Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,771,909 Members 38,175 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Phone Incorrectly Reads Battery Level

Tip us?
 
anthonyherbz
Old
(Last edited by anthonyherbz; 11th March 2014 at 04:22 PM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Feb 2014
Battery Full [Q] Phone Incorrectly Reads Battery Level

Hey all, I'm in need if some advice/help. My Galaxy S3 seems to be incorrectly gauging how much battery life it has.. For a better explanation, here's a familiar scenario: phone is 100% and will slowly keep creeping down by a percent with little to no use. In a few hours it "dies." If I leave it for a couple of minutes or do something like take the battery out however, it'll have a reading of 36%. I can do this several times in a row! Another instance is say it was at 100% and drops down to 80% in an hour or so. If I leave it in standby the battery level will actually start creeping back up after a couple of minutes.

I have tried these steps and suggestions to combat this problem:
  • flash to CyanogenMod
  • buy an extended battery
  • calibrate the battery with apps
  • wipe battery stats

I've run out of ideas short of bringing the phone in to T-Mobile and have it replaced. Google searching has turned up pretty fruitless so I'm asking here before I make anymore moves! Thanks for all the anticipated help.
 
Perseus71
Old
#2  
Perseus71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3650
Posts: 6,079
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Atlantis

 
DONATE TO ME
Please do a factory reset and leave just the Rom and Gapps. Nothing else on there for a some time to experiment.

Please install BetterBatteryStats from the Play Store. Make sure to enable Root Features from under settings >Advanced Settings > Enable Root Features checkbox.

Next reboot the phone and then leave it alone for some time. Preferably overnight. In the morning, hit the Share button in upper right corner of the app. Choose text as the output format. It will save a text log in /SDCARD folder. Attach that here.
The Following User Says Thank You to Perseus71 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
anthonyherbz
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Feb 2014
ok I will try this
 
anthonyherbz
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Feb 2014
Currently letting my phone run the tests. Just out of curiosity I have noticed something funny already. With 55m 49s on battery, it says Wi-Fi has been running the whole time (100% ratio), and I definitely have Wi-Fi turned off.
 
Perseus71
Old
#5  
Perseus71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3650
Posts: 6,079
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Atlantis

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by anthonyherbz View Post
Currently letting my phone run the tests. Just out of curiosity I have noticed something funny already. With 55m 49s on battery, it says Wi-Fi has been running the whole time (100% ratio), and I definitely have Wi-Fi turned off.
There are variety of reasons. Please Turn off Google Location Reporting.

Please post a log as I described before.
 
anthonyherbz
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Feb 2014
Here's the log from BBS
 
Perseus71
Old
#7  
Perseus71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3650
Posts: 6,079
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Atlantis

 
DONATE TO ME
Are you sure you turned off Google Location Reporting ? If not then do so first. If you had done so, please turn off location service all together.
Under Settings >Wireless>Advanced, do you have "Keep Wifi on during sleep" set to never ? Also uncheck Scanning always available. Lastly what's the deal with your calendar ? Do you have so many events on there ?
 
anthonyherbz
Old
(Last edited by anthonyherbz; 14th March 2014 at 02:03 PM.)
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perseus71 View Post
Are you sure you turned off Google Location Reporting ? If not then do so first. If you had done so, please turn off location service all together.
Under Settings >Wireless>Advanced, do you have "Keep Wifi on during sleep" set to never ? Also uncheck Scanning always available. Lastly what's the deal with your calendar ? Do you have so many events on there ?
Location services are disabled all together. I did however have to set "Keep Wi-Fi on during sleep" to never. And no I don't have any events... Could that be the problem lol?
 
Perseus71
Old
#9  
Perseus71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3650
Posts: 6,079
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Atlantis

 
DONATE TO ME
You most certainly have some Location Service going on. Please check again. You will need to wipe data for Calendar and then sync it just the one time with Google Account.
 
anthonyherbz
Old
#10  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perseus71 View Post
You most certainly have some Location Service going on. Please check again. You will need to wipe data for Calendar and then sync it just the one time with Google Account.
I checked again, all disabled. I also just wiped the data and cache for the Calendar and Calendar Storage.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes