Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,779,301 Members 50,096 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

A bit confused as to which version I should have

Tip us?
 
shook187
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 822
Posts: 2,860
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Haverhill MA
Default A bit confused as to which version I should have

I had this device for only 2 weeks so I'm a bit confused as to which version I should have. By doing a little research I'm guessing .290 is the old version and .136 is the new version.

But why does my phone say I'm running 290 but yet I'm on the the latest 4.3 (^_-) also I noticed on the display options screen I don't have white balance should I have that?



Sent from my C6833 using Tapatalk
 
blueether
Old
#2  
blueether's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1094
Posts: 2,547
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Te Awamutu, New Zealand

 
DONATE TO ME
white balance came in in .136 and is slightly newer than the .290 build - but it introduced a few bugs, so you may not want to upgrade anyway.

When you get the update depends on your carries/location/[randomness] etc so some people seem to have to wait for ages for the updates, if you really want it you could look into flashing FTFs
Charles
Alcatel One Touch "easy" -> Nokia 1110i -> Alcatel ame-408 -> Motorola Razr v3 -> Huawei u8100 -> Sony Xperia Z-Ultra

ROM:- Carbon
Kernel:- Pimped Kernel

Thankyou to all those that have donated to me over 2014.
 
shook187
Old
(Last edited by shook187; 12th March 2014 at 02:36 AM.)
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 822
Posts: 2,860
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Haverhill MA
So is 290 also 4.3? I have a locked bootloader so without unlocking am I still able to flash ftf's?

Sent from my C6833 using xda app-developers app
 
LordManhattan
Old
#4  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 5650
Posts: 15,002
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kepler-34b
Quote:
Originally Posted by shook187 View Post
So is 290 also 4.3? I have a locked bootloader so without unlocking am I still able to flash ftf's?

Sent from my C6833 using xda app-developers app
Yes and yes.
 
Unreal988
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 127
Join Date: Aug 2012
i'm italian and my z ultra is english and pc companion don't find a new. 136... i stay on. 290

inviato dal z ultra
 
shook187
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 822
Posts: 2,860
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Haverhill MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unreal988 View Post
i'm italian and my z ultra is english and pc companion don't find a new. 136... i stay on. 290

inviato dal z ultra
Yes that's what's happening with me, PC companion tells me I'm currently up-to-date.. But I guess I'll stay with 290, it runs perfectly fine.

Sent from my C6833 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to shook187 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Android App Review: How to Speed Up Your Android Phone – XDA Developer TV

Is your Android device running slow? Is your Android device … more

Make a Pre-Rooted Stock Sony ROMs in Just Few Clicks

Many usersdon’t see any particular reason to change out the stock firmware … more

Add Timestamps to Xposed Installer Logs with… Xposed!

If talking about the most interesting projects in the last few years, we must … more

Secrecy Goes Open Source, Assures File Encryption

As some of you may remember, a while back we spoke about Secrecy, an effective file … more