Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,812,283 Members 38,363 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

LG G2 Wont power on (bricked?)

Tip us?
 
Bobert the great
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: Mar 2014
Default LG G2 Wont power on (bricked?)

I have the D803 and I was trying to get KK before the OTA as Canada we never get an OTA.

I rooted the LG, I installed the custom Rom, I installed an updated GAPPS and it wasnt working. I then went and installed another GAPPS overtop and I got stuck in boot loop. After I tried recovery from ADB I tried to restore from TRWP and it didnt take. After I rebooted nothing turned on, no LED, I tried ALL button combinations and nothing comes on at all. I am wondering if the phone died and now will not charge...I started with 60% but the last time i saw it it was down to 15% just thinking maybe it died completely and without any software to boot it wont charge...I have had it on charge for 8 hrs since and still nothing...ADB does not read it.


Please help!
 
Alexzander
Old
#2  
Alexzander's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 67
Join Date: Jul 2009
Usualy is good to have at least 50% battery. Did you tried to charge it trough the wall charger ? Can you enter in download mode ? From fully shutted down , hold vlume up while plugging it to the computer. It should start by displaying Download mode logo. If you get to this point then the device is not bricked, and from here you should be able to reinstall the original 4.2.2(in my case is D80210A_00.kdz, because i have the 802 variant ).
[IMG][/IMG]
 
Bobert the great
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexzander View Post
Usualy is good to have at least 50% battery. Did you tried to charge it trough the wall charger ? Can you enter in download mode ? From fully shutted down , hold vlume up while plugging it to the computer. It should start by displaying Download mode logo. If you get to this point then the device is not bricked, and from here you should be able to reinstall the original 4.2.2(in my case is D80210A_00.kdz, because i have the 802 variant ).

Thanks for your reply,

I did have at least 50% and I believe I blew through the 50% during the process. I tried through wall charger for 8 hours yes Still nothing. I tried entering download mode (I tried all button combinations while plugged into the computer, plugged into the wall, not plugged in). I would love to be able to reinstall the original 4.2.2 This whole process has discouraged me from furthering my Custom rom use lol.
 
rawdaddymagraden
Old
#4  
rawdaddymagraden's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 599
Posts: 1,106
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Mo-Ville
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobert the great View Post
Thanks for your reply,

I did have at least 50% and I believe I blew through the 50% during the process. I tried through wall charger for 8 hours yes Still nothing. I tried entering download mode (I tried all button combinations while plugged into the computer, plugged into the wall, not plugged in). I would love to be able to reinstall the original 4.2.2 This whole process has discouraged me from furthering my Custom rom use lol.
We're you trying to install a lg based kit Kat Rom or an aosp based Rom. You say you wanted to get it before the ota in Canada so it makes it seem as though you were wanting to flash an lg Rom but you say you flashed gapps. Gapps are only used on aosp based custom roms

Sent from my LG-D801 using Tapatalk


☆REMEMBER TO USE THE SEARCH BOX AT THE TOP BEFORE ASKING☆
IF I HELPED IN ANY WAY PLEASE FEEL FREE TO HIT THE THANKS BUTTON
 
Bobert the great
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by rawdaddymagraden View Post
We're you trying to install a lg based kit Kat Rom or an aosp based Rom. You say you wanted to get it before the ota in Canada so it makes it seem as though you were wanting to flash an lg Rom but you say you flashed gapps. Gapps are only used on aosp based custom roms

Sent from my LG-D801 using Tapatalk
I was installing a custom rom, Mahdi It was not a LG rom. I am sorry If I got you confused here.
 
Alexzander
Old
#6  
Alexzander's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 67
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobert the great View Post
Thanks for your reply,

I did have at least 50% and I believe I blew through the 50% during the process. I tried through wall charger for 8 hours yes Still nothing. I tried entering download mode (I tried all button combinations while plugged into the computer, plugged into the wall, not plugged in). I would love to be able to reinstall the original 4.2.2 This whole process has discouraged me from furthering my Custom rom use lol.
"This whole process has discouraged me from furthering my Custom rom use lol." Not at all. Just a few days ago I "soft bricked" my phone. I had D80210a and i forgot to update it to D80210e, and went streight to root it and add recovery twrp. Everything was oky doky till i started updating the 10e the OTA way. It just stoped. I had no download mode anymore. But I was lucky enough to still have the twrp recovery . So I used the terminal command inside the twrp . I unbricked it using this command : dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/fota

Note that if for some reason if I didn't had any recovery mode my other option was adb . Of course this thrilling adventure didn't stop me to customise my phone.
[IMG][/IMG]
 
Bobert the great
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: Mar 2014
Sorry to sound dumb here, I am pretty much a rookie at this stuff I just follow directions well lol.

Where did you use that command?
 
Bobert the great
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexzander View Post
"This whole process has discouraged me from furthering my Custom rom use lol." Not at all. Just a few days ago I "soft bricked" my phone. I had D80210a and i forgot to update it to D80210e, and went streight to root it and add recovery twrp. Everything was oky doky till i started updating the 10e the OTA way. It just stoped. I had no download mode anymore. But I was lucky enough to still have the twrp recovery . So I used the terminal command inside the twrp . I unbricked it using this command : dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/fota

Note that if for some reason if I didn't had any recovery mode my other option was adb . Of course this thrilling adventure didn't stop me to customise my phone.
I am guessing this was done through Ubuntu Which i do not have. What is the best way to run ubuntu on Windows? I have done some searching and would you think the virtual box (virtual machine) would be best?

Thank you again!
 
Bobert the great
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: Mar 2014
Is there Anyone in southern Ontario familair with this that wants to make alittle extra cash on the side?

I just want my phone fixed....
 
DroidDonX
Old
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 59
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Monee, IL

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobert the great View Post
Is there Anyone in southern Ontario familair with this that wants to make alittle extra cash on the side?

I just want my phone fixed....

Have you tried this?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...582142&page=18

---------- Post added at 08:14 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:14 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobert the great View Post
Is there Anyone in southern Ontario familair with this that wants to make alittle extra cash on the side?

I just want my phone fixed....

PM me, I may be able to help you out
DroidDonX
Current Phones:

[BWhite Samsung Galaxy S2 T989[/B]
ROM: Galaxy SBean v10.5 UNICEF ROM
TWRP 2.3.1.1 Recovery

White Samsung S3 T999
Fell and Cracked it's Face

Past Phones
Samsung Epic 4G
Used it until the Screen fell off (really the screen fell off )
ROM: CM10 NIghtlies

HTC Amaze 4G
Loved, but battery HOG.

Need help with Rooting, Flashing ROMs, or SoftBricks. PM ME!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes