FORUMS

Nexus & Cookies: A More Focused Direction?

It is that time of the year again, and we are approaching the day where Android fans all over … more

LG G4 US Carrier Release Dates

The LG G4 was announced on April 29th with its Snapdragon 808 SoC, a welcomed change from its higher-end … more

Microsoft Reaches Pre-Install Agreement With New OEMs

As of late, Microsoft has been making a subtle but widespread play into the … more

Discover XDA: Discover Greater

We’ve all been there at some point in our XDA lives; we used to spend hours browsing over the … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Mount /system rw using terminal.

11th March 2014, 07:58 AM |#1  
cmlusco's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Michigan City, IN
Thanks Meter: 936
 
Donate to Me
More
I have been trying for hours now to remount the /system partition rw using terminal emulator with no luck. I can do it just fine using root explorer, but thats not what im after. Im trying to make it so that system is mounted rw on boot. But every command i have known to work in the past, and every one i found thru googling has not worked. The command finishes with no errors, but /system is still ro. I even went as far as to unpack the boot img and change /system to be rw on mount. But again when i boot up /system is still ro. Its like something is protecting it or remounting it ro again. By editing the boot.img i was able to mount the root directory (/) rw on boot, but doing the same edit to the /system mount point seems to have no effect. Anyone know what im missing here? I am s-off, unlocked, i have an insecure boot.img, i have root, i dont know how much more insecure my phone could be. If root explorer and other apps are able to do it, there has to be a way to do it thru a shell.
 
 
11th March 2014, 06:01 PM |#2  
brymaster5000's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag New Hampshire
Thanks Meter: 1,967
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmlusco

I have been trying for hours now to remount the /system partition rw using terminal emulator with no luck. I can do it just fine using root explorer, but thats not what im after. Im trying to make it so that system is mounted rw on boot. But every command i have known to work in the past, and every one i found thru googling has not worked. The command finishes with no errors, but /system is still ro. I even went as far as to unpack the boot img and change /system to be rw on mount. But again when i boot up /system is still ro. Its like something is protecting it or remounting it ro again. By editing the boot.img i was able to mount the root directory (/) rw on boot, but doing the same edit to the /system mount point seems to have no effect. Anyone know what im missing here? I am s-off, unlocked, i have an insecure boot.img, i have root, i dont know how much more insecure my phone could be. If root explorer and other apps are able to do it, there has to be a way to do it thru a shell.

Try this:

Create an executable script - like this one:
Code:
#!/system/bin/sh
# Make system rw
chmod 666 /system;
mount("ext4", "EMMC", "/dev/block/mmcblk0p35", "/system");
Save it in your storage location as systemmount (or whatever).
  • Open terminal, type su.
  • Type:cd /sdcard/
  • Type: systemmount

Exit and see if that works. I have not tested it.
Last edited by brymaster5000; 11th March 2014 at 06:06 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to brymaster5000 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th March 2014, 06:36 PM |#3  
cmlusco's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Michigan City, IN
Thanks Meter: 936
 
Donate to Me
More
Thanks but no luck
Code:
exec /system/bin/sh '/storage/emulated/legacy/Download/scripts/00remount' 
/Download/scripts/00remount'                        <
Unable to chmod /system: Read-only file system
/storage/emulated/legacy/Download/scripts/00remount[4]: syntax error: '"ext4",' unexpected
11th March 2014, 07:58 PM |#4  
brymaster5000's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag New Hampshire
Thanks Meter: 1,967
 
Donate to Me
More
Put the mount first before chmod. Delete ext4 and emmc

Sent from my Lunar Ecliptic One.
The Following User Says Thank You to brymaster5000 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th March 2014, 01:33 AM |#5  
cmlusco's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Michigan City, IN
Thanks Meter: 936
 
Donate to Me
More
Thanks, but i figured it out. It turns out the command i had used in the first place was correct. (mount -o remount,rw /system). After i ran the command i would check with root explorer to see if it worked, and it always showed it did not. But when you check it the correct way, the way i shoukd have been in the first place, by typing 'mount' in terminal it shows it did indeed get remounted rw. So its an issue with root explorer, not with the command i was using.

Incidently if you do the command 'mount' without su permission, it shows sysyem as ro, but if you do it under an su prompt it shows it as rw.
The Following User Says Thank You to cmlusco For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th March 2014, 01:51 AM |#6  
brymaster5000's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag New Hampshire
Thanks Meter: 1,967
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmlusco

Thanks, but i figured it out. It turns out the command i had used in the first place was correct. (mount -o remount,rw /system). After i ran the command i would check with root explorer to see if it worked, and it always showed it did not. But when you check it the correct way, the way i shoukd have been in the first place, by typing 'mount' in terminal it shows it did indeed get remounted rw. So its an issue with root explorer, not with the command i was using.

Incidently if you do the command 'mount' without su permission, it shows sysyem as ro, but if you do it under an su prompt it shows it as rw.

Nice work.

Sent from my Lunar Ecliptic One.
The Following User Says Thank You to brymaster5000 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes