Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,805,829 Members 42,507 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Possible Touchscreen/Multi-Touch issue?

Tip us?
 
espionage724
Old
#1  
espionage724's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 506
Posts: 2,503
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Charleroi, PA

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [Q] Possible Touchscreen/Multi-Touch issue?

Multitouch Visible Test

With that app, 1-finger touch is alright, no issues.2 Fingers seems alright too. Adding up to 4 fingers seems to be alright and moving them around the screen.

Sometimes with 5 fingers though, they'll all show on the program, and then immediately vanish. If I keep moving my fingers across the screen, they'll pop in and out, but won't actually stay on screen and follow. But this only happens sometimes. Other times, 5-finger input works fine.

My other camera is dead at the moment and I have to run and get batteries for it tomorrow, so I can't actually upload video of what I mean. I was hoping to get some input from other people about how their multi-touch seems to be with that app. Not entirely sure if this is just a rare defect, widespread, or working as intended maybe (not entirely sure if there's anything saying how much multi-touch this screen is; figured it was 10 though)

Some things to try:
- Use 1 finger, drag it all over the screen
- Keep adding fingers 1 by one after dragging them across the screen (add finger, drag it around, add next finger, etc.)
- Don't touch the screen for about 3 seconds, then just have all 5 fingers come in-contact with the screen, and keep them in one spot (on mine most of the time, the points appear then immediately vanish)


Device Ownership:
 

Current Devices:
None
Side Devices:
Nexus 7 (grouper) (franco.Kernel + Rasbeanjelly)
Galaxy Rush (SPH-M830) (Stock)

Ex Devices:
Galaxy Tab 7.0 (SGH-T849)
Galaxy Tab 2 7.0 (GT-P3113)
Galaxy Prevail (SPH-M820) (KoumaKernel + CTMod)
Nexus 4 (LGE960/mako) (franco.Kernel + RasSaber)
Nexus 10 (GT-P8110/manta) (franco.Kernel + RasSaber
 
jjdevega
Old
(Last edited by jjdevega; 23rd November 2012 at 12:29 AM.)
#2  
jjdevega's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 216
Posts: 1,027
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Bothell, Washington
Could it just be the app your using?
Try using this one...

Check out "MultiTouch Tester"
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...ltiTouchTester


See if it does the same thing.
Sent from my SPH-L710 using xda app-developers app
 
espionage724
Old
#3  
espionage724's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 506
Posts: 2,503
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Charleroi, PA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjdevega View Post
Could it just be the app your using?
Try using this one...

Check out "MultiTouch Tester"
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...ltiTouchTester

See if it does the same thing.
Yea it still does the same thing :/ Here's a video:



Device Ownership:
 

Current Devices:
None
Side Devices:
Nexus 7 (grouper) (franco.Kernel + Rasbeanjelly)
Galaxy Rush (SPH-M830) (Stock)

Ex Devices:
Galaxy Tab 7.0 (SGH-T849)
Galaxy Tab 2 7.0 (GT-P3113)
Galaxy Prevail (SPH-M820) (KoumaKernel + CTMod)
Nexus 4 (LGE960/mako) (franco.Kernel + RasSaber)
Nexus 10 (GT-P8110/manta) (franco.Kernel + RasSaber
 
jjdevega
Old
#4  
jjdevega's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 216
Posts: 1,027
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Bothell, Washington
It could be as simple as compatibility issues with the app...

Sent from my SPH-L710 using xda app-developers app
 
espionage724
Old
(Last edited by espionage724; 23rd November 2012 at 02:42 AM.)
#5  
espionage724's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 506
Posts: 2,503
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Charleroi, PA

 
DONATE TO ME
Called up Google and it doesn't seem to be widespread (or at least the person didn't say it was), and I could get a replacement under warranty. I don't have the funds to put on hold currently so it'll have to wait if I do decide to do it.

Although I wonder if I really should, I mean I highly doubt I'm going to do anything requiring more then 2 fingers on the screen at any point (nor can I really think of anything), and aside from multitouch, everything else seems great. No dead pixels, back doesn't flex, screen is alright quality-wise.

Would be nice if some other people can try out multitouch though just to see if it really might be widespread or not though. The thing is though, it works fine sometimes, and other times it doesn't. Perhaps software might fix it in time, but I don't know. I thought I heard of the Nexus 7 having a similar issue, but I can't recall...

Quote:
Originally Posted by jjdevega View Post
It could be as simple as compatibility issues with the app...
It seems to do the same even with the "Show touches" option enabled in Developer options (tried it on an empty homescreen).


Device Ownership:
 

Current Devices:
None
Side Devices:
Nexus 7 (grouper) (franco.Kernel + Rasbeanjelly)
Galaxy Rush (SPH-M830) (Stock)

Ex Devices:
Galaxy Tab 7.0 (SGH-T849)
Galaxy Tab 2 7.0 (GT-P3113)
Galaxy Prevail (SPH-M820) (KoumaKernel + CTMod)
Nexus 4 (LGE960/mako) (franco.Kernel + RasSaber)
Nexus 10 (GT-P8110/manta) (franco.Kernel + RasSaber
 
espionage724
Old
#6  
espionage724's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 506
Posts: 2,503
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Charleroi, PA

 
DONATE TO ME
Bump


Device Ownership:
 

Current Devices:
None
Side Devices:
Nexus 7 (grouper) (franco.Kernel + Rasbeanjelly)
Galaxy Rush (SPH-M830) (Stock)

Ex Devices:
Galaxy Tab 7.0 (SGH-T849)
Galaxy Tab 2 7.0 (GT-P3113)
Galaxy Prevail (SPH-M820) (KoumaKernel + CTMod)
Nexus 4 (LGE960/mako) (franco.Kernel + RasSaber)
Nexus 10 (GT-P8110/manta) (franco.Kernel + RasSaber
 
espionage724
Old
#7  
espionage724's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 506
Posts: 2,503
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Charleroi, PA

 
DONATE TO ME
Anyone? It only takes a minute or two at the most to test this... and the apps available to do so are free and light.


Device Ownership:
 

Current Devices:
None
Side Devices:
Nexus 7 (grouper) (franco.Kernel + Rasbeanjelly)
Galaxy Rush (SPH-M830) (Stock)

Ex Devices:
Galaxy Tab 7.0 (SGH-T849)
Galaxy Tab 2 7.0 (GT-P3113)
Galaxy Prevail (SPH-M820) (KoumaKernel + CTMod)
Nexus 4 (LGE960/mako) (franco.Kernel + RasSaber)
Nexus 10 (GT-P8110/manta) (franco.Kernel + RasSaber
 
woolmonkey
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 89
Join Date: Dec 2009
Doing the tests you described never caused anything on my tablet. But if I put my hand down on the tablet flat then put my five fingers on I get your issue. Then wait three seconds and try again and everything is fine till I put my palm back on.
 
Chluz
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 64
Join Date: Feb 2008
Might be a badly configured palm detection algorithme? Op, do you have fat fingers? Sorry if that sounds rude
Past phones:
Qtek S100
HTC Polaris
HTC Touch Diamond
Iphone 3Gs
Current phone : HTC one X , ARHD 14.1
 
espionage724
Old
#10  
espionage724's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 506
Posts: 2,503
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Charleroi, PA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chluz View Post
Might be a badly configured palm detection algorithme? Op, do you have fat fingers? Sorry if that sounds rude
Lol, hmm, na I don't think I have fat fingers


Device Ownership:
 

Current Devices:
None
Side Devices:
Nexus 7 (grouper) (franco.Kernel + Rasbeanjelly)
Galaxy Rush (SPH-M830) (Stock)

Ex Devices:
Galaxy Tab 7.0 (SGH-T849)
Galaxy Tab 2 7.0 (GT-P3113)
Galaxy Prevail (SPH-M820) (KoumaKernel + CTMod)
Nexus 4 (LGE960/mako) (franco.Kernel + RasSaber)
Nexus 10 (GT-P8110/manta) (franco.Kernel + RasSaber

Tags
hardware, issue, multitouch, touchscreen
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Learn How to Make a Live Wallpaper all by Yourself

Stillimages can bebeautiful, but some of you prefer to see animations on your screens. … more

Google Play Services Updated to Version 6.1

In addition to Android operating system proper, Google is focusing hard on giving the developers … more

CyanogenMod 11 M10 Available for Supported Devices

Summer vacation isover for most students out there, and it’s the time to get back to … more

XDA Forums Added for the First Batch of Android One Devices!

Just yesterday, we talked about the highly anticipated launch of the first batch … more