505 LTE, Galaxy S3 Mini I8190N, Asus Transformer TF101,Asus VivoPad Smart (Win8)

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to dariolob For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
somin.n
Old
#6  
somin.n's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 248
Posts: 200
Join Date: Feb 2013

 
DONATE TO ME
Hi, I added to first post new deodexed SecLauncher witch 7x5 menu grid...so if you want than use
 
p_a_r_s_a7
Old
#7  
p_a_r_s_a7's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 213
Posts: 335
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: kermanshah
tnx man for luncher very nice

can u accwather wedget for download?
 
somin.n
Old
#8  
somin.n's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 248
Posts: 200
Join Date: Feb 2013

 
DONATE TO ME
It can be this forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.php?p=40192050&postcount=18
 
p_a_r_s_a7
Old
(Last edited by p_a_r_s_a7; 9th May 2013 at 07:23 AM.)
#9  
p_a_r_s_a7's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 213
Posts: 335
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: kermanshah
Quote:
Originally Posted by somin.n View Post
It can be this forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.php?p=40192050&postcount=18
tanx somin...

I made it



luncher for rom dodex just 6 icons in desktop
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-05-09-10-48-12.jpg
Views:	442
Size:	42.3 KB
ID:	1947801   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-05-09-10-48-21.jpg
Views:	417
Size:	50.4 KB
ID:	1947802  
Attached Files
File Type: apk SecLauncher2.apk - [Click for QR Code] (3.52 MB, 47 views)
 
somin.n
Old
#10  
somin.n's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 248
Posts: 200
Join Date: Feb 2013

 
DONATE TO ME
What kind of error? With compilation or phone doesn't work with moded file?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes