Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

LG G2 Wont power on (bricked?)

OP Bobert the great

11th March 2014, 06:42 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
I have the D803 and I was trying to get KK before the OTA as Canada we never get an OTA.

I rooted the LG, I installed the custom Rom, I installed an updated GAPPS and it wasnt working. I then went and installed another GAPPS overtop and I got stuck in boot loop. After I tried recovery from ADB I tried to restore from TRWP and it didnt take. After I rebooted nothing turned on, no LED, I tried ALL button combinations and nothing comes on at all. I am wondering if the phone died and now will not charge...I started with 60% but the last time i saw it it was down to 15% just thinking maybe it died completely and without any software to boot it wont charge...I have had it on charge for 8 hrs since and still nothing...ADB does not read it.


Please help!
11th March 2014, 07:05 PM   |  #2  
Alexzander's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
68 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
Usualy is good to have at least 50% battery. Did you tried to charge it trough the wall charger ? Can you enter in download mode ? From fully shutted down , hold vlume up while plugging it to the computer. It should start by displaying Download mode logo. If you get to this point then the device is not bricked, and from here you should be able to reinstall the original 4.2.2(in my case is D80210A_00.kdz, because i have the 802 variant ).
11th March 2014, 07:26 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexzander

Usualy is good to have at least 50% battery. Did you tried to charge it trough the wall charger ? Can you enter in download mode ? From fully shutted down , hold vlume up while plugging it to the computer. It should start by displaying Download mode logo. If you get to this point then the device is not bricked, and from here you should be able to reinstall the original 4.2.2(in my case is D80210A_00.kdz, because i have the 802 variant ).


Thanks for your reply,

I did have at least 50% and I believe I blew through the 50% during the process. I tried through wall charger for 8 hours yes Still nothing. I tried entering download mode (I tried all button combinations while plugged into the computer, plugged into the wall, not plugged in). I would love to be able to reinstall the original 4.2.2 This whole process has discouraged me from furthering my Custom rom use lol.
11th March 2014, 07:29 PM   |  #4  
rawdaddymagraden's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mo-Ville
Thanks Meter: 599
 
1,107 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobert the great

Thanks for your reply,

I did have at least 50% and I believe I blew through the 50% during the process. I tried through wall charger for 8 hours yes Still nothing. I tried entering download mode (I tried all button combinations while plugged into the computer, plugged into the wall, not plugged in). I would love to be able to reinstall the original 4.2.2 This whole process has discouraged me from furthering my Custom rom use lol.

We're you trying to install a lg based kit Kat Rom or an aosp based Rom. You say you wanted to get it before the ota in Canada so it makes it seem as though you were wanting to flash an lg Rom but you say you flashed gapps. Gapps are only used on aosp based custom roms

Sent from my LG-D801 using Tapatalk
11th March 2014, 07:35 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by rawdaddymagraden

We're you trying to install a lg based kit Kat Rom or an aosp based Rom. You say you wanted to get it before the ota in Canada so it makes it seem as though you were wanting to flash an lg Rom but you say you flashed gapps. Gapps are only used on aosp based custom roms

Sent from my LG-D801 using Tapatalk

I was installing a custom rom, Mahdi It was not a LG rom. I am sorry If I got you confused here.
11th March 2014, 07:40 PM   |  #6  
Alexzander's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
68 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobert the great

Thanks for your reply,

I did have at least 50% and I believe I blew through the 50% during the process. I tried through wall charger for 8 hours yes Still nothing. I tried entering download mode (I tried all button combinations while plugged into the computer, plugged into the wall, not plugged in). I would love to be able to reinstall the original 4.2.2 This whole process has discouraged me from furthering my Custom rom use lol.

"This whole process has discouraged me from furthering my Custom rom use lol." Not at all. Just a few days ago I "soft bricked" my phone. I had D80210a and i forgot to update it to D80210e, and went streight to root it and add recovery twrp. Everything was oky doky till i started updating the 10e the OTA way. It just stoped. I had no download mode anymore. But I was lucky enough to still have the twrp recovery . So I used the terminal command inside the twrp . I unbricked it using this command : dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/fota

Note that if for some reason if I didn't had any recovery mode my other option was adb . Of course this thrilling adventure didn't stop me to customise my phone.
11th March 2014, 08:45 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Sorry to sound dumb here, I am pretty much a rookie at this stuff I just follow directions well lol.

Where did you use that command?
11th March 2014, 09:50 PM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexzander

"This whole process has discouraged me from furthering my Custom rom use lol." Not at all. Just a few days ago I "soft bricked" my phone. I had D80210a and i forgot to update it to D80210e, and went streight to root it and add recovery twrp. Everything was oky doky till i started updating the 10e the OTA way. It just stoped. I had no download mode anymore. But I was lucky enough to still have the twrp recovery . So I used the terminal command inside the twrp . I unbricked it using this command : dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/fota

Note that if for some reason if I didn't had any recovery mode my other option was adb . Of course this thrilling adventure didn't stop me to customise my phone.

I am guessing this was done through Ubuntu Which i do not have. What is the best way to run ubuntu on Windows? I have done some searching and would you think the virtual box (virtual machine) would be best?

Thank you again!
12th March 2014, 02:52 PM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Is there Anyone in southern Ontario familair with this that wants to make alittle extra cash on the side?

I just want my phone fixed....
12th March 2014, 03:14 PM   |  #10  
Member
Flag Monee, IL
Thanks Meter: 24
 
59 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobert the great

Is there Anyone in southern Ontario familair with this that wants to make alittle extra cash on the side?

I just want my phone fixed....


Have you tried this?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...582142&page=18

---------- Post added at 08:14 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:14 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobert the great

Is there Anyone in southern Ontario familair with this that wants to make alittle extra cash on the side?

I just want my phone fixed....


PM me, I may be able to help you out

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes